donaldson top spin pre-cleaner

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 20, 2005 at 06:21
ThreadID: 21363 Views:2175 Replies:4 FollowUps:1
giday all
seen em' on donaldson web site,are they a new product?has anyone used em'or know anything about them.
regards toohey

Reply By: cokeaddict - Sunday, Mar 20, 2005 at 10:41

Sunday, Mar 20, 2005 at 10:41
I used to run a Donaldson on my first GQ. It worked very well. air filter life was extended so much, over the 600,000 kms it did i saved heaps just on air filters. I just took a peek at the new one and i will be contacting Donalson to see if it is suited to turbo models. Seems a bit bulky to me though. Also looks very thin compared to the old type. My main concern is weather it would take the abuse of branches flinging onto it as I drive through tracks.

Thanks for letting us know about it though.
Cheers Ange
AnswerID: 103149

Reply By: timber - Sunday, Mar 20, 2005 at 11:00

Sunday, Mar 20, 2005 at 11:00
Mate has one on his 3 l turbo GU, reckons it works OK. But.........it is huge, looks like a wheat silo stuck on top of the snorkle. Would be a great target for any trees/bushes when the going gets tight!

Buggerlux
AnswerID: 103153

Reply By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Sunday, Mar 20, 2005 at 21:01

Sunday, Mar 20, 2005 at 21:01
I have one on my Prado, took it out last weekend for its first real test and the dust didn't disappoint, there was plenty of it.

After a weekend driving in the dust, one of the other Prados with the same snorkel and I removed our air filters to see if there was a difference, bugger all dust in mine, heaps in his!!!

There is a smaller version coming out soon in Australia, my only advise always remove it when you don't need, it would be too easy for someone to take.

We went through heaps of overgrown areas, didn't take out any trees, but no problems with Branches etc

AnswerID: 103202

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Monday, Mar 21, 2005 at 16:20

Monday, Mar 21, 2005 at 16:20
Uh - that'll be me .....

Heaps is an understatement ;-)

I reckon I had enough to fill a cup!!

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

FollowupID: 360892

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Mar 22, 2005 at 21:24

Tuesday, Mar 22, 2005 at 21:24
Ah that dust must have come from my tyres.....lol....go the 80!

AnswerID: 103489