EXPLORER WRITTEN OFF
Submitted: Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 09:42
Baz (NSW)
Well it's dead, sad really like losing a friend and alot more capable than people gave it credit for (a tear)
So begins the search for the next stead ahh what to buy or have we chosen, could it be a Cruiser or a Patrol or even a Landrover, Jeep maybe, Pajero Terracan or maybe even a Hummer lol,
well time will tell, whatever it is it will suit us but first and foremost it will have a "snorkle" and a winch THAT is for certain.
Reply By: Leroy - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 09:45
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 09:45
That's great news! Cough..cough.....Sorry to hear that. Hopefully you can find a good replacement soon;-)
Leory
Reply By: Peter McGuckian - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 09:46
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 09:46
Baz,
What happened? How did she die?
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 09:54
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 09:54
Drowned in the Wollondilly river doing a crossing.
Reply By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 09:49
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 09:49
WOOOOHOOOOO, now all the fun of looking for a new steed may commence.
Sparkie(IE not Y) ;-)
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 09:57
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 09:57
Yeah wanna look for us lol, i'm going to email Eric soon don't think he is back from hols yet.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 09:58
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 09:58
MINOR WORK WARNING ON BOTH - they are songs with toony clips...
http://media.ebaumsworld.com/bangbangbang.swfhttp://members.iinet.net.au/~gasteen/everyonehashadmoresex.swf
Both funny NEEDS SOUND..
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:03
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:03
I'd love to know how this ended up in this thread? It started in the phriday phunnies one
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:19
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:19
So would i but maybe you were trying to cheer me up, might as
well enjoy it while it's here.
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:27
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:27
ROTFLMAO
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:00
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:00
Baz,
Dunno whether to be happy or sad for you.....must be a bit of an empty feeling seeing the ol' girl going off to that big car park in the sky.
Best of luck looking for a replacement.
Cya mate
Reply By: Willem - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:01
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:01
Sniff sniff Baz....We are going to miss all your wondeerful Explorer adventures. Good luck with your next steed.
Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:03
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:03
Baz - was it you who with Allianz? If so, how did they perform?
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:22
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:22
I hope Baz is being very polite to the Insurance company.. I wonder if they do pay up, driving into a river is a bit like driving into a fire.....Good luck Baz
| Patrol 4.2TDi 2003
Somewhere you want to explore ? There is no time like the present.Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:29
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:29
Working that out now and yes Allianz.
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 11:08
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 11:08
Chris it has already been agreed they are working out how much to give us, it's market value so we have a price of about $22.500 as a pay out.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:05
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:05
CONGRATS BAZ!!!!!
I'D BUY THE LAND WHERE THE CAR WAS KILLED....
It did you a favor ;)~~
What was the cost in the end? Did they tell u?
Now go and rip all your goodies out of the car!
Of the 6 cars you mention, theres only 2 you would hopefully take seriously.. :)~
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 20:23
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 20:23
I'D BUY THE LAND WHERE THE CAR WAS KILLED....
Absolute classic comment, you're a gem mate! I laughed until I wasn't confident I would remain continent.
Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:14
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:14
There were 7 mentioned..... and they are all "proper" 4WD's.
Reply By: flappan - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:16
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:16
Come on Baz , what will I give you a hard time over now.
Gunna buy another one . . . .
Oh well , at least the ongoing sagga of the Explorer is finished , and you can move on to something , hopefully , trouble free.
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 11:05
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 11:05
NO not buying another, we need pulling power and the manual Explorer just doesn't cut it.
Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:28
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:28
If you really think you will miss the jibbing then how bout a ssanyong rexton?
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:28
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:28
"and alot more capable than people gave it credit for"
didnt it get stuck which is what killed it? :P
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:38
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 10:38
Not really a snorkle would have saved us just to deep coming back made it across but didn't make it back, the entry point coming back across was steeper and the front of the car dived under the water swamping us. A blind Baz a blind you should of used a blind.
Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 11:31
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 11:31
Baz,
a blind is useless. If you can visualise the bottom of the blind sitting under the front of the car, about 60 cm under water, and no water coming up behind it - I think not. Unless you are travelling fast, which you aren't, the water rapidly infills behind the blind to a depth equivalent to the depth of water in front of it.
Blinds are over rated -- they don't work in deep water if you are travelling at anything like walking pace. Have a look behing a vehicle doing a crossing to see just how effective the blind is
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 13:04
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 13:04
I disa gree. If you see old footage of 4wding before snorkals became the must have acc they would tarp up and go where most woiuld be scared to take their snorkal equiped vehicle
Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Saturday, Jan 15, 2005 at 12:27
Saturday, Jan 15, 2005 at 12:27
Davoe,
I agree it is a common practice, but then so are a lot of things. I'd love to fit a camera in the engine bay of a car with and without a blind and actually see if it makes a difference. I suspect it just gives people peace of mind.
Reply By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 11:02
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 11:02
Quote "A blind Baz a blind you should of used a blind". But noo...., bazza went in and was blind to all the things which could go wrong! ;-)
queue Startrek music: And there was BAZ aboard the U.S.S explorer,blindly going where no man has gone before. ;-)
Sorry it just slipped out ;-)
Sparkie(IE not Y) ;-)
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 11:15
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 11:15
LMAO, we walked it first and was not that deep and going across the first time it was easy had no probs at all, but when we were coming back didn't take into account the steeper angle of the approach into the river on the return crossing, hind sight it's a wonderful thing.
Reply By: Karsten from Birdsville Studio - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 11:42
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 11:42
Very sad to hear of your loss Baz. We do get attached, don't we ?
Off to the land of the long white cloud tomorrow for a couple of weeks, but maybe I can find you a camel when back in BV....
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 13:46
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 13:46
You lucky bugger going to NZ, and a camel mmmmm now !!! no just thinking naahh 4b is fine
Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 12:37
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 12:37
Its sad to loose a good ol friend.....Now its time to move on and find a new toy. Have fun searching mate, a new project to start building one back up to your requirements
Reply By: Vince NSW - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 14:00
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 14:00
Good news about the pay out. Bad news about the dunking.
You have a thing about river crossings. Didn't one of your party drown on the Oct long weekend.
I will have the have a 2nd thought about meeting you in BV in July. You will most likly cause a flood.
Speaking of BV, Make sure what ever you do get has the range to do the SD
Vince
Reply By: Member - Peter K (NSW) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 14:18
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 14:18
Sorry to hear Baz. I thought something was wrong when I saw it down the service centre on monday looking a bit damp. Good news with the insurance and that you are all safe
pete
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 15:25
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 15:25
Hey Pete i've been trying to post on 4wdA but not working must be a cookie thing but anyway, yeah a good thing the pay out had a look at a car today not bad 29,000 110,000ks has a snorkle winch bar towbar and he is willing to negotiate on price and extras so we might end up with everything at a good price and i'll get Mike to look at it.
Reply By: Member - gimme (QLD) - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 14:42
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 14:42
Baz,
After reading your original thread about the dunking I went on-line and got a quote from Allianz for my tdi Rangie, and surprisingly enough it was half of what I am paying now, so I will be keen to see what the payout is, as they quoted market value for my vehicle. best of luck. gimme
Reply By: Jim-Bob - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 17:59
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 17:59
G'day Baz
Sorry to hear of your loss, but if you would like to check the 4wd for sale adds on exploroz i'm selling my 4runner ready to go (snorkle included). would do for an intertrim 4by.
Could email pics.
Safe travells
Jim-Bob
Reply By: pjd - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 19:55
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 19:55
thats great news it would be just like xmas all over again just dont make the same mistake twice by buying an other one
Reply By: brian - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 21:01
Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 21:01
Baz did they say what your explorer could be purchased for ?? just curious happy travels
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Saturday, Jan 15, 2005 at 08:32
Saturday, Jan 15, 2005 at 08:32
need pulling power eh? , lots of TD jacks down at the ex gov auctions at the moment, you will have the power of cash to play with........