Welding on vehicle

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 22:37
ThreadID: 21255 Views:1917 Replies:12 FollowUps:2
Have to get a bracket mounted on my alloy bullbar for UHF aerial should I get a bolt on one or what's the risks to the electrics getting one welded on ?

thanks

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 22:58

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 22:58
Mate,

Suggest you try to use a neat bolt-on jobbie as first option; simply cos it gives you more possibilities (eg: you might decide you want to move it to a different position on the b/bar at a later time.)

If you decide to get a bracket welded on, just make sure you get a competent aluminium welder to do it.....they should already know that they MUST disconnect your battery/ies. Before doing this, make sure you have all your necessary codes for radio and anti-theft re-setting etc.

AnswerID: 102601

Reply By: rickwagupatrol - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 23:00

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 23:00
i know that Outbacker communications in canningvale sell a bolt on bracket for arials,
the one we have is flush along the top section, with two recessed screws, that have nyloc nuts on them.
over all the rough stuff, they have never moved.

rick.
AnswerID: 102603

Follow Up By: Member - Snatchem (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 23:08

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 23:08
thanks Rick bought one there today
FollowupID: 360390

Reply By: Dion - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 23:04

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 23:04
Have it welded on at a place (Irvins for instance) that manufactures bullbars.
I had two tabs welded onto the bullbar on my Rodeo, they have a device that clips over both battery terminals prior tio welding to save isolating the battery.
If the earth for the welder is placed as near as practicle to the point of welding, the risk of anything untoward happening to your vehicle electrics is very minimal.

Dion.
AnswerID: 102605

Reply By: Member - John - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 23:10

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 23:10
as long as the alternator is disconnected, no problems

AnswerID: 102606

Reply By: Member - Donald_L - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 00:04

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 00:04
If you choose the strongest option which is welding a bracket, I support John Also but just totally remove terminals from all batteries as suggested earlier.,
In the Alternator there are diodes which subjected to the wrong current there will be a big ZAP & you will be out of pocket $$$
Additionally these days there are electronic components & computer chips everywhere in most modern vehicle hence stray currents are not wanted & will cause expensive damage also.

good luck
Donald
AnswerID: 102617

Reply By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 07:34

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 07:34
the welded brackets look better on alloy bars
AnswerID: 102630

Reply By: Well 55 - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 12:19

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 12:19
Wht not take the bar off and do a proper job, there is generally only a couple of bolrs each side holding a alloy bar on.
AnswerID: 102644

Reply By: Bros - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 12:29

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 12:29
Snatchem,
Busted the left engine mount on HJ75 up the Cape some years ago. Took it to the engineering works in Seisia to get welded. Boss said no trouble, common thing on cars and fourbys up there. He sets it all up and is about to start welding when muggins here says "aren't you going to take off the battery leads to both batteries".
Boss replies "i have been doing this sort of thing for many years, so i think i know what i am doing by now".
After he had finished he stated that as long as the earth was next to the job there was no need to take the leads off. The mount was approximately 8 inches from the alternator and a foot from the front battery.
Make what you want from that lot.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 102646

Follow Up By: Davoe - Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 13:15

Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 13:15
dead right Same thing happened to me getting a bracket welded to a work ute bullbar - but then hzj utes are the toughest vehicle on the market!!
FollowupID: 360447

Reply By: mick - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 12:42

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 12:42
Gidday Snatchem,

Had both, definately go for the "weld on", much neater. Had mine done at Tom's Towbars in Wangara, $45, great job while I waited.

Mick
AnswerID: 102648

Reply By: Skiddy - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 15:13

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 15:13
Also if the vehicle is fitted with an airbag check with the manufacturer first. I know some wont allow modifying airbag compliant bullbars
AnswerID: 102658

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 16:17

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 16:17
Snatchem,

Why not attach a (cheap) purpose designed stainless steel "Z" bracket to the left or right corner of the bonnet closest to the front window ?
(The opposite side to your radio aerial)
This was the solution recommended to me by Transceiver Services here in Adelaide. Works a treat with any Ground Independent Aerial.

I don't understand why anyone would want to locate an aerial at the front of the vehicle, unless it is absolutely necessary.
Is this some kind of status symbol???

The only thing I occasionally connect to the Bull Bar bracket, is the high visibility "flag on a stick" when driving in dunes, etc. And that is only because it is there.

AnswerID: 102662

Reply By: Member - Snatchem (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 23:05

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 23:05
Thanks fellas for all the advice that's come forward I put the stainless bolt on one on today I didn't think I could stand the pressure of having the welding done I know that if any thing went wrong in future I'd be always thinking was it that welding I had done.
thanks again
AnswerID: 102733