towing with 2000 manual jackaroo se turbo diesel

Submitted: Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 17:45
ThreadID: 19966 Views:1947 Replies:7 FollowUps:1
A recent conversation with someone brought out a bit of information he heard which I have not and that is that with the diesel Jack when towing a camper or caravan you should not do so in 5th gear as the gear box could be compromised.
I have not heard of this so could anyone out there give some further info or debunk the above. If this is correct it would limit your speed to 85 or so k/hr.

Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 17:53

Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 17:53
5th gear is a weak link in most vehicles and yes things probably would last longer in 4th but seeing as most of us live in the real world probably best to change back to 4th sooner rather than later when using the tourque of the vehicle eg hills and overtaking otherwise cruise in 5th
AnswerID: 95881

Follow Up By: Rick Blaine - Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 18:04

Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 18:04
Hmmmmmmmm Davoe you are right...My Dealer told me the 5th gear thing was a furphy...
FollowupID: 354677

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 18:10

Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 18:10
as 5th is on a lay shaft it can be used with light loads no worries , but heavy loads use 4th, anyway how fast do you want top pull a couple of ton. Applies for all vehicles with conventional boxes.
AnswerID: 95883

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 19:51

Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 19:51
Yeah, just run 5th on the flats, change back to 4th BEFORE you start going up the big hills, don't wait for it to struggle. Then you'll have no probs!

AnswerID: 95899

Reply By: Wetty (W.A) - Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 20:31

Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 20:31
G'day Grant
I bought a 96 Jack, and the bloke who owned it before me had horses and he towed everyhting in 5th. As a consequence, I had to replace the bearings in the box and transfer case and it wasn't cheap. It cost me a week off the road and $2800, so I would recomend you only use 5th on very flat roads and NEVER on any incline at all.
AnswerID: 95908

Reply By: Member - Craig M (NSW) - Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 22:32

Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 22:32
Isn't there a set top speed you are allowed to tow a caravan at?
AnswerID: 95942

Reply By: Member - Banjo (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 01, 2005 at 09:07

Tuesday, Feb 01, 2005 at 09:07
My 99 version of the vehicle you describe is still ok after 5 years - towing camper trailers on bush trips, using 5th where applicable - as others have said, we simply need to "feel" the load as we drive and use 5th only to maintain a cruise situation - no real work.
AnswerID: 95977

Reply By: Rigor - Tuesday, Feb 01, 2005 at 10:24

Tuesday, Feb 01, 2005 at 10:24
Hi Grant I agree with Banjo, I have a 99 TD Jack and as with most 5 speed manuals you have to "feel' the motor and torque . As a rule of thumb I never change upto 5th gear until I reach 80 Ks and back down the same . As for the "feel" if you are an astute person you will notice a small harmonic in the motor under light load at about 1800 RPM or 75Ks in 5th , this harmonic can be the cause of wear in the transmission generally.And before all the anti Jack people say I told you so you will find all motors have this somwhere in their rev range , particularly diesels. In summary don't load it up in 5th.

Cheers Dave L
AnswerID: 95994