Territory rear wheel drive????

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:20
ThreadID: 19328 Views:3504 Replies:17 FollowUps:76
Just a stupid question:

the Territory comes in rear wheel drive and All Wheel Drive versions. Does that mean the rear wheel drive version is like a normal sedan (i.e. only the 2 rear wheels get power from the engine) and therefore is not a "real" 4wd?
How can you tell whether a Territory is rear wheel drive or AWD just by looking at it?

Sly.

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:25

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:25
That's correct the 2wd is rear drive only.
Not a lot of visible difference unless you look underneath. The AWD has badge on the front guard, maybe the back as well but I'm not sure.
AnswerID: 92808

Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:29

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:29
yep it is just a lifted station wagon. probably not a lot to see from looking at them probably a badge on the back. Seen a few on the road but havnt noticed any round Kal yet. Even dumber q why are you asking are you in the market for one and dont want to wast your time checking out 2wd ones? I originally thought they would sell stuff all 2wd ones but I think the sales figures are fairly even IMHO a 2wd territory would be a bit like ticking the 202 engine option back in 73 when buying a HQ statesman
AnswerID: 92810

Follow Up By: slyonnet - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:43

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:43
No I'm certainly not in the market.
My stupid neighbour got one recently and the adds on TV mentioning the rear wheel drive from around $33k, it got me wondering why spend so much money if it's not even a 4wd! Especially when you can get pretty decent 4wd (cahllenger, Suzuky XL7, Terracan,..) for a similar price. And most importantly, I wanted to confirm my neighbour is an idiot. It sounds like he is from the responses I got so far.

SLY.
FollowupID: 351698

Follow Up By: slyonnet - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 17:18

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 17:18
Lucky Vic,

I would like to know how the Territory could be better off-road than the Challenger.
If you compare the manual challenger and TX AWD territory you find that the Challenger beats the territory for weight, clearance, approach and departure angles. Then of course the territory has more power and torque cause of its 4l engine (182kW@5000rpm & 380Nm@3250rpm) compared to the Challenger (136kW@5500rpm & 265Nm@4500rpm) . But then the territory doesn't come with low range and LSD at the back like the Challenger.
And then look at the price tag: excluding dealer delivery and govt charges the territory TX AWD is at $42990 and the Challenger in manual $39490. Add to that the extra cost for servicing the auto transmition of the Territory and the higher fuel consumption.

Now for $3500 cheaper with lower running costs I can get a 4wd with low range and LSD at teh back? Well I guess I'll go for that one even if the engine is not as powerfull cause the engine specs look quite reasonable anyway and the low range will certainly more than compensate for it when the Territory will be digging itself deep into the sand (sorry I forgot it can't dig itself too deep with its clearance, it just bellies up LOL).

Come Lucky Vic stop being so ridiculous and get off that forum. Except from your first answer to this post all the rest was a pile of rubbish and really not what we look for here.
FollowupID: 351779

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 17:24

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 17:24
actually slyonnet you have claimed your neighbor is an idiot for buying the 2wd and johonno1 oh sorry the Luckster has stated that none of those "medium roaders" for want of a better term are any better. I would rather be 10k along my favourite fishing beach in one of those vehicles than a 2wd territory anyday
FollowupID: 351782

Follow Up By: slyonnet - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 17:44

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 17:44
Oh and by the way Lucky Vic,
before you try to tell me that the vehicles I mentioned are no better than the Territory, read again what you wrote yourself futher down that post talking about the Territory:

"Their AWD is not a real 4wd either ( no low range etc ) and it has been bagged by journos for having very average off road ability due to poor ground clearance causing big contact with boulders / ground etc."

Now that's just prove your full of sh*t and don't know what you're talking about mate.

Stay in your box will you.
FollowupID: 351785

Follow Up By: slyonnet - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 20:34

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 20:34
Well if you write "they are not any better" then they could only be worse or at the best equal to it couldn't they. My reply was to tell you that in my opinion they are better than the Territory. So before you comment on my ability to understand English, try to understand what you write yourself, you morron.

FollowupID: 351829

Reply By: Lucky Vic - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:31

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:31
You can't tell just by looking at it , that is why they sell so many in 2wd format.

Word of advice though.

DON'T BUY ONE !

Massive fuel consumption ( 16-18l/100 ) average , second rate finish and build quality , ford badge and big warranty issues that won't go away.

Buy Japanese built , you will thank me.
AnswerID: 92812

Follow Up By: Lucky Vic - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:35

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:35
Their AWD is not a real 4wd either ( no low range etc ) and it has been bagged by journos for having very average off road ability due to poor ground clearance causing big contact with boulders / ground etc.

Read this review.

click

FollowupID: 351694

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:56

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:56
Comeon, you know everything dont you?

"average off road ability due to poor ground clearance causing big contact with boulders / ground etc"

Its not designed as a car you would take up Toolangi. Its an AWD, not a 4wd.

"Massive fuel consumption ( 16-18l/100 ) average"
same as cruisers and some other 4wds, and some AWDs.
FollowupID: 351704

Follow Up By: Lucky Vic - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:27

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:27
Is it really ?

Look at Kluger 12/100 !!

Now that is efficient because it has technology in its motor that Ford could only dream about.

Not designed for the tough stuff no but read the article and it copes worse in the tough stuff than all the competitors not designed for the tough stuff ;).

Oh their adverts tell a different story as well don't they ?;)
FollowupID: 351718

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:36

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:36
Once again, thats manufacturer figures... The Age paper the other week had it at 15/100.

Sorry Johnno.. So why the change of name? they a$shole your other one?
FollowupID: 351725

Follow Up By: Lucky Vic - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:42

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:42
Read the article yet ?

Not Toyotas figures but real world figures. Care to show me this article ?? I read them all and have never heard anything like that . Not making it up are you ?

Ofcourse not LOL !!!

Johnoo ?
FollowupID: 351727

Follow Up By: Lucky Vic - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:46

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:46
Here is another one for you until you find your article which does not exist ;)

http://carsguide.news.com.au/news/story_page/0,8269,9732690%255E27286,00.html

Q.
It breezes down the highway but will not go as far, as easily, as its little brother off the road. It averaged 10.5 litres per 100km on the day.

Real world conditions !!

And that is with sand work..

SO lets have a look at it. I have shown you two articles of real world tests and you have shown me what ?

LOL !!!
FollowupID: 351730

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:07

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:07
Care to show me this article ??
Yea go into town to the age. and go thru them yourself.

I read them all and have never heard anything like that .
yes.. youve read everything on earth johnno.

Not making it up are you ?
you honestly think I give ableepif you believe me or not? I only have 20 mins to waste getting bites out of your stupid little schoolboy mind then I go for beers. You will see what its like when your 18 to be allowed into a pub.
FollowupID: 351743

Follow Up By: Lucky Vic - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:11

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:11
Just as I thought truckster.

No article , no link NO PROOF !!

Read my two articles ?

That is facts and that is proof.

tool !
FollowupID: 351746

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:17

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:17
Actually now I think of it why have you posted your question about what to replacethe Avalon with You know all the websites. I read that article and it was all there for you if you want a 4wd get the Prado if you want an AWD grab the Kluger. If you are an idiot or cant afford a Toyota Buy the Pajero, and if you really must buy Australian get the Adventura
FollowupID: 351749

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:24

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:24
Lucky Vic posted this followup
No article , no link NO PROOF !!

Listen little one, Did I say I read it online? No, thats why I said to go to the age in town and read it there.

Again, do you think I care if you believe me - if you havent noticed nobody here believes you... Except your 4 different names you have registered that you back yourself up with.. Actually you may believe you are fooling people, but alas, your not.

We dont have long only 5 mins, see how many more stupid answers you can come up with.
FollowupID: 351752

Follow Up By: Lucky Vic - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:26

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:26
Hey they aren't my figures tool they are journos around the country as the links prove.

You have no proof.

Case dismissed , idiot truckster leave the court room please !
FollowupID: 351755

Follow Up By: Lucky Vic - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:28

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:28
Quote .

Q.
It breezes down the highway but will not go as far, as easily, as its little brother off the road. It averaged 10.5 litres per 100km on the day.

No need to believe me. Just use your eyes.
FollowupID: 351756

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 18:50

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 18:50
Lucky Vic/Jonno/Johnno1, Do you actually OWN a 4WD??? Seem to have SOOOOO many "constuctive criticisms" about anything and everything that isn't a Toyota, and absolute praise for anything Toyota produce. That sort of makes me believe that you either own one of all of their range, or your are a "web wheeler" par excellence.

The Kluger is based on (and built on) the Japanese model of the Camry flloor pan. Toyota spent millions of dollars toughening up the floorpan and drivetrain to withstand the Australian conditions in the Australian built Camry. Time will tell how long it will be before the Klugers start rattling to bits.

Some of us can remeber some of the Toyotas gems, T-18, Paseo, mid series Celicas, Coronas (with the "backfire four").......
FollowupID: 351799

Follow Up By: Lucky Vic - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 20:15

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 20:15
Paseo was a good car !!

The rest were crap.

Kluger is quality build. Heard of the RX330 ?

same mechanicals exactly.

Do some homework before bagging a product with your what if's.
FollowupID: 351822

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:35

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:35
A couple camped beside us at Wollondilly had one, big to look at but not a lot of cargo space which was surprising, still nice looking car.

Still a bloody FORD !!!!!!!!!

AnswerID: 92814

Follow Up By: slyonnet - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:51

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:51
True the car looks good and there are plenty of little gadgets in it that probably make it very confortable as well, but is that not the case for most cars nowadays. And most of those gadgets you find that you hardly ever use them anyway but you pay for them.
Seems to me like a waste of money.
Regarding the cargo space, they actually have an optional 3rd row seating. Can only imagine how small the cargo area will be once you got the seats in and how many cramps you will get sitting on them.
FollowupID: 351702

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:54

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:54
Come on now Baz, it was probably a 2by too at the camp site. "Still a bloody FORD" LOL Did it try and swim in the river too?

Reckon I will be pleased to see school get back again mate.
FollowupID: 351736

Follow Up By: Lucky Vic - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:16

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:16
ROFL !!!

Too true.
FollowupID: 351747

Reply By: Lucky Vic - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:41

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:41
" So, a four-up weight of 2.5 tonnes will adversely affect fuel economy, especially in urban surrounds. Ford Australia quotes a combined cycle economy figure of 13.5litres/100km for the AWD version, and 13.1 litres/100km for the RWD model. 'Real world' figures will be considerably higher -- our launch drive over 450km of city and country roads varied between 17 and 20 litres/100km depending on conditions."

http://carpoint.ninemsn.com.au/portal/alias__carpointau/tabID__6485/ArticleID__5590/DesktopDefault.aspx

Damn that is V8 LC100 consumption and on the heavy side for one of those as well.
AnswerID: 92815

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:57

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:57
Damn that is V8 LC100 consumption and on the heavy side for one of those as well.

and also $30,000+ cheaper than a V8 LC100 with 500,000klms on it
FollowupID: 351705

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:04

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:04
Go and check redbook Johnno. They know more than you.

2004 TOYOTA LANDCRUISER.
Wagon Sahara 8st 4dr Auto 5sp 4x4 4.7i
Price when new (RRP) $81,200

Well what do you know, thats $80,000
so $80,000 - $40,000 =?
FollowupID: 351742

Follow Up By: Lucky Vic - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:09

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:09
LOL !!

Thats a Sahara you tool !

LOL !

Who mentioned a Sahara ?

I was talking GXL !.

Why not compare to the Lexus LX470 at 140K if you are going to do that ?

your arguments have more holes than my old footy socks.
FollowupID: 351745

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:33

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:33
Well Lucky, dont find if i call you luckstar do you, anway, now you have specified which model, LC V8 GXL brand new $67000 drive away, get me 1 for $55000 and I will go buy it tomorrow...
FollowupID: 351760

Follow Up By: Lucky Vic - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 18:49

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 18:49
Crazie Toyota Aust were advertising them for 54,990 +ORC inc rev sensors , alloys and a tow bar . Also $1000 mitre 10 voucher. If you are serious send me an email to codedmedia@gmail.com and I will get you one tomorrow . NO SWEAT !!
FollowupID: 351798

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 20:33

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 20:33
Just passing on what I was told when I went to the toyota dealer ship near work today after your post.We are looking for a 2nd 4wd, I wasn't presented with any offer as you have mentioned. Please let me know which dealer ship I have to ring/visit
FollowupID: 351828

Follow Up By: Lucky Vic - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 22:46

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 22:46
Take your pick !!

Dicount New Cars have them for $55,300 + ORC and they aren't even a dealership .

http://www.discountnewcars.com.au/Toyota/Toyota-Landcruiser-100-GXL-V8.cfm

If you can crunch and play the game you will get one for $55,000 no sweat.

Go to www.drive.com.au and place an enquiry for the V8 there to all the dealers in your area and before tomorrow close you will have one for 55k.

If you are serious that is.
FollowupID: 351838

Follow Up By: Lucky Vic - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 22:47

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 22:47
DRIVE AWAY !!
FollowupID: 351839

Reply By: flappan - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:42

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:42
They are a great idea I think.

A Lot of people buy a 4wd purely to tow a boat for horse float. These would be ideal.

Plenty of power , plenty of room , enough clearance for paddocks etc , and 4wd from slippery surfaces in paddocks and boat ramps.

Might take some pressure off "real" 4wds if more people bought these.
AnswerID: 92817

Follow Up By: slyonnet - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:58

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 14:58
I don't get it Flappan? What do you mean by "Might take some pressure off "real" 4wds if more people bought these."?

To me you would spend your money better by buying a "proper" 4wd for a similar price (see above I mentioned a few options). You'd be able to do all the things you mentioned but also have the ability to use it more off-road as well.
If you consider people that are only interested in towing boats or horsefloats and not interested in 4wdriving then maybe but then I guess some V8 commodore or Falcon would pull out a similar amount of power than the Territory and be fine for the job. Maybe not so good on slippery surface but still.
FollowupID: 351707

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:01

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:01
Might take some pressure off "real" 4wds if more people bought these
I agree.

since most people buy 4wds to tow, or pickup the kids, these people could pretend they are in a real 4wd!
FollowupID: 351708

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:11

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:11
Absolutely, how many buy real 4x4's and never take em off the seal or confine themselves to good dirt roads. Good thinking by Ford and people have responded favourably.
FollowupID: 351712

Follow Up By: Lucky Vic - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:34

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:34
Good thinking Ford ??

Do you think they came up with the concept ??

They are merely following the crowd.
FollowupID: 351724

Follow Up By: flappan - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:43

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:43
The Territory is arguably the best of this bunch.

Territory, Kluger , Adventura.

Prior to these , if you towed a decent sized Boat, Van or Horse Float , nothing else BUT a 4wd would do.

The Subies wouldn't do it , and getting out of a paddock or up a boat ramp , in a rear wheel drive , Dunnydore or Falcon , has proved "interesting" to a few.

These type of vehicles are PERFECT for that application.

They are far more Car like then the majority of "real" 4wds. They would tackle the majority of Dirt Roads and Trails with ease.

If more people bought these in Toorak , or on the North Shore , there would be far less "4wd Bagging" going on
FollowupID: 351728

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:45

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:45
Yes good thinking ford.. How many other companies do it in Australia? Remember Johnno, thats where we are.

I dont see a 2wd Prado, or cruiser, Patrol, or Pajero, or Jackaroo Etc.

Get yourself another tub of KY to beat off with little boy.
FollowupID: 351729

Follow Up By: slyonnet - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:34

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:34
OK,

fair enough you probably need something more than a 2wd to get your boat out of the ramp or the horsefloat out of the padock, but then that means that the rear wheel drive version of the Territory is no use their and you need the AWD. To me it's like bying a "real" 4wd and pay a lot for it. Then I guess it's everyone personal choice but my initial question was about the rear wheel drive option. Sounds like their is not so much benefit in buying one of those compared to a wagon. Which tells me that the rear wheel drive option is kind of a joke and people may buy it only to feel like they're in a 4wd and show off. I had a look a lunch time and saw a few with the AWD sticker. It only come on the sides not the back, but the majority of the one I've seen did not have it.
FollowupID: 351763

Follow Up By: Lucky Vic - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:37

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:37
That is becasue the majority that are sold are 2wd versions and not AWD therefore their sales figures should not be included in the AWD sales figures as they are because the cloud the real picture.
FollowupID: 351764

Follow Up By: slyonnet - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:40

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:40
Another pont on that one. Fair enough there is a place in the market for vehicles that can tow a decent size boat or horsefloat but don't need to be a 4wd as such. Then the problem with the Territory and the other likewise is that they are still classified as 4wd not tow vehicles and some idiots are going to buy them thinking they are 4wd and damage tracks. Even more when you look at the add. It looks like the Territory can tackle absolutely everything you throw at it like a breeze.
Thanks Ford I guess.
FollowupID: 351766

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 00:11

Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 00:11
KEEP UP JOHNNO1/LUCKY/TOYOTASUCKS/BACK TRACKS and others.

Now lets see who the fool is shall we?

I said
Truckster (Vic) posted this followup
Yes good thinking ford.. How many other companies do it in Australia?
KEY WORD AUSTRALIA.. THATS WHERE WE ARE... AUSTRALIA.

You foolishly dribbled once again.
-----------------------------------------
Lucky Vic posted this followup
you silly little boy.

2wd Highlander / Kluger has been in the states for 3 years ..
FOOL !
http://www.toyota.com/highlander/index.html
AS i said Ford are followers !
-----------------------------------------
YOU SAID IN THE STATES FOR 3 YEARS. We are talking about Australia hee - KEEP UP LITTLE BOY.

Now who is the fool that cant read. I said Australia, and once again you said USA.. They are not the same place. If you like america so much, 1 way fares start at $980.00

If you would like to see how much of a little boy I am, I work in Nunawading and live in Langwarrin, I'd take great pleasure in showing you how little I am...

Finance manager of a Yota dealer.. LMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 351865

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:05

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:05
You are all forgetting the important things...

What about the 2 free water bottles you get that fit nicely in the cup holders in the front doors...
AnswerID: 92820

Follow Up By: slyonnet - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:11

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:11
Now that's probably why we see more and more of those on the road then :-). Other car manufacturers will have to get aligned if they want to keep up their sales.
Thanks Crazie to solve this mystery.
FollowupID: 351711

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:32

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:32
Fords superior design, equipment levels and Marketing wins over the Japs.

I wish i got water bottles with my Nissan
FollowupID: 351722

Follow Up By: Lucky Vic - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:40

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:40
Nice joke Alan ROFL !!!

The water bottles don't even fit in the doors in those POS vehicles.

You may wonder why the hatred of the Territory ?

Bro in law bought 4 for his IT company in Enfield and guess what . 3 of them have been off the road 6 weeks of the last 8 months with warranty issues !!!!

The other one he feels is just a lucky car as nothing has happened to it.

Funny thing is what Ford told him .

" Don;t worry they are all doing that !! . it is easy to fix " !!

Very reassuring hey . He is thinking of going to A current affair with his story.

DISGRACE !
FollowupID: 351726

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:47

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 15:47
Lighten up, that means he has 8 free water bottles to use elsewhere.
FollowupID: 351732

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:26

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:26
Funny thing is what Ford told him .
" Don;t worry they are all doing that !! . it is easy to fix " !!

LMAO I have never heard suchbleepin my life.. Proof? Show me? Wheres the link?

Didnt think so whinge moan cry, toyota, tissues, wahhhhhhhhhhh
FollowupID: 351754

Follow Up By: Toyota Sucks - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 17:06

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 17:06
Water bottles are good
FollowupID: 351775

Reply By: Alan S (WA) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:36

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 16:36
Flappan

I agree they are a good idea, so many people buy a large 4WD just for towing or just room. Look at explorers most i see are pristine and used for shopping trolleys.

Even look at people who use ther 4wd seriously what is the actual percentage of milegae that is off road.

It comes down to horses for courses and i think it is great that there is such a large choice and we can express our own individuality. Otherwise we become all clones of the same.
AnswerID: 92838

Reply By: cwebb - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 17:21

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 17:21
Lucky VIC/ Johnny1 etc, whatever your multiple personality is at the moment, you mention in another post you want to get out of your Avalon into a 4wd, and it must be Japanese built. Yet you rubbish not only niche Australian stuff, you still manage to swipe Japanese stuff. Remember your post bagging Challenger, Suzuki's etc? So what the hell are you on about?
If you know so much, and have a response to everything, why post a question?
Ah yes, a timewaster.
Stick to your Avalon pal, you'll be keeping yourself mostly out of trouble.
AnswerID: 92846

Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 17:41

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 17:41
I used to live on the Eyre Penninsula and the dirt roads were really crap with potholes washed out sections etc a most farmers/locals had your normal 2wd and a 2wd territory would have been a bit better. That is the only use I could see for them but still cant believe you wouldnt go the 4wd. any way I reckon if you are going awd Subaru probably still head the pack
AnswerID: 92851

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 18:33

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 18:33
Alot of hot headed discussion but not too many realistic answers with first hand experience of the Territory offroad!
On a recent trip up to Mt Cobbler & surrounding tracks the Ford showed surprising ease on the fire trails & rarely bottomed out despite taking it into an area I though was well out of it's depth. It will no doubt do the job for the majority of owners who really only want a road car that can go to the snow, tow a boat or camper & get them into that favorite campsite in comfort. As with most brands a completely new model will have many warrenty issues to iron out.
Bagging your neighbor because he's bought the 2WD version is pointless because if he's got no need for the front axle why bother getting it. At 33K it's priced similar to a Commodore but with many more features.
Too many on this site talk up their offroad exploits when most are in their dreams & a 2WD Territory would probably suit them better .
Cheers Craig..........
AnswerID: 92858

Follow Up By: slyonnet - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 19:21

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 19:21
You're right I did not think I would trigger such a hot discussion. My initial question was how do you tell the differrence between the rwd and the awd and is the rwd like a normal sedan. It deviated a bit. Ooops!
Now I'm only bagging my neighbour because knowing him he will try to take it offroad and damage the tracks for the others. I think there's a risk of that happening a lot with inexperienced people who watch the nice ad from Ford showing the Territory going absolutely everywhere and then getting the 2wd version when they see the cost of the awd and still believe it can really go anywhere. Plenty of people are bagging 4wd for damaging tracks and the environment but then ads like that are authorised without even a warning that the awd version only can do what is shown.
You're right again, surely the 2wd version offers more than a commodore for the same price and would suits the needs of some people. But then if you read carefully the discussion went more on comparing the awd version with other 4wd and in that case I still believe that the Territory can't win against the soft or medium roaders mentioned above, mainly because of lack of clearance and no low range.
Thanks for sharing your experience because it is true that so far we did not get any feedback by someone who is driving one. It is true that you should be having no problem on foresty tracks even if it gets rough cause it has this hill descent control and other gadgets for that, but I am still not convinced it would work as good in the sand or mud. Maybe am wrong and that's only my thoughts.
Anyway, enjoy it mate.
FollowupID: 351803

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 19:42

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 19:42
I think if you clicked on some of the rig pics you would see that thee 2wd territory coment might be a bit off. Bottom line the awd falls squarely in with the rest of the burgeoning awd catogory. The 2wd has no real direct competitor that I know of so what is it a @#$ poor awd? or a good country car. They will either find a niche market with it or they will ultimitly satisfy noone. As for the rest of the crap (me included) thats just johonno1/backtracks/lucky vic sucking us bored workers in again
FollowupID: 351811

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 23:50

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 23:50
Davoe. As you probably already know the need for a 4x4 to see much of this country is fast diminishing as my last few trips have proved. Driving onto the Cape York ferry I pulled in behind a Falcon, Simpson Desert passed a 2WD Volkswagen & Gibb river rd a Commodore was crossing the Pentacost River. An AWD will soon be all we'll need to travell 95% of the roads.
As for the rest of the crap.......yes there were a few rolling around in the gutter, 3 cheers for the moderator.
Craig......
FollowupID: 351860

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 19:07

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 19:07
Lucky Vic wrote:

"Good thinking Ford ??

Do you think they came up with the concept ??

They are merely following the crowd."

"you silly little boy.

2wd Highlander / Kluger has been in the states for 3 years ..

FOOL !

http://www.toyota.com/highlander/index.html

AS i said Ford are followers !"

...and so are Toyota. Subaru have been doing the crossover thing for the last 30 years. "Ugly duckling" 1400 cc FWD/4WD Subaru wagon introduced ca. 1973.

Get off your high horse and open the two eyes in your head, not just the single eye elsewhere. People are getting sick of what is flowing out.....
AnswerID: 92865

Follow Up By: Lucky Vic - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 20:17

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 20:17
that is why I said "others" idiot !

did I say Toyota came up with the concept ?

I don;t make ridiculaous unresearched claims like the clowns here so mate.

Stick to the FACTS !
FollowupID: 351823

Follow Up By: Lucky Vic - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 20:18

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 20:18
ridiculous I mean.

Have you researched it yet ?
FollowupID: 351824

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 20:48

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 20:48
1. Enlighten me. Where is "others" in the above comment(s)? I did a cut and paste of ALL your diatribe in this thread into a word document and did a search for the word "others". Not found.......................

So, simply, you did NOT say "others", but tried to imply that Toyota had been doing it for years. Ford in the US has been doing 4WD/AWD/RWD longer. Toyota built their American Ops so they could compete in the US maket, they were already behind the 8-ball when thay started.

2. Neighbor had an "Ugly ducking 4WD" within weeks of them being released in Australia in 1973 (worked for a dealer who imported them, along with the early VW's, in Melbourne).

"ridiculous I mean.

Have you researched it yet ? "

Clearly you haven't.

FollowupID: 351830

Follow Up By: Lucky Vic - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 22:49

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 22:49
Don't put words in my mouth mate.

I know Toyota did not invent the concept , never said that,

I said For were following the " crowd " ... You know what a crowd is ? It does not mean Toyota .
FollowupID: 351841

Follow Up By: Lucky Vic - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 22:52

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 22:52
As far as the rest of your post I don't argue any of those points.

as I said i never claimed Toyota invented the concept.

FollowupID: 351842

Reply By: Chucky - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 21:23

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 21:23
AS long as it suits the needs of the owner, with little or no warrenty claims the car/4wd/awd has done it's job. My only concern with these awd cars with the " down hill assist" buttons etc is that they go down the hill alright but can't get back up. Have already come across one of these and had to tow him back up the hill.
My wife like the look of the new fords, she drives a frontera at the moment. SHe would only need a rwd as she nevers uses 4wd in the frontera and only drives it because she can put the kid in the car without bending over or reaching up. And when ever we go camping 4wd etc we always take my 4b so the rwd ford would be suitable for our needs.
AnswerID: 92876

Reply By: Fordskin - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 21:38

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 21:38
The problem is that there needs to be a new magazine that judges cross over vehicles only. Not just a 4x4 mag that thinks every vehicle should have big clearance and also not a mag that says everything must handle like a car. There seems to be no middle ground in the minds of some of these testers and unfortunately some of the single minded dills that just dont get it on this forum . How the vehicle will be judged in the current magazines is often influenced by which mag is testing it. The territory 2wd is NOT a 4x4 so to compare it to a 4x4 is not even an valid argument. I must be an idiot because i bought a Pajero which suits the purpose i bought it for perfectly.They are a great vehicle and handle like a car unlike the Prado but if i were more inclined to do more serious 4x4 stuff than i would buy a Patrol.There is a big choice out there and thats great.
AnswerID: 92879

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Saturday, Jan 15, 2005 at 09:06

Saturday, Jan 15, 2005 at 09:06
Hmm, lots of chit chat here isnt there ? I thought they had awd badging on them, the 2wd runs 15inch rims the awd 16s as far as i understand, hey if someone just wants a good tow rig then i reckon the 2wd would be grouse. i personally think ford took a good look at the jeep cherokee, as it's been sold for about 10 years in 2wd auto form and has done very well in its market.

Teething probs, yep every car has them, as long as the maker sorts them out quick smart then no prob.

BTW Capa are now making a supercharger kit for the barra motors and have fitted out a territory with one, does 13 second quarters no sweat. quicker than a porshe cayenne, yeah baby , relatively cheap thrills, what a sand machine LOL LOL
AnswerID: 93190

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Sunday, Jan 16, 2005 at 11:29

Sunday, Jan 16, 2005 at 11:29
After all that it would appear that Ford do not consider the Territory to be an off road vehicle no matter what the advertising may depict. As reported in todays herald sun
"Ford Australia president Tom Gorman said diesel and off-road models were being considered as part of the new Territory SUV vision"
AnswerID: 93371