Watagans & carnage on the F3

Submitted: Monday, Feb 21, 2005 at 11:17
ThreadID: 20634 Views:3163 Replies:9 FollowUps:9
A great weekend until we were coming home, but more on that later.

Saturday pack the trailer go to Micks place (treebruiser) and wait for Ness to finish work then off to the Watagans arrived about 4.00pm setup, and settle in a have a couple of beers.
The clouds started to roll in so we put up the tarp over the pinic table light the fire and have diner then down it came a few more beers then bed.
It rained all night nearly but we woke up to cloudy skys but no rain so we had breakfast and waited for Peter to arrive, which is another story which Pete will tell.
So we head off exploring, we went down a few tracks nothing to challenging but OK, one section of a track there was a narrow creek crossing with a sharp turn and not much room to manouver with deep hole on the inside that you droped into making the turn, i punched the sand wall (no damage) had to reverse back into the hole to get around but made it, Pete got around OK then Mick made it but broke his arial on the wall apart from that no other damage, there was too much pruning of the brush and trees but oh well something that can't be avoided on some tracks, then the last track we found was a bit of a challenge steep, rutted and rocks with sharp turns deep holes and gullys, Pete almost cleaned me and Mick up when he came flying out of the gully at a 100 mph :o :P he didn't want to get stuck he said, he saw Mick get stuck on the first attempt (not enough momentum)so Pete give it to her :D :unsure: ;) we had some fun albeit a very large amount of bush clearing. (honest Mick we did)
On the GPS and the maps it was a track that had creek crossing and joined other tracks further on (30yrs ago maybe) but not now, we decided to push on to see where it came out knowing that if it didn't we could always go back, it would have been a challenge but it was doable might have been a bit of winching and snatching but all part of the fun.
Anyway on we went to the end of the track and a locked gate :rolleyes: :angry:
There was a house on the hill above us so we talked about should we turn around and go back or take another track to a fallen tree that we had been on earlier in the day or go up to the house and ask for the key for the gate, all we could think about was the reception that we would get, thankfully the woman was friendly and gave us the key and off we went back to camp.
We had ended up at Dairy Arms on the road to Wollembi a quick look at the maps and the GPS and we went back via Watagans Creek Rd had lunch (at 5.00pm) packed up, just in time as it started raining again as we finished.
The F3 one road i hate with a passion and with good reason too it brings out the lunatic fringe from cowboy truckies (not all) to lunatic 4WDrivers and dad mum and the kids coming home from a weekend away AND this bloke :angry: :angry: :angry: in his commerdore wagon coming from a full day at the dogs,bleepand tired :angry: :angry: and with it being wet and still raining just an accident waiting to happen and it did, :o involving us, Mick and a young bloke in his 2 week old commerdore ute all 3 of which were towing a trailer, the carnage that happened before my eyes was just plain scarey, he was entering the F3 when he lost control shot across in front of me bounced off the guard rail was hit by the ute spun in front of me again then back in front of the ute again (who was sideways by this time beside me) hit the ute again then spun back behind me and into Micks camper before coming to rest in the breakdown lane along with everyone else, out of this not a scratch to us, Micks camper is stuffed and the young blokes ute who took the brunt of the crash was F*#@ED :o luckly no one was injured a bit shaken but OK, so that was our day/weekend away an eventfull end to a great weekend it could of been so much worse thankfully all is good.
On a brighter note all cars preformed well no failures no injuries a good drive in the Watagans.

Pix will be soon.

Reply By: Well 55 - Monday, Feb 21, 2005 at 12:17

Monday, Feb 21, 2005 at 12:17
Yep a bit of rain and peoples minds go into nuetral.

Sad about Micks camper, well he did want to up-grade, lucky for you both that's all that was damaged.

So Baz the Disco went allright, now you must be ready for another trip to the High Country.
AnswerID: 99306

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Feb 21, 2005 at 13:47

Monday, Feb 21, 2005 at 13:47
Hey Tony yep not only neutral but he was drunk as well, knowone hurt is a blessing and amazing. Mick is in touch with the insurers as we speak and fingers crossed a new camper to replace his, he really liked that camper it served him well.
The Disco went well nothing was a problem for it and yes can't wait to go back into the high country.

FollowupID: 357635

Reply By: Member - Howard- Monday, Feb 21, 2005 at 12:33

Monday, Feb 21, 2005 at 12:33
Baz,
glad to see that you escaped the carnage.
Know too well how an accident on the way home puts a damper on what would have otherwise been a good weekend.
Hope Fatz gets his camper replaced ,I assume he had it insured .

Good to see the new vehicle is working well.

hope to catch up with you again soon

Howard
Resigned to Retirement

AnswerID: 99307

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Feb 21, 2005 at 13:56

Monday, Feb 21, 2005 at 13:56
Hey Howard thanks mate yes good that knowone was injured and the car is excellent, Mick is consulting with the insurers so hopefully a good outcome.

Hows your son and his new car after the incident, OK, i hope things turned out for the good.

See ya soon Baz.
FollowupID: 357637

Reply By: V8Diesel - Monday, Feb 21, 2005 at 13:39

Monday, Feb 21, 2005 at 13:39
Don't want to sound like my Mum, but as long as you're all OK, truthfully that's the main thing. Any landing you can walk away from is a good one.
AnswerID: 99314

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Feb 21, 2005 at 13:58

Monday, Feb 21, 2005 at 13:58
A very wise woman your mum like all mums, yes good to walk away unharmed.
FollowupID: 357638

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Feb 21, 2005 at 14:12

Monday, Feb 21, 2005 at 14:12
G'day Baz,

yep, the Death3, I try to avoid it if poss and stick to the back roads. Sometimes it is just not worth the risk. I may arrive home later but I am certainly calmer at having been able to enjoy the scenery and the drive. Mostly just bikes to deal with.

cheers.
AnswerID: 99319

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 08:57

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 08:57
Yep i think the Putty will be our way of going to the Watagans in the future.
FollowupID: 357757

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Feb 21, 2005 at 15:49

Monday, Feb 21, 2005 at 15:49
Glad you folks are ok then after all the drama mate. Was a pretty vivid description above and I guess it has been playing back through minds like it could have been a lot worse. Take car there Baz, Kerry and Venessa and catch up next week.

I wan to see you guys in one piece each and no bent Landie either. I talked to the previous owners last week and wouldn't like to tell them it had any dramas.
AnswerID: 99329

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 08:55

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 08:55
The Landie preformed brilliantly i was so impressed with it's handling with the trailer behind, i thought any second now it's gunna jack knife and it will be over but it stayed right behind the car, luck played a big part of it.

FollowupID: 357756

Reply By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Monday, Feb 21, 2005 at 16:21

Monday, Feb 21, 2005 at 16:21
Youre one lucky B@#$%$D,Baz to come out of that one unscathed.

I am glad no one was hurt badly.

Did you let fly at that fool for his stupid driving. You mentioned he was drunk as well. Had that been me and my family they would have had to restrain me as I would have beating him into a bloody mess.

I can understand people making a error in their judgement but if he had been drinking I would have been so angry I would have done something I would NOT have regretted later.

Sparkie(IE not Y) ;-)
AnswerID: 99335

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 08:50

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 08:50
Mate this guy was really out of it would of been a waste of time saying or doing anything to him.
FollowupID: 357755

Reply By: Brad and His Disco - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 00:13

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 00:13
Glad to see that everyone is ok. Seems like you had funin the watagans. I was thinking bout tou when it started raining so heavly.

Why is it these drunks never meet one of these cowboy truck drivers. Use the truck as a brake instead of someones pride and joy (ie, camper trailer).
AnswerID: 99419

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 09:00

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 09:00
Thanks Brad the rain was no prob keeps the dust down.
FollowupID: 357758

Reply By: fatz - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 07:59

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 07:59
It was one big wake up experience for me , thats for sure. In 20 years of driving I dont think anything has opened my eyes up that much. At the end of the day we all walked away and that all that mattered. Getting there with the insurance company, it's just hard to explain to the girl on the phone that I cant take the trailer to anyone to get quotes because it's munted, and no one is interested in coming to look at the trailer because the all want to sell me a new one! I wrote them a honker of an e-mail last night and have received two replys already so all is looking good. Thanks to Baz and Pete for all their help, it was a good day apart from the on road bit!!
AnswerID: 99445

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 09:01

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 09:01
The Putty looks the go in future hey.
FollowupID: 357759

Reply By: fatz - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 09:03

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 09:03
Up via wisemans ferry!! Might just buy a barge and go up the river.
AnswerID: 99455

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 09:14

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 09:14
Gotta be safer than the F3!!!
FollowupID: 357760