1998 mitsi triton diesal

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 05, 2005 at 08:20
ThreadID: 21796 Views:1634 Replies:4 FollowUps:3
Mate of mine has been offered the in laws farm ute being a 1998 Triton ute Diesal for 8k (no more info) and asked what I knew about them which is not much. So I am posting forinfo from the good people of this forum on his behalf. My bet it is a typical work ute. Dependable slow and rough

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Apr 05, 2005 at 08:57

Tuesday, Apr 05, 2005 at 08:57
Primative, dependable, typical work ute.. As I'm sure you already know, with any diesel servicing is the key... If they are abused they will die early. As a guide, Redbook.com puts them around $8-$11k
AnswerID: 105241

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Tuesday, Apr 05, 2005 at 10:53

Tuesday, Apr 05, 2005 at 10:53
Ta forgot to say it comes with a FREE CATTLE CRATE on the back - real deal clincher if you ask me
FollowupID: 362348

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Apr 05, 2005 at 17:14

Tuesday, Apr 05, 2005 at 17:14
Cattle crate should be a hit with the ladies... maybe...
FollowupID: 362399

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Apr 05, 2005 at 17:53

Tuesday, Apr 05, 2005 at 17:53
Mate my families farm has a similar aged V6 Triton ute and I wouldn't touch it with a Barge Pole. I can't say for certain that ALL farms are the same, but this thing hasn't been washed since it left the showroom floor, only get's the oil changed if it needs topping up and has a new paint job of red dust (I'm not sure what colour it used to be, maybe green?? If you want to see how much fuels in the tank or what speed your doing you'd probally need a bottle of spray and wipe and a nice cloth to clean the dust of the instrament pannel.
Does lot's and lot's of short runs, driving round padocks towing trailers of hey etc etc etc. nup not for me. And I'm pretty sure they could srcub it up so it looked half decent if they wanted to sell it too, but I certainally wouldn't buy it.

The're old 4wd Mitsy Express Ute still goes too, you just have to ride the clutch cos theres no floor to rest your foot on and you need to check the fuel before you take the ute out beause it's tank is a jerry can on the tray with a bit of plastic tubing to the motor. But in saying that it's lasted pretty well being it was so badly neglected, my brothers and my cousins and I, we all learnt to drive in that old ute. But again, buy it, LOL yeah right.
AnswerID: 105290

Reply By: Eric Experience. - Tuesday, Apr 05, 2005 at 21:20

Tuesday, Apr 05, 2005 at 21:20
Davoe.
The triton is a very reliable vehicle, but as others have said if its not serviced regularily it could be a dud, the best thing about tritons is there stability on the road, they handle better than the other utes. Eric.
AnswerID: 105334

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Tuesday, Apr 05, 2005 at 22:27

Tuesday, Apr 05, 2005 at 22:27
ta being the outlaws some of the history should be known I will try and find out
FollowupID: 362457

Reply By: ianmc - Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 12:08

Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 12:08
I have a 91 with 240,000kms & going strong. 2.5td, but later 2.8 may or may not have a turbo. All earlier faults seem to have been addressed, ie weak gear box.
Also I think the 98 has a chain driven camshaft which is a plus I reckon.
Ride depends on load, shocks etc & with a bit of weight they ride like a car
and seemingly without a lot of the faults one reads about in later Tojos etc on this & other forums.
A bit of tuning such as bigger exhaust & inj pump timing can help the grunt
AnswerID: 105533