Little Kid Bikes

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 10, 2005 at 19:42
ThreadID: 20315 Views:1747 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
Can anyone provide feedback on mini bikes? Slightly off the 4x4 normal discussions
but in the same ball park, Were interested buying a couple of small bikes for our kids with the intent of mounting onto our camper trailer draw bar (obviously watching the ball weight ), I've seen the normal run of the mill Pee Wee's etc but I don't know too much about these chinese lookalikes ,4stroke/2stroke, reliabilty, parts and weight etc
any info will be welcome
Shep.

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Feb 10, 2005 at 20:11

Thursday, Feb 10, 2005 at 20:11
Gday Shep,from what Ive had to do with them(work on them every day)stick with the Jap bikes,PW's,QR's etc.The cheap imported chinese/Tawain can handle a little abuse but if your kids like to ride/play rough they'll cost you a fortune in spare parts.
AnswerID: 97717

Reply By: MAVERICK(WA) - Thursday, Feb 10, 2005 at 20:29

Thursday, Feb 10, 2005 at 20:29
Just what every camping place needs - kids on mini-bikes. No doubt the intentions are good but.................

rgds
Slow down and relax......

AnswerID: 97722

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Feb 10, 2005 at 22:55

Thursday, Feb 10, 2005 at 22:55
but what?
FollowupID: 356323

Follow Up By: Shep - Friday, Feb 11, 2005 at 13:53

Friday, Feb 11, 2005 at 13:53
I respect a peaceful camp , though is more so for the backyard, private properties etc, the advantages the kids get to get about the real world and beats having there eyes lock on a gameboy etc.

Thanks for the info below Trucker.
Shep
FollowupID: 356393

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 10, 2005 at 20:30

Thursday, Feb 10, 2005 at 20:30
Hi Shep, have a mate who thought the savings were too good to pass up. Currently embroiled in a dispute over a warranty claim for the 4th bent crank.
AnswerID: 97723

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Feb 10, 2005 at 22:55

Thursday, Feb 10, 2005 at 22:55
I can tell you the cheap chinese ones are just that. Crap. Neighbour bought one for his son for xmas, its already fubar.

I bought cameron a used QR50 honda - fully auto gearbox, restricted accellerator with a screw etc..
Got it for xmas, spares available anywhere.

PW's usually have rooted front wheel bearings from ZERO maintance, but always hold their value.

4 strokes are quieter, but not by much, Cams QR is VERY quiet.. Intentionally.
2 strokes require more maintance.

Stick with either the
PW
QR
JR (suzuki)
KDX (kawasaki)
AnswerID: 97762

Reply By: rihearn - Friday, Feb 11, 2005 at 10:35

Friday, Feb 11, 2005 at 10:35
Kid down the road has one. Horrible whining thing that he rides at 8am on weekends. What is wrong with a pushbike.
AnswerID: 97827

Follow Up By: Shep - Friday, Feb 11, 2005 at 14:14

Friday, Feb 11, 2005 at 14:14
The reality is My daugter has been ill and the make a wish foundation is going to grant her a wish , my issue is that I also have a son (and to be fair as the poor little fella has spent the last 4 mth following us around hopstals) and I believe he has also earnt a bike (although out of dads pocket this time )
Intensions is not to blow you away with a sob story, but more so to end any further neg feedback, I'm looking forward to hear My daugther whining for a long time to come.
Shep
FollowupID: 356395

Follow Up By: rihearn - Friday, Feb 11, 2005 at 16:32

Friday, Feb 11, 2005 at 16:32
Didn't mean to cause offence. Everything has a time and place and I admit in a child whose capacity to get about has been limited by illness this will give her a bit more fun and something to smile about. Also very important to treat all little ones equally!!
FollowupID: 356406

Reply By: flappa - Friday, Feb 11, 2005 at 10:50

Friday, Feb 11, 2005 at 10:50
I wouldn't touch a cheapo minibike at all.

I would stick to the well known brands , even the 2nd hand ones.

Known machines , with parts easily available.
AnswerID: 97828