6.5l diesel or 1HZ.... gotta decide now!

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 18:20
ThreadID: 20047 Views:10835 Replies:13 FollowUps:11
Yes..... I've been dreaming of the time I'd take the old SUPATRUPA over to Brunswick Diesels in Perth or up to Qld and say "Chuck a V8 diesel in the old girl... I'll be back in a week or two to pick her up".... It was always a cost factor.... no change from $18, 000... phew!

But now I've got now choice. The 2H donk is dead. ... passed away a couple of weeks ago. It's sitting at Traralgon 4WD waiting my decision as to what to do. They'll fit the V8.... but then, the upgrading of everything else, cost and engineering needed.. compliance costs. phew!

The other thought [2H is not really and option.... the old girl DOES need more grunt]. .. is that a brand new 1HZ could be fitted and manage to fit under the compliance nazis' radar. The turbo could be carried over with some adaption.

Your thoughts please..... I will decide by next week how to spend the bank's money.

Will the 1HZ lift the performance sufficiently to cruise with the traffic and lug around a tonne of stuff in the back?

Cheers Royce

Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 18:34

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 18:34
1hz wont fit straight in check out how much fitting will cost. 12 ht will but there would be extras to pay for and thse are a dear donk anyway. 1hz arnt the most powerfull of motor and you will still get blown away at the traffic lights (turbo would be dfferent story) 2h and 1hz motors dont take kindly to turboing coz they were never desighned for it (some may disagree but there is a good reason toyota made changes to these engines to take a turbo)
AnswerID: 96295

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 18:53

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 18:53
Well it really would be a SUPATRUPA if you whacked a big V in. I reckon you should go the V8! :-) Only cos I living my dreams through you now. LOL
AnswerID: 96299

Reply By: Jim-Bob - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 20:24

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 20:24
G'day Royce
Yes it's a big decision, 6.5l or 6.5l TD.
I've seen a few of these beasts in my travells and you should see the smiles on owners faces.
There's no substitute for cubic inches.
Safe travels
Jim-Bob
AnswerID: 96310

Reply By: Member - Andrew(WA) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 20:42

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 20:42
Go the 'V TD' !!!
AnswerID: 96315

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 20:50

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 20:50
Royce, can I just ask why you would need to ship it to West Aussie or Queensland? Bearing in mind you are East of Melbourne aren't there places in Melbourne that could do it for you? Truckster usually knows a bit about the sources but you could look around http://www.outerlimits4x4.com/ for all sorts of performance and repower information. One good place is just off the South Gippsland Highway - Eagle Spares for a look anyway, for motors. Number 92....
AnswerID: 96316

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Feb 04, 2005 at 08:23

Friday, Feb 04, 2005 at 08:23
I guess the compliancing nightmare worries me... and the 'out-there' reputation of these 'expert' fitters leads me to go for the advertized specialists.
FollowupID: 355279

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 21:11

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 21:11
Royce,

For romance(not the love 'n kisses one, the other one), go the V8. Only got to hear one with a big exhaust.....

But in an economic vein, try the 1HZ. They are 25% more powerful than 2H, so you will notice a difference. Then there's always the hairdryer.....and intercooler.

Like Davoe said, you'll get blasted at the lights, but they can hold 100 easily, in open road conditions. Then there's the spare parts.

But then, if the bank's paying, go the whole hog, and get V8.

Tough decision,
Hooroo...

AnswerID: 96325

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Feb 04, 2005 at 08:25

Friday, Feb 04, 2005 at 08:25
Yeah... but I gotta pay the bank back eventually [with interest]. Leaning towards the HZ with turbo. Thanks for the romance!
FollowupID: 355280

Reply By: ianmc - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 22:19

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 22:19
Wouldnt a modern V8 petrol & taller diffs do the job at a third of the price??
Then have up to $12,000 to spend on fuel & other stuff! $18000 into an older chassis & reports of some problem areas with mediocre yankee engineering!
Unless U are doing massive kms?
Transmissions would take a beating with all that torque too & likely failures.
AnswerID: 96344

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Feb 04, 2005 at 08:21

Friday, Feb 04, 2005 at 08:21
Around 50,000k per annum. transmission beating is THE worry. Leaning towards toyota into toyota.
FollowupID: 355278

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 23:27

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 23:27
7.3 Power Stroke Ford V8 out of a F250/350 would eat either..
there is a good thread on this on outerlimits in the NIssan section

There is talk of a Cummins donk.. Now this sounds good, theres a RAM video clip I have here of one pulling 11 second 1/4 mile Drag runs!!

Here it is.
What about a 5.9L Cummins inline 6 common rail diesel (Cummins 6bt)from a current model Dodge Ram? They pump out about 235kW and 800Nm of torque from almost no revs at all.. Eagle spares in Dandenong was also the company that thought that they could get a new Dodge Ram Cummins engine
AnswerID: 96364

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 23:53

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 23:53
Theres also a low klm 6.2 forsale on outerlimits in the forsale section.
FollowupID: 355114

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Feb 04, 2005 at 08:33

Friday, Feb 04, 2005 at 08:33
Now you've got me salivating.... but not really making decisions easier. All I'm after is comfortable cruising. I coudn't give a ----- about burning rubber from the lights or even overtaking, just reasonable open road and getting up slopes.... not even too worried about changing down all the gears for steep climbs. Still I'll follow your leads and let the dreams continue!!! :-]
FollowupID: 355283

Reply By: Tuff60 - Thursday, Feb 03, 2005 at 00:31

Thursday, Feb 03, 2005 at 00:31
I always advise people on conversions, use a motor/box combo that was comercially brought to Aus, ie, the 1HZ, 12HT or (i know their not diesel) a holden or ford V8. Anywhere you travel, getting domestic delivered parts, will be far quicker and heaps cheaper than odd ball hummer or dodge parts, that said the GM V8 diesels are sensational to drive but all too uncommon when it comes to parts.
Just my opinion. Be sure to let us know which way you go.
AnswerID: 96380

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Feb 04, 2005 at 08:27

Friday, Feb 04, 2005 at 08:27
You're making good sense. I'm planning a couple of outback trips.... parts.... the 1HZ is looking better [with the hairdryer].
FollowupID: 355281

Reply By: Well 55 - Thursday, Feb 03, 2005 at 07:26

Thursday, Feb 03, 2005 at 07:26
A 1hz with factory turbo out of an 80 series, will fit without all that much trouble, the exhaust is on the other side, and maybe get the gearbox that goes with it as well as wireing.

That way it stays all toyota so serviceing is never a drama.

AnswerID: 96388

Reply By: Member - Geoff M (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2005 at 13:50

Thursday, Feb 03, 2005 at 13:50
Hello Royce,
There's an article in the February 2005 edition of 4WD Monthly about Mark of Mark's 4WD Adaptors in Melbourne putting a Chev V8 diesel into his own 80 series.
Might be worth contacting him as he's in your area.
He also had a neat looking air actuated overdrive on his 80 Series. It too was made by his company.

Geoff.

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

AnswerID: 96449

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, Feb 03, 2005 at 17:14

Thursday, Feb 03, 2005 at 17:14
They both run the h55f box, but the input shaft on the 2h is different to the 1hz...i think they are a little longer too, so a spacer is needed with the new 1hz bell....and probably a custom clutch....the 1hz pressure plate and a 2h or 12ht clutch plate....ive heard of 1hdft's in 60's running the auto aswell. Plenty to do and change on any conversion...with a 12ht, its all bolt in, so id do that first. If not, the 1hz is good...there is one on ebay at the moment...look in the toyota parts section....maybe even a gearbox too...some import place up qld....
Will hunt around for you....if you decide to get the 1hdft it is in newcastle, and is from a rolled 94 cruiser...
FollowupID: 355197

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Feb 04, 2005 at 08:30

Friday, Feb 04, 2005 at 08:30
Hi Geoff, thanks for the advise. Sorry to sound dumb.. but what exactly is the 1hdft.... how is it different to others, and what does it sit in normally? Thanks Royce
FollowupID: 355282

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, Feb 03, 2005 at 16:36

Thursday, Feb 03, 2005 at 16:36
Where a 1hz will fit, a 1hdft will also...same block...one on outerlimits for 4500 dollars, he has the 94 gearbox too. If you wanted either of these, let me know and i will put you in contact with him.
What to do...i would pay to get it back to your place on a flat bed...and look for a wrecked 12ht in a 60 series look first at www.pickles.com.au...u should be able to get a 60 for 2-3k smashed, or rusted out
If you go the 1hz or hdt, you need a 90 plus bell from a 75 or a complete box, and your away.
AnswerID: 96472

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2005 at 16:54

Thursday, Feb 03, 2005 at 16:54
hey dozer, is the gearbox on the hj 75 the same as the gearbox on the hzj75 ? I think not but am unsure. certainly the 80s have different g box and t/c. My camper actually is a hzj with all the hj running gear so stuff will fit but I dunno how much you can mix and match. saw a 12ht on ebay for 7,500 and it had 350k on it - thats just ridiculous surely. As you said a wreck wouldbe the way to go as you would then get the xtra parts needed (12ht and 2h while simular have quite a few differences especially with electricals and fuel injection)
FollowupID: 355191

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Feb 04, 2005 at 08:35

Friday, Feb 04, 2005 at 08:35
Thanks for your input .... I'm interested in your replies to Davoe too.
FollowupID: 355284

Reply By: AlanA - Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 16:34

Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 16:34
Hi Guys
If have a 100Series Landcruiser with a HZ engine and fitted a sprintex supercharger for about $6,000. The extra power was great, about 40% extra according to a dyno test and the extra power was right across the rpm range.

Unfortunately the injectors were set too rich and I was pulling a trailer load of Chritmas trees and managed to blow a hole through the top on one of the pistons, the other pistons are cracked along with the precombustion chambers. Have only done 148,000kms, everything else appears to be in excellent condition.

I chose to put in a V8 Diesel kit from Brunswick Diesels. The engine looks great and on first start up sounds beaut. Still have to put in a new exhaust system. The kit was not complete and did not include any instructions which made the job very difficult and frustrating. If you go this way I suggest you get a complete list of what you can transfer across from the HZ, what extras you need to purchase/aquire and most important a full set of instructions.

By the way I now have a sprintex supercharger for sale, would like $3,000. I will add the HZ engine for nothing if anybody is interested.

AnswerID: 98144

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 23:14

Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 23:14
throw your blower on outerlimits, it will go real fast
FollowupID: 356712