air compressor

Submitted: Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 09:48
ThreadID: 20553 Views:2198 Replies:8 FollowUps:10
Hi guys,my super cheap air compressor has gone whiz bang.Ive got $300 to spent on a new one .What can I get for that kind of money .Thanks for the advice,
regards uppy
...the school bus,still gets us there

Reply By: MrBitchi - Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 09:55

Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 09:55
Stretch a little and go for the Bushranger Max Air, about $390 and well worth it.
Cheers, John.
AnswerID: 98939

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 10:00

Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 10:00
thanks John ,will keep an eye out on e-bay
regards uppy

FollowupID: 357339

Reply By: Ruffstuff - Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 10:12

Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 10:12
Hi Uppy,
get in touch with member Eric.
he used to have an ad in the trader for the max airs under $300.
they are the real deal and he provides excellent service.
i bought a couple off him last year.
AnswerID: 98941

Follow Up By: rolande- Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 16:25

Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 16:25
Uppy,
Save the hassle, just buy one from Eric
Rolande
FollowupID: 357378

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 14:36

Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 14:36
thanks rolande for your reply

FollowupID: 357434

Reply By: Rod W - Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 10:20

Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 10:20
Have you looked/considered at fittng a ex-airconditioner compressor. Not only will you have lots of change from $300 you'll also have lots of air.
AnswerID: 98943

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 14:38

Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 14:38
thanks ,regards uppy

FollowupID: 357435

Reply By: Utemad - Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 11:28

Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 11:28
I've seen the ARB tool box compressor (without the pressure switch model) for $275. I got the one with the pressure switch for just over $300. This was a sale though not the RRP.
AnswerID: 98952

Reply By: Indy - Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 11:39

Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 11:39
Hi Uppy,
I was just about ready to buy a compressor from Super Cheap. It is their most powerful 12 volt one selling for $179 which is supposed to handle tubeless tyres. Is this the one that blew up on you? Has anyone else had any bad experiences with these?
Indy
AnswerID: 98953

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 11:58

Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 11:58
Dont waste your money on cheap crap.

Spend a few more bucks and get something worth while
FollowupID: 357354

Follow Up By: SteveL - Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 13:38

Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 13:38
The $179 Supercheap one is the same as one they sell at Big W for $89
FollowupID: 357367

Follow Up By: Indy - Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 14:24

Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 14:24
I take Truckster's comments on board but having used a Kmart $19 one for 10 years or more and it's still going strong ( I have used it to pump up tractor tyres although it takes ages) I find it hard to justify spending as SteveL has indicated and extra $300! over the BigW one. If I was a pro tour guide leader or something it would be easier to justify. There must be people our there happily using the BigW ones. It's hard enough earning a doller as it is and they all have a warrenty anyway. I would flog it to death at home during the warrenty period to test it before going on a big trip.
Indy
FollowupID: 357370

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 12:03

Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 12:03
Uppy, go and see Wayne at Opposite lock in Midland, he sold me my Bluetounge IV for $349. You've seen that bugger in action up in Lancilen so you know it works well... Come round for a few bears and we can mount it under your bonnet as well, I've still got the mount bracket (normally $49) in my shed as I didn't need it on my install, so you can have that for nix if you want!
AnswerID: 98956

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 14:35

Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 14:35
thanks Jeff, Ill save a bit longer and get the same as you.We are moving next Saturday, come and have a beer with me
regards uppy

FollowupID: 357433

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 18:18

Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 18:18
No worries mate, you guys must be as excited as about the new place, can't wait to see it myself!
FollowupID: 357445

Reply By: The Rambler - Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 13:01

Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 13:01
I agree with Geoff. the Blue tounge compressor has been tried and tested.I have had one for years and done a fair bit of work with no problems.It is also fan cooled so can run continuously with no overheating.
AnswerID: 98967

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 13:41

Friday, Feb 18, 2005 at 13:41
Absolutally, there is nothing like fan cooled continous duty cycle when your pumping your tyres up on a 40c day at the beach! ;-)
FollowupID: 357368

Reply By: Uppy - Member - Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 14:45

Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 14:45
Thanks everyone for your advice.Im going to wait and save a bit and get a Blue tongue,which Jeff is going to fit in the engine bay on the GQ
REGARDS UPPY

AnswerID: 99076