7 seater 4wd choice
Submitted: Monday, Feb 21, 2005 at 21:07
Suba Mac
I am thinking of purchasing a 7 seater fourby for under 40k second hand.
I would like something low Kays and relatively
young (2-3 years max)
From what I can see based on values of vehicles my options are:
Pajero NP/NM
Jackaroo / Monterey
Ford Explorer UT/UX
I do not really want a Patrol and Prado / Cruiser are too expensive
I know there are a few Koreans out there but I have owned a Korean car and am not at all happy with it and would not consider the
Sorrento (Too small) or Terracan (plus "the boss" doesn't like it). Can I have some feed back from anyone. And why can I not find any
feedback about the new Explorer (i.e 2002 on)
Reply By: Brian - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 00:01
Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 00:01
Mate, I know you say "the Boss" doesn't like the Terracan but there must be a reason. Have you taken one for a
test drive? Yes, I am biased as I own one and it is only 16 months old and I am that happy with it I am trading it in on the new Diesel version.
Mine has 33,000kms on it and you can have it for $28,000.
Now the Terracan knockers will come out of the woodwork but they will realise in a few yeasr what great value they are.
Anyway I've had my say on the Terracan and I hope you find what you want as I always say it is whatever you want that suits you but I can certainly reccommend the "Terracan". As I said a very biased owner. I can't see why anyone would pay thousands of dollars more for a "Real 4WD' that would do the same job.
Follow Up By: Suba Mac - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 08:18
Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 08:18
Let me put it bluntly. I don't mind the Terracan diesel but by wife has been burnt by poor quality Hyundai and will not consider them again. Maybe a drive might change that (with the trek and tow pack)
Reply By: Member - Mozza (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 07:56
Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 07:56
guy from work just bought a 02' Prado for $36k. and I had been looking on the internet for him.. and there a lots of them
well under the $40k mark.. re-think your options for Prado/Cruiser.
also questions need to be answered like..
number of kids? are you doing any travelling? if so, where to? petrol or diesel?
think of your needs first .... then find a car (it may not necceassrily be a 4wd!!!) that best suits.
Follow Up By: Suba Mac - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 08:16
Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 08:16
Thanks for the info, let me add a bit more;
I do have children and the family will be expanding over time and we do want to go 4wding. Petrol or Diesel , I would be happy with either. If the Prado is an option that would be good. I have been through the needs exercise but am now looking for a fourby.
Reply By: Outbacktourer - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 08:36
Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 08:36
Suba Mac,the Jackaroo/Monterey has been the best value second hand buy in the market for a while. Anything with Nissan or Toyota on the front will attract a premium because of their greater popularity. There was a thread a while back on this topic, do an archive seach.
Reply By: flappa - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 09:14
Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 09:14
How big are your Kids ?
Are the 7 seats going to be needed all the time ?
The seats in the Pajero are really just for occassional use. they aren't big enough for bigger kids (say , over 10 ) for too long).
The Jackeroo's are better in that regard.
The newer
Explorers are SUBSTANTIALLY better then the old ones. Heaps of Room , plenty of go , but , crappy fuel economy , and fairly ordinary offroad performance. You want to tow something large though , these would be pretty good.
The Prado's have probably got one of the better seating arrangements , and will fit larger kids in the back quite comfortably. Also the advantage of being an 8 Seater.
The Cruiser also has a good seating arrangement (with 8) , but you pay top dollar for them.
We bought a Ti Patrol, because of the Dual Air Con , and the ability of the middle set of seats to slide , to give rear passengers a little more room.
You may not end up with one, but , I would certainly give the Diesel Terracan due consideration.
Follow Up By: Suba Mac - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 20:49
Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 20:49
Thanks for an informative response.
The seats past 5 are only for occaisional use (kids are under 5) but they will get the use with the school drop offs / pick ups etc.
I think that the explorer would be good room wise but I will hate myself for buying one every time I fill up at the pump. And the same really goes for the paj and prado
The Jackeroo would be good because you can pick up a good one with T/Diesel for under 40k and I will have to drag the wife to the Hyundai dealer in disgust and she may be surprised after a closer inspection. At the end of the day she will say that it is my decision but I need her to feel good about it too
Having looked at the forums the Patrol 3.0 TD may be an option too but still maybe just out of range. But as they say about the Patrol (a little rough but very tough)
Reply By: Rod W - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 10:17
Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 10:17
One word... Troopy
Reply By: ev700 - Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 00:44
Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 00:44
Suba Mac
We ruled out the Patrol because the second row of seats is 'as hard as' and the middle
seat (second row) has NO head restraint (!!). Turning circle does not suit shopping trolley and school pick-up duty (it is a truck after all).
Pajeros are good buying because they are common, prices are competitive and women can handle them. Petrol is better for frequent short trips.
Prado is nice but dearer.
Only other thing I can add is for you and spouse to chat with some owners of the most common 4X4s you see outside the school and kindy. I go for Cruisers but realistically any
well maintained petrol Prado, Pajero or Jackaroo would be the good for family of four and occasional friends. Remember that kids when aged 10+ are not small anymore and you need room for gear when travelling even for the day. If you're tall yourself the Jackaroo is more roomy.
When you do get a fourby take heed of the warnings that kids are hard to see from certain angles! I have seen many near misses at school drop off points.
EV700
Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 19:05
Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 19:05
Like Brian says the Terracan is a good unit.
Mine is 9 months old and I can't fault it (other than the OE
suspension).
You can get into a new one for under 40 and that's with a 5 year 130km warranty. Surely that warranty will allay the fears of "her indoors".
Why spend this kind of money on a second hand vehicle when you can get into a newie with a fat warranty for the same money?
Just my thoughts,