Oh! what a feeling - Chrysler/Daimler

Submitted: Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 00:41
ThreadID: 19848 Views:2340 Replies:8 FollowUps:11
Evening all

Some members of this forum are aware that in May 04 I traded my pristine Honda Accord on a JEEP Cherokee KJ Diesel Limited. Honda was sold 3 days later and I was provided with a loan car from day one. (S H I T! I liked/loved that Honda)

They also know that when it came to delivery time 2 weeks later I was informed that there wasn’t a Diesel available in the whole of Oceania. Doh!.

Long story cut short, I had to wait until October 04 for JEEP to run a manufacturing line of diesels for the European Market before my order was built. Doh! (No 2)

In the mean time The Dealer provided us with a 2 yr old KJ Cherokee (Petrol). Did that mother drink fuel.

Before October arrived I rang the Chrysler/Daimler HO in Melbourne and explained the situation and they could not have been more helpful in giving me the one and only straight story that applied to this situation. Further, they gave me the Build/Vin No., Production line to shipping data, and the name of the transport ship and ETA in Melbourne. All of which I could, and did track on the internet when given the URL’S to do so.

Expected delivery date – 2nd week in January 05.

15 January 05, (Sat) drive to Geelong and collect said vehicle. (don’t ask about the Geelong connection because it’s not up for discussion). 27kms on clock.

Approx 100Kms and 2 hours later in my driveway I decide to have a look in depth at what those engineering marvels at Chrysler/Daimler had designed for a suspension.

B U G G E R! what’s that water stuff streaming along the underside of the engine , across the transmission etc etc.

Well turns out that it is some kind of synthetic special ‘running in oil’ that is put in on the production line. Allegedly $90 a litre. Doh! (No. 3)

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm! Maybe they overfilled it or spilled the stuff.

Nup! JEEP dealer inspection on Mon 17.1.05 reveals she is leaking – like a sieve, have to book in for major fix-up. They top it up with oil from Min to Max mark on dip stick

Monday 24.1.05, drop it off at dealer, midday the good and bad news.

Good news it appears to be coming from around a ‘grub screw /plug’ on the block that covers a oil gallery port. Absolutely a minor hiccup.

Bad news – It will take two (2) days to fix. One day to reach said plug and one day to replace all the stuff we have to take off to get to it. Doh! No.4.

Can I have a replacement car please. No! don’t have one, however ring this number at Chrysler/Daimler HO (Customer service).

Do so and explain situation, Hold line sir whilst I make a phone call.

Sir the dealer has assured me your car WILL be ready by 5.00pm tonight for collection.

Damn! Could have sworn he said 2 days minimum. OK!

2.00pm received phone call from dealer. Maaaaaaate! This is something else, we are nowhere near reaching that plug, its going to be tomorrow.

Ring Customer service at HO again , Hold the line please sir whilst I make a call.

Sir! I have confirmed your car will not be ready today, how can we be of assistance. Well! My wife works nights and needs a car, how about a hire car.

No problems sir, please hold the line whilst I make a call.

Sir! That WILL be OK and just present the hire car bill to the Dealer who WILL reimburse you.

4 Days later including the public holiday I have my pride and joy back at no cost to me.

It appears to have been a dud/damaged/distorted whatever $.000002cent washer/seal on this grub screw thingy that caused all the drama.

I am just glad I didn’t have to pay a thing.

Also to date I cannot speak highly enough of the service and attention I have received from Chrysler/Daimler, just hope it continues.

Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 02:24

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 02:24
Wow, what a tale!

I had to wait 4 months for the Prado and was champing at the bit when it was finally delivered (although it was within a week of the original expected delivery date given when I signed the deal).

How excrutiating to have that sort of issue and muck around after waiting so long!

Well at least you have it now and that will be the last of your worries. Can't wait to see it in the metal.

Muddy
AnswerID: 95301

Reply By: Tuff60 - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 02:49

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 02:49
Toyota Australia could learn something here, a long time friend of the family has just had his LC100 V8 replaced by Toyota after 9 whole months of mucking him around trying talk their way out of a driveline vibration/noise. I drove it a couple of times, if you closed your eyes it was like riding in an XD falcon panelvan with no carpet. He is retired, so spent the last couple of weeks before they agreed on replacement, parked outside the dealership, offering thier prospective buyers a test ride in one of Toyota's finest built vehicles. Funny thing he starts costing them money they come to the party with a new car.
AnswerID: 95303

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 07:43

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 07:43
Imagine waiting all that time...and still getting a Jeep! You taking it up to Broken Hill?

AnswerID: 95311

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 10:11

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 10:11
No! smarty pants.

Thats Troopy territory and SWMBO gets first dibs on the finest piece of design and subsequent 'engineering' that -

The land of God, Mum, George Bush and Apple Pie can produce.
FollowupID: 354092

Reply By: Nudenut - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 08:09

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 08:09
your very very patient.....
I would have told them to stick ages ago.....
AnswerID: 95315

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 10:23

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 10:23
Couldn't, as the contract was signed and my Honda was long gooooooooooone.

Plus I wanted that diesel JEEP as it suited our needs perfectly.
FollowupID: 354095

Reply By: Member - Alan S (NSW) - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 09:24

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 09:24
That's quite a story, I sure hope you don't have any more hiccups. Good luck with the new wheels. Time for a Rig Pic, eh?
AnswerID: 95325

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 10:26

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 10:26
Thats a 'to do' for 05.

Forgot to mention that it came with a Howling Moon roof top tent, something simialr to yours and a 100W Solar Panel.

I am still re-configuring the garage to fit everything in plus building a winch to take the tent off.
FollowupID: 354097

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 10:28

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 10:28
Actually I'll have to seek advice from Roachie on the Rig Pic thing as he is the expert on such matters, especially on making the front page of Magazines etc etc.
FollowupID: 354099

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 11:39

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 11:39
Its a Jeep mate!

FollowupID: 354111

Follow Up By: Member - Alan S (NSW) - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 13:17

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 13:17
I use a six pack of beer instead of a winch in the garage. Mate drops around, helps me get the tent on to the roof and off he goes with smile on his face.
Can't get the cruiser into the garage with the tent on anyway...

You have to explain " came with a Howling Moon roof top tent". Was this part of the purchase deal? Best nights sleep camping ever has been in a roof tent.

FollowupID: 354129

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 18:17

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 18:17
Yeah! you are right as usual Bonz.

Front page of TIME magazine would be more appropriate than Roachies poxy old 4?? Mxxxxxx effort.

FollowupID: 354169

Reply By: cokeaddict - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 09:25

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 09:25
Hmmmmmm, very annoying tales i read.
Frustration is a polite way of putting it.
This is the exact reason I would NEVER purchase a NEW vehicle. You would expect dealers or manufatcurers to have stock ..... somewhere !

I cant imagine being told to wait weeks for a car i want NOW. Hell i might change my mind next week and not want it.
I have always followed 3 rules when it comes to decisions on cars

1st rule.... NEVER buy NEW

2nd rule....always wait for a series 2 (at least) before you commit, That way, the suckers who buy the first run are the only ones who have to go through the annoying frustrations of finding probles to report back to dealer, thus the dealer uses the customer to find and fix the problems for the series 2 version.

3rd rule....Best buys are second hand, 1 owners. Heaps cheaper than new and in most cases they have had the bugs ironed out already. The money you save is well spend on accesories.

I think its a pretty smart way to buy your next car.
Then again....im sure some would not agree.
To each their own
Ange
AnswerID: 95326

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 10:27

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 10:27
I thing you might have a 'plan' here that I will seriously consider next time I purchase a vehicle.

FollowupID: 354098

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 15:56

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 15:56
at least you get the new car smell. I bought a second hand cruiser and despite it having vinyl everything it smells real funny. It had started wearing out somewhat but then returned except slightly different - kind of like an animals lair hmmmmmmmmmmm. might try washing it out with dunny deodiriser
FollowupID: 354157

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 09:51

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 09:51
G'day Ken,
As I've said b4 mate, make sure your kitchen calender is marked with the birthdates of the service-manager, his missus and kids.......then make sure you send them each a nice card (don't forget xmas too) and the occasional bottle of wine wouldn't go astray!! LOLOL
Now, as for the forthcoming trip to SA......have you sourced a good car-trailer of suitable size to carry the Jeep behind the Troopie? The roads around our area are reasonably flat once you get here, but the road in has a few undulations which I wouldn't recommend for your darling baby to ride on (unless it is on the aforementioned car-trailer).....hahahaha

Sorry mate, i can't help myself.....

Good luck with it from here on mate
AnswerID: 95340

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 10:20

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 10:20
Oooo-ah! we are full of it today Mr Roach.

I am surprised your 'bug swatting' mate has managed to contain himself.

I intend visiting the YP very shortly, hopefully in hot weather to give this sucker a decent work out and see what other, if any (hope there aren't any) glitches I can shake out of it.

And yes! I am first name basis with the local JEEP service manager and his assistant now. (you will pay for that one)

FollowupID: 354094

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 11:30

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 11:30
Lucy, that serial pest "the cockroach" is not a nice person. I am surprised that his bug swatting mate hasn't sprayed him with pestycide.
I can explain the reason why he acts as he does as it is due to a brain malfunction caused by being dropped at birth. This explains why he thinks highly of Nnnnnnishan (misguidedly) and why he would visit someone who breads fly maggots to get a haircut. He can explain the story.
I guess you will be visiting your local rellies and hopefully we can inspect the new toy then.
Des aka Alpaca
FollowupID: 354109

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 20:05

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 20:05
Jeez all this fuss over a Jeep i don't get it.

Sorry about time someone else got it, lol.

Mate all the best on your new beast you bought what you wanted and more power to ya.
I must say they did bend over backwards to help, well done.

Oh that rig pic thing it's a snap, you'll be kicking yourself when you find out how easy it is.
AnswerID: 95426

Popular Products (11)