Stamp Duty

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 14:24
ThreadID: 19297 Views:1612 Replies:4 FollowUps:3
Just paid the 4by rego. That's after paying the ute rego and CT rego. There is stamp duty on the insurance for each of them – $60 for the 4by rego alone.
I was under the impression that the introduction of the GST meant no more stamp duty because the money from GST went to the states.
Guess I am just a naive fool to think that that would be true or to imagine that the GST will not be hiked up in time.
Guess also that on this forum this can only be a whinge. I should e-mail my local federal member and ask him except that I know that because I don't contribute millions of dollars to his party all the response I will get is a form letter sent out by his underlings.
That's my whinge for this month then.
Perhaps I'll send that e-mail anyway just to let them know I'm p*ssed off.
Camper

Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 14:31

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 14:31
ahahahahahahha no stamp duty ha I have just paid out several hundred in sd for a 13k motor vehicle and wasnt able to drive it for a week coz it hurt to sit down btw what is the rego for a 4by in sa these days from memory it used to be reasnable ( in WA it is about 500 per year 6cyl)
AnswerID: 92646

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 22:01

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 22:01
Hi guys ,I just bought a house here in wa and had to pay15,000$ in stamp duty and that hurt.The gu 4800 is on the back burner
regards uppy
...the school bus,still gets us there

FollowupID: 351590

Follow Up By: Lucky Vic - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 07:14

Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 07:14
Well get this.

in NSW now if a property is an investment property you must pay stamp duty when you sell it as well !!!!

All nsw investement money is going north and south now.
FollowupID: 351891

Reply By: Glenn (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 18:42

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 18:42
Stamp Duty is a State Tax, blame your State Govt, not the Federal Govt. Costello is trying to get Stamp Duties removed by the States with no luck so far.

AnswerID: 92687

Follow Up By: member-Diamond(vic) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 21:06

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 21:06
now now glenn.
would that be a liberal state government.
lolol
cheers mate
FollowupID: 351574

Reply By: Toyota Sucks - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 22:04

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 22:04
Just bend over and think of Australia.
AnswerID: 92726

Reply By: Glenno - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 22:54

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 22:54
Even Queensland with our small population and big land mass had a budget surpless announced today of $1.1Bill - down from $3.2Bill last year.

Stamp duty as usual was the big earner.
AnswerID: 92742