Easter BBQ ?

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 08:47
ThreadID: 21232 Views:2185 Replies:2 FollowUps:44
Not going away at Easter?. Anyone in Melbourne interested in hooking up on Sunday for a friendly BBQ?

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 19:56

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 19:56
Hmmm, Where?
AnswerID: 102563

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty(VIC) - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 14:39

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 14:39
Dunno Mad dog.

Anywhere's fine with me and my Mrs.

We dont wanna drive 100 Ks but were not scared of the road either.

We are in Caulfield. Where are you?
FollowupID: 360338

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 22:40

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 22:40
I'm around Geelong but Easter I'll be hanging around Wombat Forest for a night or two, come wheelin' with ya bbq if you like.
FollowupID: 360383

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty(VIC) - Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 08:11

Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 08:11
Yeah OK.

Don't know exactly Wombat Forest. Travel mate has it past Bairnesdale?
That can't be right!

By bbq do you mean the freebie weber?

Looking firward to it.

Phone No. on Member profile page

iMusty.

FollowupID: 360407

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 08:57

Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 08:57
Hmm, just goes to show that travelmate isn't such a mate, fancy sending you off in the wrong direction. Have a look on your maps around the Gisborne area for wombat forest, what you need to find is firth park. I can email a digital map if you can't find it. Yes the weber.
FollowupID: 360411

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 11:28

Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 11:28
A Digital map would be the LAZY way to do it.

OK! email it through...

email address on profile.

iMusty
FollowupID: 360434

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 13:35

Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 13:35
Having probs finding a large scale map that shows sufficient detail, isn't that the way, thousands on maps on the lappy and can't find the one I want. I'll put something together, have you got a gps ? Basically take Carrols Lane about 10 minutes out of Gisborne on the Bacchus Marsh road, pick up Firth Road for 15 or 20 min and turn right along a short rd (not sign posted last time I was there) into the park...All good dirt roads...have you got a GPS ?
FollowupID: 360449

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 20:55

Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 20:55
No gps but we'll find it, no problems.

You've given good instructions.

We might even drive Sat night?

Dunno yet.

iMusty
FollowupID: 360483

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 21:34

Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 21:34
I'll try and join you - if that's OK with you guys?

Do you have a GPS co-ordinate Mad Dog? I have Firth Lake on my mapping software and I know the area (a bit :).

Easter Sunday - what time?

FollowupID: 360490

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 21:42

Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 21:42
OK with me Mike.

Be nice to meet you...

iMusty
FollowupID: 360493

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 22:12

Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 22:12
All Welcome Mike. I'll be there overnight from Sat if I'm not working otherwise I'll be in the area from 9.30ish Sun
I'll post a couple of positions tomorrow from home....at work now
FollowupID: 360494

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Mar 18, 2005 at 12:17

Friday, Mar 18, 2005 at 12:17
Firth Park is 55 270640 5853328 WGS84

The turnoff into the park from Firth Rd is 55 270830 5853718 WGS84

FollowupID: 360535

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Friday, Mar 18, 2005 at 22:32

Friday, Mar 18, 2005 at 22:32
How far along firth rd do you make the turnoff?

And in which direction?

Looking forward to it.

Are we all still on?

iMusty.

Ps We are going Sat night. My Mrs. is looking forward to it.
FollowupID: 360618

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Mar 18, 2005 at 22:36

Friday, Mar 18, 2005 at 22:36
I'll put together some better directions for you. At this stage it looks like I'll be camping over Sat night as well.
FollowupID: 360620

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Sunday, Mar 20, 2005 at 17:18

Sunday, Mar 20, 2005 at 17:18
Still waiting on those directions Mad Dog.
FollowupID: 360764

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Mar 20, 2005 at 17:26

Sunday, Mar 20, 2005 at 17:26
Yep I haven't forgotten, I'm working on them right now in between work, 50th anniversary celebrations at the school and keeping the kids under control :)
FollowupID: 360765

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Mar 20, 2005 at 17:46

Sunday, Mar 20, 2005 at 17:46
I entered the coordinates into my mapping software OK Ray - the spot is about 200m north of Firth Lake? There appears to be some kind of loop track around there too. Do you guys have any radio comms? Is this State Forest or an organised campground or what? Are you both planning to camp there on the Sat/Sun night? Anyone else coming? Anyone know any good jokes? :)

FollowupID: 360771

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Mar 20, 2005 at 18:25

Sunday, Mar 20, 2005 at 18:25
Yep that's the spot Mike. The loop track is a nice dirt rd around a large sloping grassy area. It part of the wombat forest so bring ya motor bike, generator, loud music and wild women:) At this stage I'll be sleeping over Sat night. I'll have the UHF on ch24, also scanning Mt Macedon 70 cm & 2m and 439.000 simplex....you are a ham I think...3j**...yes
FollowupID: 360777

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Mar 20, 2005 at 19:31

Sunday, Mar 20, 2005 at 19:31
I'll try and do Sat night Ray but there is a new woman in the offing and, to be perfectly honest, if it's a choice between a night in the forest and... well you get the idea :)

Otherwise all sounds good - I know where you'll be and I'll put a call out for you on Macedon 2m VK3J-mad-dog :) - We'll exchange e-mails later in the week.

Is this a popular camping area? Are there likely to be other people there? In the Wombat I guess that's a yes?

I'll pack the Wild Woman, gen, ghetto blaster, bike, shotgun and mad dog (well, actually, she's a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel - but you should see her when she's roused!!! :).

Anyone else game?

FollowupID: 360781

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Mar 20, 2005 at 19:42

Sunday, Mar 20, 2005 at 19:42
lol...I'm a T call Mike...the J was in reference to your call...maybe I'm wrong
FollowupID: 360783

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Mar 20, 2005 at 21:02

Sunday, Mar 20, 2005 at 21:02
Limited too - stuff Morse - that died a long time ago. Whyever would anyone do that now? (Not that they need to any more). And we're moving on even more I'm pleased to say.

PS. Look like there won't be many of us :)
FollowupID: 360793

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Mar 20, 2005 at 22:18

Sunday, Mar 20, 2005 at 22:18
oh well the ACA database fails me. Don't try looking up Mad Dog coz it aint there :)

Been a limited for 26yrs athough it doesn't seem that long and still haven't played with all the fun available on the higher freqs. Activity these days is limited to mobile operations. I got excited, brought a HF rig, threw on a tapped whip, worked 5x9 into Europe and hardly touched it since. Oh well it may come in handy for an emergency one day...lol
FollowupID: 360815

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Monday, Mar 21, 2005 at 08:38

Monday, Mar 21, 2005 at 08:38
Oh, very good Mike.

Any one know any good jokes. :-)

Maybee the lynchen mob wil b theire 2 now.

Thanks.

If they swing me. You can have my bus. Lol.

iMusty.

FollowupID: 360841

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Monday, Mar 21, 2005 at 19:47

Monday, Mar 21, 2005 at 19:47
Oh by the way...

Heidi, my Mrs. is not aware I have spent $50 on membership.

It's better kept that way, OK?

iMusty.

FollowupID: 360907

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Monday, Mar 21, 2005 at 20:05

Monday, Mar 21, 2005 at 20:05
yep, ok
FollowupID: 360910

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Mar 21, 2005 at 20:42

Monday, Mar 21, 2005 at 20:42
>Heidi, my Mrs. is not aware I have spent $50 on membership.
>It's better kept that way, OK?

Cross my palm with $49.95 and I'm sure we can accommodate you :)

Sounds like shower tents will be in order then :( (Trouble is - I don't own one! - perhaps she could look the other way?).

Looks like I'll be there guys - the new female will take a week or two more :) That's women for you!

So none of you other misserable bugg*ers are going to be there then? Goodness "Les enfants terrible" of Ex Oz scare them all off :)

FollowupID: 360914

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 22, 2005 at 08:46

Tuesday, Mar 22, 2005 at 08:46
Nudity is in order as she is a grown-up.

Shower tents suck, anyway.

I don't use one unless there is huge pressure to do so.

I just won't drive 100s of K's to miss the great outdoors.

We will be leaving around Noon on Saturday as I am babysitting Fri night.

iMusty.

FollowupID: 360943

Reply By: Wombat - Tuesday, Mar 22, 2005 at 11:30

Tuesday, Mar 22, 2005 at 11:30
G'day iMusty, Ray & Mike,

We'll be in the area on Sunday so with a bit of luck we might be able to hook up for a feed of dead animal, a bit of a drive and some bad taste jokes!
AnswerID: 103417

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 22, 2005 at 12:40

Tuesday, Mar 22, 2005 at 12:40
Sounds Great!

The minute I mention My woman is Ok with nudity, every one pipes up, WE'LL BE THERE TOO!!!

lOl

She's not a nudist.

I was just saying that It's OK not to have a shower thingy.

Just keep that membership cost quiet.

See ya's there.

iMusty.

FollowupID: 360964

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Tuesday, Mar 22, 2005 at 12:54

Tuesday, Mar 22, 2005 at 12:54
Ok Wombie, see ya there. ch24

FollowupID: 360967

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Mar 22, 2005 at 18:46

Tuesday, Mar 22, 2005 at 18:46
>Just keep that membership cost quiet.

No problem :)

btw guys, as Ray no doubt knows, this spot is at 700m altitude so expect it may well be a bit on the cool side during the evening/night. I'll take a guess on a 5C minimum - what do you reckon Ray?

Actually I have a book by Allan and Barbara Pease (they've written a few psychology books etc) called "Politically Incorrect Jokes" - perhaps I should bring that along to read around the fire :)

Now... where's that banjo and funny hat...?

FollowupID: 360992

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Tuesday, Mar 22, 2005 at 19:35

Tuesday, Mar 22, 2005 at 19:35
Yes I expect so Mike so come prepared with appropriate gear, nothing worse than being cold when trying to sleep. The book sounds like a scream.
FollowupID: 360998

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 22, 2005 at 19:46

Tuesday, Mar 22, 2005 at 19:46
Just on the campfire subject.

We have heaps of firewood on hand, so we'll bring it with us.

Plenty for a good fire.

As for Allan Pease, the body language expert. That bloke owed Hundreds of Thousands to the ATO. At the meeting to discuss the debt, he noticed their body language was favorable so he floated the idea of paying his Tax Debt with courses on body language to the ATO. They bought it and he paid bugger all Tax.

I like the man.

If he ever owes you money, talk to him on the telephone.

iMusty.

FollowupID: 361000

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Tuesday, Mar 22, 2005 at 22:11

Tuesday, Mar 22, 2005 at 22:11
Firewood is good!
FollowupID: 361027

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Mar 22, 2005 at 22:28

Tuesday, Mar 22, 2005 at 22:28
>Firewood is good!

I have a chainsaw! :)

Check your Yahoo mailbox Ray.

FollowupID: 361028

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Tuesday, Mar 22, 2005 at 22:35

Tuesday, Mar 22, 2005 at 22:35
Chainsaw is good too.
Tomorrow Mike. I'll be shafted if I access it from work :)
FollowupID: 361030

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Wednesday, Mar 23, 2005 at 08:23

Wednesday, Mar 23, 2005 at 08:23
Sounds like it will be cold.

We'd better bring another blanket & doonah.

Are there power points there for the heater, tele and Xbox?
FollowupID: 361060

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Mar 23, 2005 at 09:41

Wednesday, Mar 23, 2005 at 09:41
Of course! And I'll bring you a cup of warm milk and tuck you in at bedtime.

Actually I'm going to revise that 5C down to 4C.

Found a babysitter for my dog so it'll just be me now - she sulks when I take her bush anyway.

FollowupID: 361067

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Wednesday, Mar 23, 2005 at 10:43

Wednesday, Mar 23, 2005 at 10:43
4C ?

4 Cents? Are you bidding on the bus?

iMusty.
FollowupID: 361078

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Mar 23, 2005 at 17:58

Wednesday, Mar 23, 2005 at 17:58
Gotta be worth more than that with the firewood :)
FollowupID: 361126

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Mar 24, 2005 at 11:51

Thursday, Mar 24, 2005 at 11:51
See you Sunday guys!
FollowupID: 361229

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 24, 2005 at 13:08

Thursday, Mar 24, 2005 at 13:08
Yeah.

We're really looking forward to it.

C ya there.
FollowupID: 361243

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Mar 24, 2005 at 14:30

Thursday, Mar 24, 2005 at 14:30
Ok cya there Wombie
FollowupID: 361258

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 19:10

Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 19:10
Thanks guys, nice to meet you all.
FollowupID: 361460

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 19:19

Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 19:19
You too Ray :)

Sorry to have missed you Wombat.

iMusty... I don't know what we'll do with you :) But you have a lovely lady who I'm sure will sort you out :)

FollowupID: 361462

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 07:47

Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 07:47
Thanks guys. ... And girls.

Was good to put faces to names.

Heidi was real pleased you were all nice people.

You made us feel comfortable. I appreciate that a lot.

See you all again, another time.

iMusty.

FollowupID: 361576