safari intercooler

Submitted: Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 14:10
ThreadID: 19955 Views:4423 Replies:7 FollowUps:0
I am looking to install an intercooler to my 2000 gu td42t. Has any body fitted one to their patrol? I have 3" pipe (dump included) and I am wondering what sort of power increases I can expect. The safari spiel advertises 18% power 16% torque increase, if they follow the form of most manufacturers this would be the absolute max one would expect to gain. From the web photos the heat exchanger looks quite small, too small to drop air temps substantially perhaps? At $1600 for kit retail, for such a small looking heat exchanger seems bloody steep to me. The advantage for me living in Alice Springs where we pay through the nose for everything is that the whole show comes as a kit that I expect to be able to pay for myself, thus negating the need to use our local overcharging hacks to fabricate anything. There is a good mechanic for tuning/servicing just not making intercoolers.
Would appreciate feedback from anyone who has used a safari intercooler, or knows of any bolt on alternatives.
Thanks Chris.

Reply By: warthog - Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 14:17

Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 14:17
Hmmm, yep I,m pretty confident no-one else is going to buy it for me. Should read "I expect to be able to fit myself". At $1600 I expect to be able to pay for it myself only after saving up for 6 months.
AnswerID: 95841

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 20:25

Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 20:25
From my experience with a turbo diesel and fitting aftermarket intercooler, it wasn't worth the cash.
AnswerID: 95905

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 20:52

Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 20:52
Stuff it, I just wrote a long reply and when I hit the submit button the whole thing crashed.....!!!!!
Anyway, I'm nut gunna type it all again....

Suffice to say, I suggest you consider either a Denco intercooler (see their web-site link on here as they are a sponsor/advertiser). This is a liquid cooled unit.

Alternatively, you might be able to get a custom made one from PWR (see www.pwr.com.au). I have one of their radiators in my 2000 GU 4.2 TD. I think their intercoolers would need a hole cut into the bonnet and a scoop mounted; not sure.
AnswerID: 95918

Reply By: warthog - Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 23:27

Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 23:27
Thanks fellas
AnswerID: 95952

Reply By: Member - John - Tuesday, Feb 01, 2005 at 07:18

Tuesday, Feb 01, 2005 at 07:18
warthog, I have 2000 GU Ute, fited with 3" exhaust and dump pipe and MTQ turbo mod, have gone from 72 kw to 120 kw and can't remember nM increase. Have a mate that has similar mods to his ute, he has fitted a prototype intercooler to his and have done some tests, not finalised yet. I will be fitting this to my ute shortly and testing, comparing costs to benefits. He has seen a 10% improvement in fuel consumption and lower EGT. Do you have a EGT gauge? Will post the results here when known. Hope this has helped a little.

AnswerID: 95966

Reply By: Well 55 - Tuesday, Feb 01, 2005 at 07:19

Tuesday, Feb 01, 2005 at 07:19
I have a Safari Intercooler on my GU and I think they worth the money. It pulls a lot smother and spools up quicker than without. As for % increase, would not be to sure on how much but it does run heaps better.
AnswerID: 95967

Reply By: warthog - Tuesday, Feb 01, 2005 at 10:29

Tuesday, Feb 01, 2005 at 10:29
Thankyou, safari is starting to sound ok
AnswerID: 95998