Adele's Grove Lawn Hill, Carnavon Gorge

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 22, 2005 at 23:16
ThreadID: 19685 Views:8097 Replies:5 FollowUps:5
This Thread has been Archived
Hi to all, I'm new to this, I'm in need of info on camping grounds in Adele's grove, Lawn Hill Qld and Carnavon Gorge,Qld. Will be there in June 2005. Also what is the best gorge trip to do at Katherine. Do you have to pre book. Thanks for any helpful tips. My first centre of Australia trip.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Tripp'n Around - Saturday, Jan 22, 2005 at 23:52

Saturday, Jan 22, 2005 at 23:52
Hi Wayne
You can do a search here in the search list above, there have been lots of info written on this area.
Adel's is really good and depending on your needs (kids, generator etc) it is best to email/ring Michelle there and ask. http://www.adelsgrove.com.au/
Very nice place and we have camped there 3 times so far. Best to book in as early as possible if going in or near school holiday times.
Lawn Hill N.P. is very pretty and we have been there 3 times too. The only drawback here is that you have to heat your water and take it up to the showers or have cold ones. Best to book very early as it is popular too. Nice spots very close to the gorge for the early morning sunrises/walks for piccy shots. The gorge looks magnificent when the light refracts along the gorge walls.
Carvavon Gorge is quite a place. We did the 9klms walk Cathedral Cave there and back, so make sure you are up too it. We were so tired we went back the next day and did the Amphitheatre, The Art Gallery and others we missed. http://www.epa.qld.gov.au/projects/park/index.cgi?parkid=49
As for Katherine we did that many years ago so i don;t know what is available there now. We did the 3 gorge trip, same gorge just had to get out and climb around rocks to access the next 2 gorges. great piccy shots be be taken there too.

Good luck with your trip!

Cya
tripp'n
:)
AnswerID: 94481

Follow Up By: 28patrol - Sunday, Jan 23, 2005 at 00:30