Gibb River Road and Kimberly

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 30, 2005 at 10:31
ThreadID: 19903 Views:2731 Replies:12 FollowUps:8
This Thread has been Archived
Planning 7 to 10 days in the Kimberly, along the Gibb River Road. I have been looking at various web sites, including this one for info. As a photographer I am hoping to photograph the gorges and the like. I am trying to convince my 70 yr old and very fit and active father to come along. He would love to do a bit of fishing.

Anyone got any recommendations they would make ie must see, must do.

Cheers

David O
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Coops (Ex-Pilbara) - Sunday, Jan 30, 2005 at 13:03

Sunday, Jan 30, 2005 at 13:03
David
You should be aiming for about a month along Gibb River Road.
If you're stuck with just 7 days then check these places out at the very least
Bell Gorge (the absolute best gorge on GRR), Lennard Gorge (no good for Dad though as it's mountain goat territory), El Questro & Emma Gorge (skip EQ & buy a postcard if pushed for time), Old Mornington Bush Camp & Drysdale River Station. With more time available don't miss Mitchell Plateau & Honeymoon Bay in Kalumburu for the fishing (these will add at least 4 days to your trip).

Hope this helps and send me a member message for further info.
Give me a while as I'm between houses at present and all gear is in storage.
AnswerID: 95627

Follow Up By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Sunday, Jan 30, 2005 at 14:15

Sunday, Jan 30, 2005 at 14:15
I'll second what Coops said . Did that all again last June. Need at least 2 weeks min to do it and that means from Durby to Wyndem , not including travel to and from.
FollowupID: 354413

Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Sunday, Jan 30, 2005 at 15:03

Sunday, Jan 30, 2005 at 15:03
Coops,