Prep the Bedourie

Submitted: Friday, Mar 25, 2005 at 22:31
ThreadID: 21521 Views:3324 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
Hi guys and gal's. Looking at preping the bedourie . Should i light a fire and sit it in the fire . Put it in a oven ? Whats the best way ? Also what a good book for bush cooking . Things like damper ect .

Reply By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Friday, Mar 25, 2005 at 23:00

Friday, Mar 25, 2005 at 23:00
I reckon Viv Moon's book is the best. Go to their website as I can't recall its name. http://www.guidebooks.com.au/index.html

Also, I like the book as it is durable & easy to use round the fire with its ring/spiral bound style.
She has good background info on Bedouries as well as cast iron camp ovens.

Have not used a bedourie myself, but here's what I would do: a good oiling with cooking oil & jam it into the fire, as though you were actually cooking something in it. Burn that oil off. Cool down, wipe clean -no detergent - lightly re oil & repeat. Store in custom made cotton or linen bag e.g. a calico shopping bag.

AnswerID: 103851

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 09:07

Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 09:07
Hi Rick,

I'd do the same, though I don't think it matters as much with a Bedourie. Also to store them, a smear of oil on the insides with a paper towel keeps it all rust free, and store it in a canvas bag.

FollowupID: 361371

Follow Up By: GazzaS (VIC) - Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 11:28

Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 11:28
Hi Rick

I would second Viv Moons book. Great range of recipes and a lot of "one pot" meals to use in the new pot. I bought mine from the online shop here.

happy cooking
Gazza
FollowupID: 361378

Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Friday, Mar 25, 2005 at 23:02

Friday, Mar 25, 2005 at 23:02
I assume you're talking about a cast iron camp oven ?

I went to the butcher and got a big piece of fat, put the camp oven on our round portable BBQ (minus plate of course) and "burnt it in"

When cleaning, I use the same method as with my cast iron skillet.
NO DETURGENT.

Jack Absolum (spelling) has a great camping cook book. You will also find some in the ExploreOz shop.
AnswerID: 103853

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 09:04

Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 09:04
The Bedourie Oven is a "spun steel" camp oven (smooth, and fairly thin steel) which became popular donkeys years ago because they were light, and would not break when they fall off horses. They are also pretty versatile as the lid can double as a frypan and the base can be used as a pot. They come in two sizes and I find they work great.

Most camp stores have them - come in a cardboard box.
FollowupID: 361370

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 14:23

Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 14:23
G'day Eric, having a bush cooked meal for tomorrows lunch seeing we didn't get away. You could come down if you like only, three hours away, back home at night if you wanted. We have a Bedourie and a Chinese cast one in it's own bag. The Bedourie we keep in one of those inexpensive back backs, zipped in and in the dirty tool box under the tray.

Heather says she is using Viv's book for tomorrows lunch, but has quite a few sheets of simpler tasty meals for camp cooking that she takes away. All on MS Word file if you wanted a copy. Bruce seemed to like her damper.
AnswerID: 103894

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 09:49

Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 09:49
I was watching a guy on Tv making a damper in the bush. First some flour, then add beer. More flour, more beer. Fiddle oth the mixture add more beer, more beer. Doesn't matter what it tastes like, you're sure to enjoy !
FollowupID: 361437

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 11:16

Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 11:16
Loosie, you aren't suggesting you just like the taste of the beer in the damper are you? Have not done it that way yet, must try it. Smoke in the eyes at the moment from being cook. Sure the stubbies will go down well, just to clear the smoke from the throat.
FollowupID: 361445

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 18:50

Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 18:50
Ahhhh.......... Beer damper...now thats a speciality.....make it every now and then. Drink one beer minus a nip for the damper. Then another beer with a nip for the damper and so on. The more you nip the drunker you get lol
FollowupID: 361458

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 12:17

Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 12:17
Johhno, I never touch the stuff. But it seemed like a good recipe for most people :))
AnswerID: 103945

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 13:06

Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 13:06
Another good book is Jack & REg Absalom Outback cooking in the camp oven. Always smear some oil on after use or it will rust mate. Good luck.......Stu
AnswerID: 103947