4x4 'friendly' carparks

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 09:44
ThreadID: 21524 Views:2311 Replies:6 FollowUps:8
After the recent NSW Coles / SMH debacle I got to thinking about the carpark height clearance issue which effectively rules me out of shopping, and spending my hard earned, at certain places. I've had dramas in all kinds of 1.8m underground carparks (the City of Perth council chambers, Grove Plaza Cottesloe, Red Cross Blood Bank etc to name just a few) and thought that on a positive note I'd mention one that is 4x4 'friendly' for a lifted GU.

The brand spanking new Woolies on the corner of Stock Rd and Leach Hwy Melville (WA) has a comfortable 2300mm O/H clearance. Good work architects. Maybe there's a subtle change in thinking quietly occuring (or maybe it was cheaper than carting in fill sand!)

Any others?

Reply By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 09:59

Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 09:59
COME ON!!! ARE THERE ANY OTHERS?

Melville is 3434.13 kms from my place.

And knowing my Mrs. when we finally get there, she'll pick the slow checkout lane.
AnswerID: 103880

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 20:10

Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 20:10
Foodland in Peterborough doesnt have a roof for its carpark. So do your shopping here. Also get a local 5cents a litre discount voucher if you spend more than 40 dollars. Only about 1000km from your place :o)
FollowupID: 361400

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 07:31

Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 07:31
Willie, obviously you like the 37 kilometer plus car parks too. Just like the more than 5 (million) stars accommodation, only in car parks. Will save a spot for yours when you next come this way.

Camp oven lunch today, to get the rest of the family involved. I will leave your fire alone mate, just have ours. LOL
FollowupID: 361429

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 10:01

Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 10:01
The Architect probably has a raised patrol or cruiser with a roof rack, pay back time!!!!!

AnswerID: 103881

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 13:09

Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 13:09
fountain gate shopping centre east of mebcouple of entraces 3m but they didnt allow for my hf radio aerial when its on 3.6 m lololo

stevel
AnswerID: 103889

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 14:57

Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 14:57
Steve, they really should have consulted you before the plans were finalised!!!!

FollowupID: 361384

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 13:41

Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 13:41
Burnside Shopping centre in Adelaide has a few 4Wd only parking spaces, that are a bit larger than the normal ones. Not underground just bigger size.
AnswerID: 103892

Reply By: Utemad - Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 13:57

Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 13:57
Garden City shopping centre in Brisbane has a very high ceiling. Accomodates an F250 in most places. Only restricted by turning circle. Ceiling must be over 3m in some places.
AnswerID: 103893

Reply By: Bilbo - Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 15:08

Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 15:08
Wiluna Shopping Centre in Western Australia - clearance is 37 kilometers ;)

Bilbo
AnswerID: 103896

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 15:21

Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 15:21
Parked in the 'cage' at the side of the pub there a few times.
FollowupID: 361386

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 15:31

Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 15:31
Bilbo, I noticed part of the Coles one at Katoomba that all the fuss was about was like that too, but heaps more than 37 kilometres actually. Even Gob could park there.

Just as an aside, in Dublin there is a new tunnel on the main road from the port to the city. The tunnel was designed to be too low to take containers through so they had to remove some more rock from the floor to get trucks and containers in. It was originally all designed so Dublin could participate in the wealth of Europe. Heaven help their car parks eh?
FollowupID: 361387

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 16:16

Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 16:16
heheheh....just stay clear of the famous "Wiluna Burger" and you'll be right.
FollowupID: 361391

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 00:29

Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 00:29
JohnR,

Yeah, but yer gotta make allowances ( about 3.0 mtrs I'd say) for the Irish!!

Footloose - The "Wiluna Burger"!! That ranks (literally) alongside "Leonora Fish n Chips" and the "Laverton Steak Sandwich". All great when you've been bush fer about 2 months,,,,,,,,,,,but only then.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 361423

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 01:05

Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 01:05
Best I had was "catch of the day" at the Whitehouse Hotel Leonora. hhhmmmmmm..........
FollowupID: 361424