mattresses and sleeping bags

Submitted: Monday, Oct 14, 2002 at 00:00
ThreadID: 2152 Views:6153 Replies:10 FollowUps:3
This Thread has been Archived
Hi All,
I need some experienced advice on the best mattresses and sleeping bags for camping. The wife and I are planning a driving/camping holiday in Tassie. Do I get a blowup or self inflating? Saw a letter from Jenny saying how good Caribee mattresses are - ok, where do I go to look at/purchase them? I live at the Central Coast in NSW. Thanks for taking the time to help.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Derek - Monday, Oct 14, 2002 at 00:00

Monday, Oct 14, 2002 at 00:00
Contentedman. I've been camping for 20 years and gave up on air beds etc about 15 years ago. They either deflate (as opposed to going down on you) or the pump packs it in. We bought 2/ 100 mm medium density pieces of foam, cut to a specific size and haven't looked back. Yes they are bulky, but bad nights of sleep can ruin an otherwise good holiday. As for sleeping bags, I think you get what you pay for. Go for ones that are cross stitched (to keep the down evenly distributed) and have zips on 2 sides so as 2 singles can be joined to make 1 double. Also try to get 100% down rather than 50/50 feathers and down. Happy holiday...Tassie is a beautiful part of Oz.
AnswerID: 7407

Reply By: Brian - Monday, Oct 14, 2002 at 00:00

Monday, Oct 14, 2002 at 00:00
Tryhttp://www.freedomcamping.com.au/frameIndex.html
Or on www.anzwers.com.au search for "Caribee"
AnswerID: 7413

Reply By: tkd - Tuesday, Oct 15, 2002 at 00:00

Tuesday, Oct 15, 2002 at 00:00
my worst childhood memories of camping is blowing up matresses
do your self a huge favour pay the extra and get yourself inflating matresses, you will never regret it.
as for sleeping bags, you get what you pay for
there are so many brands and designs out there it can be confusing