Radiator hoses

Submitted: Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 12:17
ThreadID: 20842 Views:1557 Replies:4 FollowUps:6
I've just been checking out the photos of Member Topcat (WA)'s grouse-looking troopie's 6.5 litre donk. The thing that hit me was the use of the coiled-up (reinforced???) radiator hose at the top and probably at the bottom as well (but that is not shown).

Does anybody have any stories about these type of hoses? I've got a nasty feeling that the bottom hose of the Patrol is getting sucked in when it is under heavy load. If so, I'm considering changing it over to one of these ones that has the coiled-up wire reinforcing in it.

Any ideas would be gladly rec'd.

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 12:29

Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 12:29
No worries - I have an idea.........why don't you strap yourself upside down to the bullbar..... and get pesty go flat stick and see if you can reach up from underneath while it is under full load and see if it gets sucked in..
AnswerID: 100476

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 12:36

Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 12:36
Now if Roachie was to do this we would need to look for a wired roach so that he wouldn't get sucked in again.

FollowupID: 358624

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 14:12

Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 14:12
Pesty get in a Nissan, NO WAY, LOL.
FollowupID: 358646

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 14:14

Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 14:14
G'day Jen,

Thanks for that brilliant idea; only a blonde could come up with that one......Andrew certainly would never have been able to think that laterally...hahahaha

Hey Beatit,
I reckon if I went ahead with that idea, I'd end up be a "cocked-roach". Main problem, however, would be that letting pesty have a drive of the trol would probably mean he'd never want to give it back to me. He doesn't like people to know the truth; but here's a scoop for you....He is a closet Patrol devotee, just too scared to admit it....

FollowupID: 358647

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 16:17

Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 16:17
G'day Roachie,

I see what you mean, had a look at his rig pictures AND even with my poor eyesight I can see your rig in the background! Maybe you should spend a little time pushing him back in the closet.

FollowupID: 358671

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 12:41

Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 12:41
Roachie.
Get a coil out of an XF Falcon hose, and fit into the GU hose.. Problem solved. quik eazy repair.
AnswerID: 100479

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 14:07

Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 14:07
Thanks mate, will check out the wreckers...

FollowupID: 358644

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 13:02

Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 13:02
yep, there just universal fit hoses, no probs with quality , just get the one with the correct diameter ends and length.

or as trucks says, find a shagged xf or grab some stainless wire and start bending..
AnswerID: 100483

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 14:16

Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 14:16
Thanks Bradley,

I'll have to sort it out by the time I'm due to do my next flush and re-fill.

FollowupID: 358650

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 20:44

Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 20:44
well roachie if i had the bonnet off and you strapped to the front, then i would lower myself to flog the trol, because the entertainment value would far outway the crap about closet support, LOL
I might have one of those springs mate
AnswerID: 100567