what setting for staun tyre deflators

Submitted: Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 16:54
ThreadID: 19231 Views:3117 Replies:10 FollowUps:14
I received my tyre deflators from 4x4 Monthly mag today & they are set @ 18psi
Now before i get any flack i'm just asking a general question here as i have never used them & have really only done sand driving
Can people please tell what for a GQ Nissan they would set for different terrain
ie corrigated road, sand hopping,dirt roads etc
And is it a good idea to have say 2 set & one pressure & 2 @ another
Now you can all go @ yr hardest lol
\what a great deal ,the price of a deflators & the monthly mag is really free
warren

Reply By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 17:02

Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 17:02
Id go 14-15 psi on two of em for sand, and the other two id go 28 psi for dirt gravel rock etc.

That's what i do, and am going to set mine on..

Cheer's Paul..
AnswerID: 92223

Follow Up By: Glenno - Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 18:52

Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 18:52
I did the same. If you get the wife's nail polish you can paint part of the deflater so you know which ones are which.

Glenn.
FollowupID: 351067

Reply By: StormyKnight - Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 17:05

Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 17:05
18psi is probably OK for sand, but depends a bit on your load as well & how hard the sand is packed.

I have a 2001 Prado & on a recent trip to the Brindabellas where there was extensive rutting, we dropped our pressures to 25psi. It just gave us a much better ride & perhaps a little more traction, there was no need to go any lower.

Best bet mate is to experiment & see what works best for you & your car when driving on different surfaces.

Every car is different along with tyre combos & then then type of surfaces there is no exact figure to go on.

AnswerID: 92224

Follow Up By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 17:24

Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 17:24
Your right StormyKnight
i just want a idea of what people set theirs @
At Robe is September @ the gathering we used 15psi & 10psi
on different beaches
I just want a general idea for different terrain & i will take it from there for my tyres,weightload & conditions
warren
FollowupID: 351042

Reply By: porl - Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 17:20

Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 17:20
I believe they should come pre-set at 18 for sand so for mine i bumped two of them up to 24 for firm sand as often where i go only the cuttings into the beach off the road are the soft stuff and a bit of momentum gets you through that, sometimes even road pressures are fine (though of course not long term fine for clutch) and if it looks really dodgy or am heading to an Island with inland sand tracks, or i get bogged, i whip out the 18's and out i drive.
AnswerID: 92230

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 17:48

Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 17:48
"though of course not long term fine for the clutch"
or the tracks your tearing up!
Just cos you can make it, doesn't mean you should.
Perhaps just lowing the pressures would be a better idea...
FollowupID: 351051

Follow Up By: porl - Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 17:50

Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 17:50
Jeff i take your point and do agree but where i am talking about sometimes its only a 10m stretch and it is so compacted by rain and other vehicles there really does not appear to be any "tearing up".
FollowupID: 351053

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 17:21

Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 17:21
Hi Warren

Well, you know what happened when you were advised (by someone who we wont mention here) to only drop your tyres pressures to 20psi in the sand! lol

I'd go 16 for sand
25 to 28 for badly corrugated or gibber plain roads

My Stauns are set at 16psi

It depends how often you are going to go in these varying conditions. I run my tyres at 32psi for bitumen and dirt roads and only drop them if the conditions change markedly.

Best thing is you can vary them to suit your needs.

AnswerID: 92231

Follow Up By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 17:40

Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 17:40
Hi Willem Some how i think you will get a responce from that one hahahahahah
warren
FollowupID: 351048

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 19:40

Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 19:40
Youth and experience think alike Willem! :-)

My stauns are set to 16psi also, do a lot of sand driving over here in the west so I figure I'll set the Stauns for sand.
FollowupID: 351084

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 20:06

Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 20:06
Hi aussichef.Ive got a gq 1994 efi,I also got my stauns today.I think that I will set 2 at 15psi and at 28psi for the in land rds and I will see how we go
regards uppy
FollowupID: 351092

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 18:13

Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 18:13
Send them over Warren and I will set them and send them back mate!! some day hahahaha

I have mine at 18 for sand (2 of) and 24 for high country/dirt roads, (the other 2) I filed a small cross on the 24's cause they have X-tra pressure hahahahahaha

Anyways send them over !!

I gave my stauns I got from 4WD monthly to my brouth in law for chrissy. He was MOST impressurised.

AnswerID: 92235

Follow Up By: Top Cat - Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 18:24

Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 18:24
That would have been a let down....lol.
FollowupID: 351060

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 21:09

Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 21:09
He was suitably deflated

FollowupID: 351106

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 00:38

Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 00:38
Your jokes are too funny for me. I'm not going to get invalved.
FollowupID: 351134

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 07:56

Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 07:56
are you taking the psssssssssssss?
FollowupID: 351146

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 11:53

Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 11:53
Bonz, where's the fullstop after your sentence? You need to remember your puncturation!!!!!
FollowupID: 351219

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 22:26

Monday, Jan 10, 2005 at 22:26
G'day Warren,
I'm a bit lucky; I've got 2 sets. Got the 1st set free for entering a competition in 4x4 Australia mag a year or so ago and then the 2nd set the same as most of the blokes on this post.
I've set the 1st ones up for 18psi and will do the new ones at 25psi I reckon. My trol is heavy and normally keep them at 40psi. I might drop the 1st ones to 16 for sand driving (which doesn't turn me on anyway, but sometimes you gotta do it).
Must come down and cya sometime....we're only up here at Kadina.
AnswerID: 92277

Follow Up By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 02:53

Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 02:53
your always welcome Roachie
Muddy's been here so has alpaca & Pesty & im going to try & get the weekend off that yr club is joining with the riverland one for a cpl of day on the york panisular here i think its the 22nd & 23 of feburary
But your always welcome will have to see yr truck & look @ the new gene u have i'm in 2 minds @ the moment about a gene or going Jimbo's way of solar
If i worked less weekends i would jpoin yr club

warren
FollowupID: 351137

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 20:25

Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 20:25
Warren,
I just sent you a M/M about the weekend...but I got mixed up and thought you meant 22 & 23 January (our trip to Blanchtown).

Now I note you mentioned "february"......that is a trip that pesty is gunna let us know more about closer to the time and it's set down for 10 & 20 feb.

We'll let ya know more once Pesty has decided where he's taking us!!

FollowupID: 351409

Reply By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 09:45

Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 09:45
Warren,

Like Roachie, I have 2 sets, but you can do the same with one set.

The tyre pressures for different surfaces will depend mainly on the individual vehicle and how light/heavy it is, but as you can see from the other replies, sand driving normally requires lower pressures than dirt driving.

If you start off by setting two deflators to 18psi for sand (mark 'em with a RED dot of enamel paint) and the other two deflators to 28psi for dirt (mark 'em with BLUE dot). Then you won't get them mixed up.

Over a period of time you may determine more or less pressure to be the best for your needs and the deflators can be easily adjusted.
1. Set a spare tyre at the desired pressure.
2. Loosen the lock ring and wind out the deflator.
3. Screw to the tyre and adjust in until the air starts to escape.
4. When the air has stopped, check the pressure with a gauge and adjust the
deflator as above until you get an accurate result.
5. When right, tighten the locking ring.

Just one thing. If the air pressure of tyre is close to the setting of the deflator, you may need to start the deflation process by lifting the actuator pin.

AnswerID: 92328

Reply By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 09:45

Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 09:45
Warren,

Like Roachie, I have 2 sets, but you can do the same with one set.

The tyre pressures for different surfaces will depend mainly on the individual vehicle and how light/heavy it is, but as you can see from the other replies, sand driving normally requires lower pressures than dirt driving.

If you start off by setting two deflators to 18psi for sand (mark 'em with a RED dot of enamel paint) and the other two deflators to 28psi for dirt (mark 'em with BLUE dot). Then you won't get them mixed up.

Over a period of time you may determine more or less pressure to be the best for your needs and the deflators can be easily adjusted.
1. Set a spare tyre at the desired pressure.
2. Loosen the lock ring and wind out the deflator.
3. Screw to the tyre and adjust in until the air starts to escape.
4. When the air has stopped, check the pressure with a gauge and adjust the
deflator as above until you get an accurate result.
5. When right, tighten the locking ring.

Just one thing. If the air pressure of tyre is close to the setting of the deflator, you may need to start the deflation process by lifting the actuator pin.

Bill.

AnswerID: 92329

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 16:19

Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 16:19
way too many variables.

what tires?
what lift?
what weight is the truck?
Towing?
what type of track?
what weather conditions?

etc

I was down to 15 on the weekend and still bogged to the nuts.did have a broken steerin arm though :'(
AnswerID: 92446

Reply By: Member - Gary W (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 15:35

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 15:35
Might be a bit late in the thread to be asking this but I've found with my staun deflaters alter according to the temp. Does anyone else find that?

Gaz
AnswerID: 92658