Crazie's $100 fridge slide

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 21:54
ThreadID: 20718 Views:18511 Replies:16 FollowUps:15
G'day All

After looking around at fridge slides, decided not to get ripped off. The best i found was $245 for my 40L waeco. So I decided to make my own. This is the break down of the $$$ I spent.
100kgs draw slides $60.00
Right angle steel 2 metres $16.00
4kg of checker plate $6.00
Screws and lock nuts $10.00
Paint - i already had
My time, not working, so have plenty ..lol

I haven't painted it yet but will in the morning. It is the strongest one i have seen, even if i do say so myself lol...

I have taken some pics and posted a few at the link below
Crazie's Fridge Slide

I am very happy with it. I will be working on my _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx tomorrow and should have them finished by Friday. If anyone wants any ideas, please let me know. After many drawings and idea, it was pretty simple and works. I have just a few little things to add. Fridge tie downs and locking pin

Crazie

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 22:01

Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 22:01
Adam.

I know where you used to work prior, but having a look at your work on the fridge slide, I am thinking that your talents have been wasted. You have done a good job, no.... an excellent job.

It is amazing where stuff like this leads to, if you want it to.

I hope you have many years of enjoyment with your new piece of apparatus.

Wolfie
AnswerID: 99799

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Feb 25, 2005 at 00:31

Friday, Feb 25, 2005 at 00:31
G'day mate

thanks for that, not bad for first go. Kirsten just read your message and said see, i have been telling you that for ages. lol.

Was going to ask you for a job, but its a little far to travel lol..
FollowupID: 358261

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 22:02

Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 22:02
Crazie
looks the goods - better than a bought one. How much are you going to sell them for?
AnswerID: 99801

Reply By: Glenn (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 22:03

Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 22:03
Fridge slide looks great Adam. Can't wait to see it live in the future.

Glenn
AnswerID: 99802

Reply By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 22:09

Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 22:09
Crazie,

Well done mate a good looking effort, I know how you feel I was looking at some of those rear door table fold down thingys at wandin on the weekend and couldn't believe what they were asking for some pretty basic set ups, surely a little bit of effort by ones self could have it coverd for less than half the price........................

I'll be raely dirty on meself when I eventually by one..:-)

Browny
AnswerID: 99805

Reply By: brett - Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 22:16

Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 22:16
Great stuff, looks excellent, what sort of slides are they and where did you get them.
AnswerID: 99806

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 22:24

Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 22:24
The slides are from Haefele, 100kgs load.

http://www.haefele.com/countryselector/countryselector_en.htm
FollowupID: 358088

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 22:18

Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 22:18
Wont the clamps get in the way?
AnswerID: 99808

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 22:23

Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 22:23
Not now that i have melted them when i was welding

Apparently the metal gets really really hot
FollowupID: 358087

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 22:36

Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 22:36
I'll have one too thanks....
FollowupID: 358092

Reply By: John - Qld - Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 22:19

Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 22:19
Hi Crazie,

Funny I was just about to ask has anybody bought some draw slides.

Could you advise what draw slides they were or where I can look for some.

I'm about to build some _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx and fridge slide.

AnswerID: 99810

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 22:22

Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 22:22
Hi John

got them from haeflle

http://www.haefele.com/countryselector/countryselector_en.htmcheck them out

FollowupID: 358086

Reply By: Kimberly Kruiser - Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 22:52

Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 22:52
Crazie

Top looking job.
There could be a real opening for these in the larger sizes, 60, 80, 100 litre fridges. I remember doing the rounds of all the auto shops in Darwin last year after I got my 80 litre waeco and drawing lots of blank stares from retailers.
"No thats too big for a traditional slide but I can sell you this set of _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx with a fridge sliding top for a squillion dollars."
Ended up doing my own thing but would have brought one if I could have found one.

Regards WAL
AnswerID: 99823

Reply By: brett - Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 23:24

Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 23:24
Crazie, you wouldn't have the cat number of the slides you used buy any chance?? There are alot on their website
AnswerID: 99831

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 23:40

Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 23:40
Hi Brett

These are the ones i used.
draw slide
FollowupID: 358103

Reply By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 06:11

Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 06:11
Hi Crazie
the link to yr pics of yr fridge slid dont seem to work
could you send me spme pics please
have a look in our 4wd chat room site fore my email address
And also could i have the exact part number of the draw slids please
thanks in advance
warren
AnswerID: 99856

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 10:12

Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 10:12
Hi Auusie

Sorry my email not working at the moment.
If you go to the,
http://www.hafele.com.au/isapi/online/tchff/tchff.asp
Then on the left go to
Drawer Runners, Drawer Guides and Swivel Extensions
then go to
Single extention, heavy duty drawer runner, page 816
Forte Drawer runner, single extention
Part no. 421.08.609

slide
let me know if that doesn't work and hopefully my email should be up and running
FollowupID: 358128

Reply By: Nudenut - Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 08:45

Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 08:45
Crazie .....dont you think you going overboard by painting it....geeez cobber, if you do it all now you'll have nothing to do later..

what are you doing about a lever and or latch to unlock and lock the slide in.

I copied mine from the bought ones hehehe...one handle on the back...slide it to the right and pull.....push the fridge back in and the spring loaded catch locks back in place....works a treat...

but i reckon mine wont be as pretty as yours
AnswerID: 99874

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 10:19

Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 10:19
Hey Nude

Haven't figured out the catch yet. So you don't need to send yours over now hahaha. I will do the catch today. Might visit a few shops and borrow their ideas lol

cheers mate

Crazie
FollowupID: 358129

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 11:48

Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 11:48
Sent you pics to hotmail
FollowupID: 358138

Reply By: Drew - Karratha - Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 11:00

Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 11:00
Hi Crazie
Any chance you could forward on any ideas for roller _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx?? I have been thinking about making some for a while after seeing the price of bought ones....
Drew
AnswerID: 99893

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 20:55

Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 20:55
Hi Drew
email me and i will help as much as possible. adam_craze at hotmail dot com

FollowupID: 358200

Reply By: Penguin (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 13:21

Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 13:21
Hi Crazie,

One thing you may want to think about when mounting the slide is putting a hinge at the rear to allow the fridge to tilt downwards. Makes it much easier when it's at the right level.

Normal Position
Tilted Position

AnswerID: 99920

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 13:31

Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 13:31
Hi Mike,

That is a brilliant idea, especially for us short people. What strength hinges did you use, as they would need to be fairly solid as the weight of a fullish fridge could cause difficulties?

Glenn
FollowupID: 358159

Follow Up By: Penguin (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 14:10

Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 14:10
Hi Glenn

I just used some 4 inch hinges from Bunnings. They can support a door so as long as they're well attached I should be OK.

It's worked well on the 3 camps I've had since fitting and the 70 litre Evakool ice box has had a lot of weight in it. We use it for drinks and the fridge in the camper for food.

FollowupID: 358161

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 20:53

Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 20:53
Hi Penguin

How are you mate, Yep was working on the tilting idea, thanks for the pics, Kir is a short one, so was making it for her. I am just working on the catch/latch at the moment, will tilt when the _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx are finished.

cheers mate
Crazie
FollowupID: 358199

Reply By: peter d - Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 21:06

Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 21:06
g,day crazie,
mate that slide is to good for just a bit of old paint you have laying around. take it down and have it powder coated, will make it look even more professional than it already looks, top job, if your _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx come out looking the same you will have some jealous people around. peter d
AnswerID: 99981

Reply By: Wisey (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 21:24

Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 21:24
Hi Crazie,

Brilliant! Thanks for parting with and sharing your knowledge. I'll part with my hard earned for a proper setup like that, whats your fridge slide catalogue #?
:)))))

Andy
AnswerID: 99983

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 23:02

Thursday, Feb 24, 2005 at 23:02
HI Andy

Thanks mate, seems there is a demand for them hahaha Well I should start up a weekend workshop hahaha we could all start learning and trading ideas...
FollowupID: 358234

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Friday, Feb 25, 2005 at 00:08

Friday, Feb 25, 2005 at 00:08
me no see the pretty pictures, all i get is little boxes where the piccies should be, is it my end or the host puter ??

I wanna see the machine...
AnswerID: 100037

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Feb 25, 2005 at 00:11

Friday, Feb 25, 2005 at 00:11
Hi Bradley
I just checked and it worked for me, try this http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/gallery/crazie
FollowupID: 358255