Ultimate 4 w drive

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 00:55
ThreadID: 19783 Views:2230 Replies:15 FollowUps:15
Well i know everyone argues about what the best 4 wheel drive on the market is today . I have come to the conclusion that there all crap lol .

I sat down and wondered what the ultimate 4wd would be if we could mix and match .

Ride comfort , I have the Cruiser ahead of the Nissan by miles , but the RR as best.
Front & rear diff , I have the Nissan ahead by miles
Transfer case I have both Nissan & Cruiser equal , but find the gearing better in auto cruisers for down hill desent. better than the Nissan autos gearing . RR not a hope in this department
Auto transmition I have the cruiser infront of the Nissan

Gear boxes , I have the Nissan infront of the cruiser in the manual before 1998 but the cruiser wins after 98 due to the 5th gear issue in Nissans ( supposably solved , soon to find out ) . RR not close again .

Petrol Engines . Nissan wins in the GQ until the 4.5 came out . Then cruiser took over .
Diesel . Hard to compare , both fantastic .

Simplicity , for bush repairs , Nissan wins here in my books . Unless you go down to the 60 series or older in Cruiser .

So there you have it .

I want a car as light as the RR , with Nissan diffs , RR interior , Cruiser engine and suspention and a transfer case and gearbox out of either cruiser or Nissan but no way a RR.

I hope you dont find this alot of dribble & I would love to hear peoples opinion.

Reply By: Member - Jiarna (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 01:25

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 01:25
Sounds OK. Let me know when you find one!!

Those who say something cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it.

AnswerID: 94931

Reply By: Tuff60 - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 01:28

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 01:28
Well you asked:
Body: 60 Series 89 Sahara(I am a big fan)Full Alloy Cage
Seating: WRX STi, front seats anyway, I don't sit in the back.
Engine: post 98 Hummer 6.5 Turbo Diesel
Gearbox: 4L80 E4, 4 speed auto from a hummer, should be tough enough.
Transfer Case: New Venture Gear NV233, Part time 4WD push button shift.
Diffs: nissan GU, there is tougher available but not common enough to find spares.
Brakes: Do AP make a 6 pot calliper to suit nissan diffs??
Suspension: custom coils by me, about 5 inches over standard, hence the roll cage.

PS. with you on tadays 4WD's being crap, but as 95% don't go offroad(by offroad I mean somewhere bush kids couldn't get someone elses Falcodore through), why would the manufacturers cater to the 5% of buyers who do go offroad. My figures may well be off but I don't think by much.
AnswerID: 94933

Reply By: rb30s - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 07:41

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 07:41
Hi Eric,

On BRIZ31 last night they had a story about an 80 series Cruiser. It was converted into a ute, it was lifted, had a 454 donk, had 100 series axles(at least in rear) and Patrol diff centres. All items were off the shelf stuff so minimal special fab work. Owner was very happy with car as often was used in comps and only breakage in 2 years was a CV.

Adrian
AnswerID: 94941

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 21:46

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 21:46
He is on outerlimits... its quite a unit, but breaks things regularly
FollowupID: 353874

Reply By: Member - David 0- Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 08:39

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 08:39
Ultimate 4WD?

.........mine

:-)

AnswerID: 94948

Reply By: James M - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 08:49

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 08:49
Hard to go past the tough old GQ. Slap on a lift kit and lockers and the damn thing is nere unstoppable. IMHO anyway.
AnswerID: 94949

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 09:49

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 09:49
What, no mention of the dual cab triron GLX with a 25.5m turning circle, independant torsion bar front end, seats straight out of a willies jeep and squeaky hub caps... LOL

I think you've come close there Eric.

AnswerID: 94959

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Jan 27, 2005 at 11:20

Thursday, Jan 27, 2005 at 11:20
Sounds like the ultimate 4WD for my purposes at the moment Blue. . . but then I've never wanted to drive a car up a wall.
FollowupID: 353929

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 27, 2005 at 14:39

Thursday, Jan 27, 2005 at 14:39
Suits mine also at the moment, wont be long before the billy can lids are too big for the back seat though.

Guess I'll have to go through the whole LC v Patrol v Pajero v Prado dribble in a couple of years.

Or maybe a dual cab V8 diesel F250... With a little help from Mr Tattersal I should be able to find a lazy $100k to cover that one.
FollowupID: 353953

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Jan 27, 2005 at 14:45

Thursday, Jan 27, 2005 at 14:45
I don't want the dribble either Wayne, a bit of help from Mr Tattersal would be very, very nice.
FollowupID: 353954

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 27, 2005 at 14:59

Thursday, Jan 27, 2005 at 14:59
I'll make a deal with you... If I win (first I have to buy a ticket), I'll put in a good word for you... Don't hold your breath though.
FollowupID: 353956

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Jan 27, 2005 at 15:05

Thursday, Jan 27, 2005 at 15:05
OK . . . If I win I'll pay your speeding ticket.
FollowupID: 353957

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 09:54

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 09:54
So, the way I see it.......

TOY ota
NIS san
Range RoVER

=

TOYSANVER!

Wolfie
AnswerID: 94961

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 10:05

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 10:05
I pay that lol
FollowupID: 353814

Follow Up By: ev700 - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 12:00

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 12:00
Make that SANDROOTA

Just play with the letters a bit as any marketing person would and add a 'd' to get the image right.

The video advert could be about big boys having fun in the big sandpit.

EV700
FollowupID: 353828

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 10:49

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 10:49
Hi Eric,

I reckon your not far from the money, but a few things I would change are;

Transfer case: CRUISER, as Nissans 2:1 is just too low.
Gear box: NISSAN, might not shift as nice as a cruiser, but much stronger IMHO (5th gear sorted now I reckon).
Diesel: CRUISER 4.2TD, Nissan 4.2TD may be reliable but S..L..O..W in standard form, 3.0TD needs more bottom end - While dreaming I would go the Nissan 4.5TD - thats the 3.0TD with 2 more cylinders (can hear Truckster now - WHAT, just a 3.0TD with 50% more problems... hahaha)

AnswerID: 94967

Reply By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 11:32

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 11:32
Eric, no question about it, I'll have one of these please..........

http://www.internationaldelivers.com/site_layout/severe/cxt.asp

International CXT7300

May need to narrow it down a tad to fit on dirt tracks unfortunately and I'd also slot a Detroit 8V92TT in it 'just in case'.
AnswerID: 94971

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Jan 27, 2005 at 11:26

Thursday, Jan 27, 2005 at 11:26
It's just a big soft-roader - no mention of a transfer case!
FollowupID: 353931

Reply By: Utemad - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 14:05

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 14:05
Come on guys you're thinking along the wrong lines.

It needs to be small enough to fit into shopping centres while large enough to seat you and all your screming kids so I'm thinking a Prado body.

It has to be automatic for ease of city driving and amount of gears doesn't matter as you just put it in drive don't you? Mated to a V6 engine so it has more than enough power to run the air conditioner while stuck in peak hour traffic.

Constant 4x4 so as to improve wet bitumen stability.

No low range as that is just unnecessary weight and expense.

Independent suspension all round from a Pajero to soak up all the lumps and bumps in that rough pavement.

Run flat tyres in case the RACQ is busy. They need to be a H/T pattern to suit the most common terrain encountered.

AnswerID: 94979

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 14:35

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 14:35
Jeez I hope Des Lexic, Andrew, Pesty and Muddy don't read this....

I'd have to agree that the body/interior would be Toyota (80 series for mine).
Best engine : 6.5L Chev bent eight with a hair dryer
Nissan gearbox and tranny case, but with Marks adaptors low range gears
Nissan diffs with a couple of ARB lockers;.......nah, make that "3".......with all that grunt, I'd be wanting to spin 3 diffs please.
Cut the bod down to a dual cab and whack on a neat tray with sealed canopy containing a couple of LARGE fridges (I like Engels) and enough battery power to keep the grog cold.....

When can you have it ready for me please Eric???? hahaha
AnswerID: 94987

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 17:22

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 17:22
I must admit , I hated my 80 series seats , so got rid of them for some AU3 Futura seats .

I sat in cars at work for 3 months before desiding they were the most comfortable .

Mind you sat in a mates FJ40 the other day with leather motorised 300 zx seats . wernt bad at all
FollowupID: 353846

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 22:20

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 22:20
It's OK Roachie, I did not see this post.

I also did not Member Message Des and Andrew and Pesty to alert them to your 'yota admiration post!

Agree totally on the Trayback conversion of a full size wagon. The ones coming out of QLD look awesome.

Muddy
FollowupID: 353885

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 23:05

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 23:05
Muddy, no need to member message me as I knew ages ago that Roachie is a closet 50series fan. Even nette is coming round. You could tell that by the way she wrapped herself up in the genuine yota blanket on Sat night.
The only thing I'd change is to fit 60series diffs as they are interchangeable.
Come to think of it, the HZ61 was unbreakable but needs coil springs all round.
FollowupID: 353893

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 17:29

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 17:29
I was told by a guy that the LT85 Rangie box was suposed to be a extremly good box.
And before you start saying oh yeah got a Landie now so there the best, this guy owned a Nissan shortie.
AnswerID: 95004

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 19:23

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 19:23
G'day Baz,

A wild guess on my part........I bet it was 301 days ago that the bloke told you that important piece of information....hahahahaha

Cya mate
FollowupID: 353852

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 20:04

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 20:04
LMAO how could you !!!! think that
AnswerID: 95013

Reply By: Chris (W.A.) - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 21:53

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 21:53
Why not go the Ford Falcon XD?

There was a bash in the Kimberley - rodeo? I think. 4x4 tracks to get there - Every 4x4 got bogged. The aboriginal people driving the Ford got through without a problem.

...and were into a couple of beers with tucker on the go by the time the rest got there!!

AnswerID: 95038

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 22:07

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 22:07
You mean this isnt it?
[ View Image]
AnswerID: 95041

Follow Up By: Tuff60 - Thursday, Jan 27, 2005 at 01:07

Thursday, Jan 27, 2005 at 01:07
Not sure what you were trying to post, but all I saw was some bog stock looking GQ.
You sure you posted the right picture??
Then again maybe I've got the meaning of "ultimate" wrong.

Sorry, couldn't resist a little patrol bashing.
FollowupID: 353903

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 27, 2005 at 11:57

Thursday, Jan 27, 2005 at 11:57
Bog stock? if you look closely you can see the steering arm bending left of the pumpkin :(
4 hours sittin on Vicrange, and then $350 later...
FollowupID: 353934