Mallee Root(ed) at Murray Sunset

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 13, 2005 at 19:18
ThreadID: 21192 Views:2937 Replies:12 FollowUps:21
Saturday night there we 60 souls around the camp fire at Murray Sunset. 22 vehicles all up. 11 from Victoria, 7 from South Australia, 2 from NSW(Sydney) and 1 from ACT. Not quite sure how many were adults but there were hordes of ankle biters.

Many tasted a sample of my White Lightning garpr juice(70% proof) which I brought in from Africa recently. Eric just had to be smart and tip a very small bit on the fire....which erupted in a fireball :-) We also demolished a bottle of Glayva and many Cruisers and bottles of red. There were numerous seedy looking characters this morning.

There were tales of drivers(with all the latest technology, I might add), getting seriously lost looking for the shearers quarters in MS. It was revealed that a party left Melbourne at 7 in the morning only to arrive at the camp site at 1am in the dead of night!!!!

Through the night preople were staggering around barefoot or in thongs. This morning I caught 2 scorpions, one which had invaded a tent. But they were only littlies and didn't look poisonous...hahahahaha

Unfortunately I had to leave again today. Everyone went out for another drive and no doubt there will be more tales of woe(engine troubles) and go(wheelspin in the sand) and frivolities as the party wears on.

A good time amongst friends

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Mar 13, 2005 at 19:29

Sunday, Mar 13, 2005 at 19:29
Tell me mate...does that White Lightning garpr juice double as fuel for the car?
AnswerID: 102257

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Mar 13, 2005 at 19:41

Sunday, Mar 13, 2005 at 19:41
I reckon that if you ran out of petrol it may just do the trick!!!!
FollowupID: 360031

Follow Up By: Diamond (Vic) - Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 14:15

Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 14:15
me thinks you could run a nitro fuel car on that stuff.
very very potent.
FollowupID: 360115

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Mar 13, 2005 at 20:12

Sunday, Mar 13, 2005 at 20:12
Willie,

Sounds like a great time and I'm sorry I missed it, but I had no option unfortunately.

What was the weather like? It's been very warm in Melbourne and Mildura is usually a bit hotter.

AnswerID: 102264

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Sunday, Mar 13, 2005 at 20:57

Sunday, Mar 13, 2005 at 20:57
Hi Jim,

In a word - HOT!

39 degrees Saturday. a bit cooler today bit still mid 30's.

A great spot for a camp. See you on the next one.

Muddy
FollowupID: 360037

Reply By: DINGO - Sunday, Mar 13, 2005 at 20:19

Sunday, Mar 13, 2005 at 20:19
its a great place out in the sunset, i used to spend many weekends out there when younger but that was when it was just crown land and its main use was a army training area.i will still take up your offer to email you when i have a moment Willem, if you are still in the area send a reply and we might catch up? i am about 20km from mildura
AnswerID: 102266

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 07:25

Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 07:25
No worries mate....I am only 420km to the West of you.
FollowupID: 360066

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Sunday, Mar 13, 2005 at 20:21

Sunday, Mar 13, 2005 at 20:21
"Many tasted a sample of my White Lightning garpr juice(70% proof) which I brought in from Africa recently"

Willie....... I reckon there are a few here who would like to know more about this wonderful nectar.

Can we buy it here, through an importer?

Is it a Weapon of Mass Destruction?

Do I have to change the jet in my MSR Whisperlite to use it?

Did the scorpions not bite because it permeates through the drinkees skin & toes?

Glad it all went good.

Wolfie
AnswerID: 102268

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 06:53

Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 06:53
Just goes to show you, Wolfie, that the stuff still affected my spelling when posting 18 hours later...hahahahaha " garpr juice " should read grape juice.

White Lightning comes from the skins of the white grape variety. After the grapes are crushed, the skins are separated from the other bits of grape and then left to ferment in a vat over a period of time. White Litghtning (WIT BLITS in Afrikaans) is the result of that fermentation process.

If swallowing a very small amount, in one gulp, it has the effect of taking your breath away momentarily. If you should drink a good amount of it, it wont slur your speech or things as such, but there is a chance of you losing your co-ordination. It doesn't leave you with a hangover either. Trouble is I had some Glayva in between gulps of Lightning and was definitely the worse for wear at daybreak hahahahaha. Have recovered now after a good nights sleep!!

I reckon your theory about the scorpions is spot on.
FollowupID: 360060

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 20:58

Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 20:58
Willie, I think perhaps you should market it under your Garpr Juice label now the readership has a grasp of your concept.

Wolfie, I didn't hear Willie snore the other side of the camp. It may be a hearing supressant too.

Telstra internet not working in Victoria tonight apparently but my old provider has some dollars in it still fortunately.
FollowupID: 360150

Reply By: Member - iMusty(VIC) - Sunday, Mar 13, 2005 at 20:22

Sunday, Mar 13, 2005 at 20:22
Dido Jim

Would've been good. Next time. There is always next time.

iMusty.
AnswerID: 102269

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 13, 2005 at 21:27

Sunday, Mar 13, 2005 at 21:27
Hi Bro,

Great to see you got home safely. Enjoyed the juices of the bottles but didn't get poisened this trip. You could ask a Sydneysider though if he has in the last week or so.

I have a few messages to catch up on here, but in Horsham tonight in a refuge from the 39 degrees I seem to have a message jam of emails at 36kbs download - real slowwww. There were actually 25 vehicles Bro including 3 from Sydney - Baz and family, Peter and Mick(Fatz) and Eibhilin. (Spelling??) Paul from the ACT in the convoy.

There were four following the lead of Baz across Western NSW as we moved from the tennis in Sydney last weekend. We had to nickname the Landie 'Sootie' though from the black smoke issuing after the chip ugrade. Goes like a Nissan now

Had a good drive down the Border track and unbelievebly caught up with the Lexics, Muddy, Jiana, Patrolman Pat, Evan and families on the way down. It had not all been sanitised as Truckster had suggested, with the gear in the back all shook up........ That was from after we had caught up!

It was a fun time if you overlooked the heat and the need to quench it with juices flushing toxins.

Looking forward to catching up again with friends soon.
AnswerID: 102280

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 06:59

Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 06:59
Hi Bro

Good to hear you made it to a cool spot. I had to drop the speed down to 100 on the blacktop as the temp started to rise above the halfway mark in the GQ. The aircon was falt out.

Well, looks like my accounting was affected as well. hahahaha

Take care.
FollowupID: 360062

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 08:18

Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 08:18
Willie, it took us several goes to get all the accounting. Did the numbers with Mr Lexic and you know he is always going to be right some time.

The Gu ute seems to cope well with the heat, the fan was on 1 fan speed and not recirculate. We fell into a hole on the BT though and thought the stubbies in the frige were coming into the cabin. I reckon the heat was down to the low 30s as we got closer to Horsham, so my Jaycar thermometer said.

Take care there in the sister town, you too. Hope Jude wins all the prizes and sells plenty of pics.
FollowupID: 360073

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Sunday, Mar 13, 2005 at 21:30

Sunday, Mar 13, 2005 at 21:30
White Lightning is lethal but not as lethal as the Glayva which apparently dissolves glass. I'm sure Lyn will have more details on that when she returns from MS.
It was very hot so a drive with the AC on full blast was the order of the weekend, Great to see so many forumites together, great company around the fire at night. Driving in bulldust all day and listening to bullsh*t all night, you can't beat it.
AnswerID: 102283

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 07:11

Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 07:11
Ahhh yes Pat. I figure that it was a mix of the Lightning and the Glayva in the same glass that did the damage.

The disappointing aspect of this 'accident' was that Mrs Al wouldn't let me suck the spilled juice out of her pants, especially with Mr Al sitting alongside her......hahahahaha

I am very thankful that I had the foresight of giving most to the Lightning and Glava away, otherwise who knows what might have transpired?

Still have about 200ml of White Lightning left in the bottle so that friends, who are dropping in to Peterborough on the way past, may sample a taste if they wish :o)

Last year it was PPJuice and that went down well. Which reminds me that I must goes and see if the pears are ripe to make another batch of that juice. 'Tis a good life!

FollowupID: 360063

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 08:24

Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 08:24
Willie, while on the PP juice is there anythink you could do with paddy melons as Irish Mick wanted to take some home for his tea? I reckon it may take a lot of sugar and flavour.
FollowupID: 360074

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 18:03

Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 18:03
Nothing eats Paddy Melons. Next to the Strychnine Berry it is the bitterest fruit on earth...positively vile! Best used for playing Night Bowls in the desert or target practice. Trust the Irish to think of something like that lol
FollowupID: 360133

Reply By: Dean (SA) - Sunday, Mar 13, 2005 at 21:50

Sunday, Mar 13, 2005 at 21:50
That was a great weekend and good to put faces to names, the whole family had a ball.
Dean
AnswerID: 102290

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 07:22

Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 07:22
Yep, It was good to put faces to names as there were few there whom I had not met in person before. This was my third MEET and I am hoping to get to the National Get-together at Birdsville in July.
FollowupID: 360065

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 08:37

Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 08:37
Dean was very nice having neighbours like you folks - very quiet there. The Pesty ones the other side wanted to party all night.

I do remember the ones arriving after 1 am that took 5 hours to navigate from Pink Lakes arriving with doof doof and a compressor to blow up a mattress. Obviously the music threw out the GPS calculations. He did get sworn at by one lady I heard though. Glad he was the bearer of bright lights though for the front of my Nissan.
FollowupID: 360076

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 21:23

Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 21:23
Doof doof = Me

Compressor = Mr Nick lol
FollowupID: 360153

Reply By: duncs - Sunday, Mar 13, 2005 at 22:22

Sunday, Mar 13, 2005 at 22:22
Most of the time I love my shift work. Then there are weekends like this. While you guys were out playing in the park I was stuck at work.

Sounds like some serious fun was had.

Maybe next time.

Jealous again
AnswerID: 102295

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 07:14

Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 07:14
Maybe we can have a get-together somewhere near Broken Hill, Duncs. So even if you are working you could slip out for a quiet Smoko with us :O).

Are you coming up for the National Get-together at Birdsville in July?
FollowupID: 360064

Reply By: Member Eric - Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 21:21

Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 21:21
Glad everyone had a ball , Just to set a couple of records straight . I left home at 1 pm and had to detour past dailsford to drop off SWMBO lol . I did learn that you can open gates if the road is on a map lol ( after driving around for 2 hours )

Member Nick was the compressor culprit , but yes i am to blame for the arrival doof doof music lol

Willem , I dont think you got very drunk, I just got worried when you were looking for a wet one off Mrs Toonfish lol and you were looking for scorpions down Toonies Jocks hahahahahah

Things were learnt . Yes you can open gates on marked tracks

Willem shouldnt drink white lightning

Greg should buy a map of the area he is traveling to
Thanks to Pat who found him lost in the desert lol

Dont get IFS pajeros airborn lol

The picks will tell all . 2 busted ball joints , I destroid brake line . Was great to see the EO crew get there heads together to get Greg Back home

Big Thank you , to alll that came

to Lyn & Glenn for there great work

to the Jiana family for hosting the best Bush Birday I have ever seen

to Truckster (bruce ) for the glow sticks that kept the kids amussed for hrs

Full report and picks coming
AnswerID: 102424

Follow Up By: Nick R - Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 21:56

Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 21:56
Eric,
I hear you have trouble keeping your duck upright at gunnamatta???
nine times this year???
I feel good about only going over once!!!
You have a beach to wash up on don't you?
The rocks at port campbell worry me a little.....
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 360158

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 22:12

Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 22:12
Hmmmm.... you got me worried there Eric. Don't remember the wet ones or the scorpions down Toonies trousers.

Have you found out what the tick-tock was under the bonnet of the Tuff80 yet?
FollowupID: 360165

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 22:38

Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 22:38
Yes Nick Beach is back this year lol . A roll over at Gunn is a normal occurrence lol .

Willem I am sure you will be reminded of lots of things lol . Maby even that you wanted to walk over the hot coals and I had to stop you

Tick tock is still there mate , my guess is a lifted stuck down , I still havent had a close look , but she got me home ok .

FollowupID: 360169

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 21:36

Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 21:36
LOL.. just bought some more glow sticks for Easter camp with the club!

cheap and keeps em entertained.. also easier to find at night...
FollowupID: 360491

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 14:28

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 14:28
I was amazed (shattered) how much the tracks in the area were FREEWAYS - 110klm all the way... 3 lanes wide, and smoother than the tar roads we drove up on... :( Didnt need to lock hubs all weekend...

the dunny budgies sucked, the bullants the size of a Zook sucked, the heat sucked, the dust sucked, but the beer was cold...

but cammo had a blast with the other kids... until he got a blow out.. LOL...

Good to see old faces again, next time up around Frys Flat on the river I reckon
AnswerID: 102655

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 21:16

Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 21:16
My son wants a bike like cammo's coz he can ride that one without training wheels, LOL
FollowupID: 360486

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 21:34

Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 21:34
LOL.. Well its too small for cammo!
FollowupID: 360489

Reply By: Redback - Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 21:10

Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 21:10
Hey everyone i'd like to thank Lyn for orginising a great weekend really good to meet new people thanks Willem for the white lightning very tastie indeed sorry to hear about all the vehicle problems hope all are OK

AnswerID: 102833