Submitted: Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 19:37
kimprado
Getting close to the time we head off again on the annual OutBack trip. Whilst I've spent some time exploring the Cooper and
Coongie Lake catchment areas around
Innamincka, fishing hasn't been a consideration.
I have a friend coming along this time who is a fishing nut! Can you advice me (1) is fishing allowed (2) are there any worthwhile fish to be caught?
Kim
Reply By: Member - Banjo (SA) - Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 20:14
Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 20:14
There are heaps of fish in the Cooper system - that said, they don't always want to bite - the locals know the game of course - yabbies are best but not found in that part of the river - shrimp may be on the go - would pay to take some worms and yabbies with you if possible (keep em cool under a qet bag - yabbies can last for quite a few days - you can get frozen prawns at the
Innamincka store but they are off when they pack them I reckon - they are horribly pongy ! The
Cullyamurra waterhole is long, deep and full of fish but biting may still be an issue. Downstream around the area called "Policemans" there are some huge waterholes too. You are more than likely to catch some tortoises - have some long nose pliers to extract hooks - if they swallow it, cut the line and pray for the blighters. Note that some species are fully protected (catfish and silver perch from memory) - check the regs afore ye go ! PS: If the fish are hungry (were on one of our trips) you can get a good feed using sausages or fresh water mussels - but I only saw them like that once !
Reply By: Pterosaur - Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 20:22
Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 20:22
my bet is, if there's fish & it's legal, you can catch them on a fly.
"If fishing is a sport, then I must be an athlete !"
Terry
Reply By: Member - sparra - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 10:48
Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 10:48
g'day kimprado,by any chance would your mate's name be brad from near
orange? have a good trip, cheers sparra.
Follow Up By: kimprado - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 13:17
Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 13:17
No, My mate is a feral dropkick from Belgrave (Vic) who thinks he's Gods gift to fishing (and that's only one of his bad traits).
Kim
Reply By: Earvin Johnson - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 11:32
Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 11:32
Kim,
Pretty sure fishing is not allowed at
Coongie Lakes.
Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 11:46
Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 11:46
No fishing licence is required in South Australia. However, fishing throughout the reserve is subject to the South Australian Fisheries Act 1982. The legal catch length for Yellowbelly is 33 centimetres with a bag limit of 5 per person per day. Up to 10 catfish per person per day may be taken. No more than 2 of these fish over 33 centimetres in length are permitted. There is no size limit on Barcoo Grunter with up to 5 fish per person per day able to be taken. Fishing is prohibited in the lakes of the Coongie Conservation Zone. Nets are prohibited in all waters of
Cooper Creek and the reserve.
www.environment.sa.gov.au/parks/innamincka/visit.html
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 16:30
Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 16:30
AS mentioned, fishing (and campfires) are not allowed on
Coongie Lakes. Kudrimitchie is as far as you can fish on the Coongie road (and the fishing is great there).
Reply By: KIM - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:49
Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:49
Thanks Guys,
Appreciate your posts re the fishing. I will past these comments onto my mate.
Kim
Follow Up By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 00:29
Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 00:29
KIM,
Banjo mentioned
Cullyamurra Waterhole and March is the prime time of the year to catch Yellowbelly.
I was there last October and only caught a couple of undersized ones.
Caught (and released) a few turtles too, until I put the fishing gear away.
Cullyamurra Waterhole is about 14K's out from
Innamincka and the road when we were there was a bit corrugated, but the serenity of the location is far superior IMHO to the Town Common and was worth the effort.
Have a good trip.