Aftermarket Turbo for Landcruiser Diesel

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 24, 2002 at 00:00
ThreadID: 2040 Views:29802 Replies:5 FollowUps:5
I've heard many conflicting stories on the effects of putting an aftermarket turbo on a landcruiser diesel 1HZ. I have a 75 series ute with the 4.2 diesel and have bought a turbo off a 100 series at the wreckers. Contemplating whether on not to go ahead with the installation. Has anyone out there had any problems, do the pro's outweigh the con's?

Reply By: Derek - Tuesday, Sep 24, 2002 at 00:00

Tuesday, Sep 24, 2002 at 00:00
Joe. I suggest you do a search of this forum regarding your question as it is a frequently asked one. I deal with 2 seperate engine rebuilders and they both claim that the 1HZ is the worst engine Toyota has ever made for turbo charging including their own 1HZ-T. Despite this there are plenty of happy owners out there. I chose extractors and couldn't be happier. Good luck.
AnswerID: 6881

Reply By: Goran - Tuesday, Sep 24, 2002 at 00:00

Tuesday, Sep 24, 2002 at 00:00
1HZ motor is not designed to handle turbo charger. Bottom end bearings have trouble handling the load from turbo. If you decide to have one fitted at least you can do is to make sure the bust pressure is no more than 8 to 10kpa. If you want to keep this tray back for a long time dont do it. There are other ways of improving the diesel power.
AnswerID: 6887

Follow Up By: Hoffy - Wednesday, Sep 25, 2002 at 00:00

Wednesday, Sep 25, 2002 at 00:00
I have a 92 Series 80 1HZ that lacks a little power especially when towing. I would be interested in knowing the various ways, with pros and cons to incresae the power without fitting a turbo. A Toyota technical rep advised me against fitting a turbo. He said the engine would not last it's design life
FollowupID: 3105

Follow Up By: Goran - Wednesday, Sep 25, 2002 at 00:00

Hoffy, start with injectors and the pump, valve clearencess, good after market air filter ( finer filter or K&N) ,snorkel , extractors and 2 1/2 in exaust.
FollowupID: 3126

Follow Up By: Hoffy - Thursday, Sep 26, 2002 at 00:00

Thursday, Sep 26, 2002 at 00:00
Goran, Thanks for the advice
FollowupID: 3140

Follow Up By: Colin - Monday, Sep 30, 2002 at 00:00

Monday, Sep 30, 2002 at 00:00
Look at fitting a super charger, Col.
FollowupID: 3196

Reply By: Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Wednesday, Sep 25, 2002 at 00:00

When I bought my 90 model GXL 80 Series 2 years ago the motor was in good shape at 239k but wouldn't pull a sailor off your sister. It put out 60hp at the wheels on the dyno. We adusted the tappets and the injectors and fitted a DTS Turbo and set it up on the Dyno for just under 100hp at the wheels. The difference in driving is unbelievable a gear higher everwhere than before. 60k hard klms later it is better than ever,fuel consumption is basically the same as it was or slightly better. In the 30 years I have played with cars this is the most cost effective, durable performnce icrease I have ever experienced. Cheers Rob
AnswerID: 6896

Reply By: Bat - Wednesday, Sep 25, 2002 at 00:00

Go ahead and do it we turboed two 75 series ,you will be thrilled with the get and go,I often wonder wether people with who can not a afford it are the first people to knock it.John
AnswerID: 6924

Follow Up By: Goran - Wednesday, Sep 25, 2002 at 00:00

Dear John. I am sure the people that can afford new toyota's can afford the turbo as well. No one here is arguing benefits of turbo charging. All we are saying here is that 1HZ is not designed to have a turbo. Hence the arrival of HD-T IN 80 series. This motor is designed to handle turbo and that is why it's bottom end is strenghtened . By turbocharging 1HZ you will get heaps of power, but it will most definetly die lot sooner than naturaly aspirated one. I don't know about you but i like my 80 series too much to kill it in 3 to 4 years. It is not only the money that one has to have ,but some brains as well. :-)
FollowupID: 3125

Reply By: John H - Thursday, Sep 26, 2002 at 00:00

Thursday, Sep 26, 2002 at 00:00
Joe, I have a turbo on my 1HZ troopy and I couldn't be happier. I think the main thing which is missed in all these comments is that if you drive the thing sensibly and don't flog the guts out of it then it will last. Regular oil changes and low boost (about 9 is good). Plan to rip off the sump and do your main bearings etc after 70K or so. Don't plant you foot all the time to reduce over fuelling which will increase wear. At the end of the day you will have increased maintenance but the benefits will greatly outway the expence which won't be great. You will never own a non turboed diesel again.
AnswerID: 6954