Oils arn't Oils

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 20, 2005 at 17:22
ThreadID: 20610 Views:2781 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
This Thread has been Archived
I recently had a 25K oil change done by my mechanic on our 03' GU 3.0 T/D (not Nissan) and had the most amaizing experience. He users a local Brisbane company called Prolube for all his oil supplies as he has been very happy with the results to date. He suggested that I use Maxifleet 15W40 as it was the top of the range and could make a difference to the running of the vehicle. I agreed after checking that it conformed to the warranty guidelines and off he went.

Well, I drove out of the driveway and about 10klms down the road before I became aware that the GU was running a lot smoother. The motor was reving out easier and the normal power lag in 1st gear was not as prominent. I am no mechanic but I have a real feel for noting any differences in the running of the car, and it certainly improved.

It's been two weeks since I had the service and the GU is running the best it ever has so being the inquisitive type I rang and spoke to the Prolube rep to find out why this change had made such a difference. He told me that this particular 15/50 oil was specially deveoped for diesels like mine and I should even see a greater improvement by 30K's.

I have been meaning to write this up on the web since it occured but thought I may get shouted down as oils can't make that amount of difference. I'm hear to tell you that in my humble opinion it has and I will continue to use this product.

Cheers,

Patrick

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Sunday, Feb 20, 2005 at 17:36

Sunday, Feb 20, 2005 at 17:36
goodday patrick
do you thjink you are getting better kpl(milage)
steve
AnswerID: 99172

Follow Up By: Patrick - Sunday, Feb 20, 2005 at 17:53

Sunday, Feb 20, 2005 at 17:53
Hi Steve,