2001 Nissan Patrol engine light

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 10, 2005 at 11:48
ThreadID: 21117 Views:4874 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
I have a 2001 Nissan Patrol wagon, 65,00km on the clock. Recently after a 4wd excursion the engine warning light appeared and I immediatley lost power. I have had the car at the local Nissan Dealer for 5 days and they have carried out all the diagnostic tests (supposedly) regarding fuel, computer and electrics and come up with nothing.
Is there anyone out there who has had this problem and had it fixed by a competent organisation, if so can you assist me with this problem ??

Rod

Reply By: Leroy - Thursday, Mar 10, 2005 at 11:52

Thursday, Mar 10, 2005 at 11:52
Hmmm sounds like a possible air flow sensor problem!

Leroy
AnswerID: 101916

Follow Up By: Member - Michael- Thursday, Mar 10, 2005 at 17:11

Thursday, Mar 10, 2005 at 17:11
I remember reading a post a while ago, it may have been on another site, where it was stated that even if the airflow sensor is within the correct voltage parameters when checked it could still be faulty and the only way to check it is to swap it with one that is known to be OK.
May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

FollowupID: 359784

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Mar 10, 2005 at 12:16

Thursday, Mar 10, 2005 at 12:16
Did they change the fuel filter. I've heard people answer this by saying..."no, it was only changed 3000 klm ago, so it must be ok"....WRONG!!!

Even a new filter will be filled with crap very quickly if you've had a load of dodgy fuel.

I'm assuming it's a 3L t/d.

AnswerID: 101921

Reply By: Member - Scrubba (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 10, 2005 at 22:13

Thursday, Mar 10, 2005 at 22:13
Hey Rod,
It happened to mine. I drained the fuel filted and all was fine again.

Regards...
AnswerID: 102002

Reply By: Leroy - Friday, Mar 11, 2005 at 14:42

Friday, Mar 11, 2005 at 14:42
Just wondering if you've found the problem yet Rod? Pls let us all know.

Leroy
AnswerID: 102071

Follow Up By: Rod15 - Saturday, Mar 12, 2005 at 14:16

Saturday, Mar 12, 2005 at 14:16
Yeh G'day Leroy,
Thanks for the interest.
I have done what Michael has suggested, I swapped air flow sensor's with a mate who has the 2003 model 3ltr TD, we took it for a short drive and the engine light came as usual. However when we swapped back to the original air flow sensor I used a high pressure compressor to blow out the air filter ?? It wasn't that dirty but I thought I would eliminate that aspect as well.

Any way, The light has not came back on since Thursday arvo, I took it out yesterday and flogged the guts out of it and "touch wood" the light hasn't come back on.

I'm taking her out for a long run today so we'll see what happens

Regards Rod from Bunbury WA
FollowupID: 359954

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Mar 11, 2005 at 20:15

Friday, Mar 11, 2005 at 20:15
We had the same problem with our 03' GU 3.0L at work. Nissan had it for two weeks. The ended up putting a new EGR valve, New air sensor and it seemed to solve it, it only does it every now and then now and only if you flogg it.

It was dangerous the way it was, you'd put your right boot in to get into some traffic and the bloody light would come on and you'd end up going 20km/h in front of a road train!! ARRGH!
AnswerID: 102099

Follow Up By: Rod15 - Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 00:18

Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 00:18
Hi Jeff M (WA)

Thanks mate, more follow up since last contact. The light came on again.
Have had the Patrol to United Diesal Injections on Great Eastern Highway.

They have eliminated all the things we have discussed on this site. Next week they are going after the "Injector pump sensor" 6 hours labour to get to it, 2 hours to replace it, 6 hours to put it all back together.

Christ knows what that is going to cost !!!!

Rod 15 (WA)
FollowupID: 360401