Poem

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 10:03
ThreadID: 21848 Views:2025 Replies:6 FollowUps:11
I woke up this morning and this came out of me.

It's not like im leaving my Mrs. or anything, but I thought it belonged here.

I dunno?
------------------

Campfires burning
Billy’s on
Don’t understand
Why we’ve waited so long

It is more peaceful here
Isn’t that a fact?
If I were financially stable
D’ya think we would go back?

Would you miss your mother?
I wouldn’t miss much at all
We could rent out the old house
Our gear ya know we’d store

I know you love your Nursing
You have a caring touch.
But maybe just weekend trips
For me … is not enough.

I know we can go “one day”
But c’mon let’s set a date.
Yes I’m serious baby!
There’s no reason for us to wait.

We’ve already got the gear
Anything more you need we’ll buy
It’s not silly wishful thinking
It’s the adventure of our lives!

Ahhr, you’re not serious baby?
You’ve been there TWENTY YEARS!
It’s not like you are quitting!
We’re talking, no need for tears.

I’m 37. You’re’ Forty-one!
Yes kids would have been lots of fun
Times passing NOW!
Let’s make our run

How would he know?
There’s work around
Don’t listen to him
There are heaps of towns

I love him too
Ya Dad’s ya Dad
Yes, when he’s gone
it will be sad

It’s not like
we're not coming back
I want to go
C’mon lets pack

Alright alright
Don’t come with me
I’ll pack for one
You wait and see

Why do you
make it so hard?
I don’t want a house
And a tiny yard

Oh great!
You’ll get the bloody house
I’ll take the swag
Keep everything else.

Two days later
Billy’s on
I don’t understand
what did go wrong.

Reply By: Well 55 - Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 10:15

Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 10:15
Fair dinkum iMusty, you had better get out into the bush and put the bloody billy on mate, aye.
AnswerID: 105512

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 10:29

Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 10:29
Well 55.

Does that mean my poetry is crappola

Or I do need a break?
FollowupID: 362628

Follow Up By: Well 55 - Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 10:31

Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 10:31
No mate the poetry's fine, you need the break.
FollowupID: 362629

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 10:36

Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 10:36
Thanks.
FollowupID: 362630

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 10:37

Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 10:37
Hi Imusty,

Not crappola mate, just the call of the bush. Can relate to this and often feel the same way, guess life gets complicated when you need to share it with others and the bank. Often feel that life used to be simple and that is all I would really need and could easily revert too. BUT we are all on the treadmil waiting to get off, hopefully via lotto or retirement.

At least with this forum you get a chance to keep the dream alive while you wait for your turn to get out there.

AnswerID: 105514

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 10:52

Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 10:52
I guess I understand now why we spend so much time on our vehicles & equiptment when we are at 'home'

It is our way of staying 'out there'. Planning, thinking, dreaming and remembering that last trip.

I don't think anyone in my street sees the trees anymore.

The birds, the bugs, the insects.

Thanks for you feedback.

It is valued.

iMusty

FollowupID: 362631

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 11:05

Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 11:05
Just this morning took the trim off the rear door to fit a door extender (the Patrol small door now opens 90 degree) - got my hands covered with 3 year old Cape York bull dust - now that brought back some memories. I live the dream most days - try to get something done on the car or trailer.

Look after yourself - it's all you have.

FollowupID: 362635

Follow Up By: Well 55 - Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 12:37

Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 12:37
Beatit, tell me more about the "Door Extender".

I would be nice to get that door to open a bit further.
FollowupID: 362651

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 13:29

Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 13:29
G'day Well55,

It is a Black Widow product (the same people as the drawer systems). It merely replaces the bracket at the body side of the door retainer with a longer version. Requires removal of the door trim to pull out the retainer arm, you then grind off the retaining pin (old bracket) fit new bracket with bolt and nut supplied. The job took me about half an hour and another half an hour to work up the courage to remove the trim.

FollowupID: 362664

Follow Up By: Well 55 - Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 13:41

Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 13:41
Thanks for that, it sounds like a good thing.
FollowupID: 362666

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 11:30

Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 11:30
Musty

Lovely things do come out of you........

Just saying to one of my mates the other day....the trouble with travelling and holidays is that it does not satisfy your urge to be out in the bush and travelling, it just feeds that yearning to do it some more.

Andrew.
AnswerID: 105522

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 11:33

Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 11:33
.....I also should have said that I am so lucky to have the sort of girl that wants a lotsa stars holiday, to be camping in dirty creek beds or with mossies and insects, to not have a shower for days, to breath dust and dirt, to cuddle up against my sweaty and hairy body..... and yet remain so fresh and bright and cheery herself...

........hands of my Jen everyone!!!
FollowupID: 362639

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 11:46

Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 11:46
Don't know that im too tempted. She sounds like a grot. :-)

Only joking.

Thanks for reading my poem

iMusty.

btw my girl is OK. It was a poem.
FollowupID: 362642

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 18:01

Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 18:01
.....I also should have said that I am so lucky to have the sort of girl that wants a lotsa stars holiday...............

Like being stuck in the middle of a flash flood with no warm clothes or food after you had prayed for rain that morning.....hahahahahahaha
FollowupID: 362713

Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 13:37

Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 13:37
Liked it!! Says it all.
AnswerID: 105553

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 18:05

Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 18:05
Love your poetry, James

JUST DO IT!

My dearest(SWMBO) did not know what hit her when we started this camping thing. A city girl she was, but I soon cured that.

Been doing the boiling billy now for close on 40 years.

It all good mate!!!! (Like the ad says)
AnswerID: 105595

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 18:58

Thursday, Apr 07, 2005 at 18:58
goodday all
loved the poetry
currently putting last couple of trips away onto dvd and that makes it really hard not to just pull up stakes and go but as you say in the poetry man needs stabilty .by the way andrew i thought you had got hold of my missus

AnswerID: 105608