Fuel economy

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 21:06
ThreadID: 22070 Views:1960 Replies:13 FollowUps:18
I just did the figures on the Triton (Petrol 3.0 litre) for the first time - 11.5L/100km. How does this compare with other Dual cabs and how does it compare with the diesel 4WDs?

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 21:43

Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 21:43
Hi Wombat. Had 10l/100km in my rodeo 3.0l td.
AnswerID: 106797

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 11:44

Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 11:44
Thanks Brian 10% less fuel eficient than an equivalent diesel. Hmmm, think I'm happy with that.
FollowupID: 364164

Reply By: mik*2 - Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 22:26

Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 22:26
thats pretty good, sure its right? i'm getting 10/100 from my diesel Navara. I had a 2003 V6 Navara and was getting around 15/100 from that.....hence the switch to diesel.

mike
AnswerID: 106807

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 11:46

Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 11:46
1040km from 120 litres - I think my math's are correct! I seem to be 10% less fuel efficient than an equivalent diesel.
FollowupID: 364165

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 22:32

Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 22:32
Wombat

Honest figure for the Fender ... 11.3 l/100km

AnswerID: 106809

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 11:47

Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 11:47
Is that highway travel Rosco?
FollowupID: 364166

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 12:19

Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 12:19
G'day Wombat

It was about 300km towing empty light weight box trailer (Bris - Inglewood via Cunningham's Gap), 300 km back towing trailer with about 200kg load and about 250km mostly freeway with some city.

892 km .... 101 litres .... 11.33 l/100km

FollowupID: 364178

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 22:53

Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 22:53
Hi Wombat, just been through my lease statements and over the last 6 months I've averaged 12.89L/100km. I'm doing about 1200km a month on the highway and about 1250km a month around town.
AnswerID: 106812

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 11:49

Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 11:49
Mines probably 60% highway and 40% around town, dear Blue. But I've seen photo's of your speedo and I don't think my little size 6 feet are as heavy as your lead foot.
FollowupID: 364167

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 18:36

Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 18:36
I do have a size 13 foot so would expext it to be slightly heavier... I definately don't baby it but have found if I do, I get worse economy. Seems that the little 3.0l likes to stay in it's "power" rev range, backed up by a mate with a '98 model who has found the same thing.

P.S there's that "dear Blue" again...
FollowupID: 364229

Reply By: joe1 - Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 00:26

Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 00:26
Hi there Wombat,I have just done mine today, got a 1999 duel cab hilux 3.0lt 4x4 diesel.this is my first tank of fuel as i have just got the car last week,i got 9.57lt / 100km,on the old scale works out to be 29.50mpg.
Got a bit of a shock comming out of a F150 4x4 with a 5.8lt in it.

AnswerID: 106819

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 11:51

Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 11:51
5.8 litre petrol - you'd want to be towing your own service station!!!!
FollowupID: 364168

Follow Up By: joe1 - Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 22:24

Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 22:24
Hi there Wombat,was only getting 9.5mpg so lucky f-troop had a big tank.

Joe
FollowupID: 364358

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 07:44

Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 07:44
Wombat,

Jerry Can, 3.5L V6 petrol auto, weight 2030 kg; 15-16 around town. Towing my camper (around 700 kg loaded) and the car full of fridge and gear; 13.8 cruising at 100-110 along the Hwy.

AnswerID: 106835

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 11:54

Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 11:54
Hi Jimbo, My figures are for fully loaded (all recovery gear, fridge and 90 litres of water). Towing the Taj Mahal kills my economy though. I wonder how the diesel Terror can compares to your petrol one?
FollowupID: 364169

Reply By: Utemad - Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 07:47

Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 07:47
In my 4cyl Rodeo (2.6L petrol with 160k) I get:

Hway 9.5L/100km

City 12L/100km
AnswerID: 106837

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 11:56

Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 11:56
Amazing the imrovement with 400 less cc's.
FollowupID: 364171

Reply By: signman - Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 08:32

Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 08:32
I guess you're looking for COMPARABLE figures for a similar vehicle...
3.2l Rodeo petrol....High 14s/100 around town...12s/100 highway- so the Triton is doing a good job
AnswerID: 106845

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 11:58

Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 11:58
Thanks Signman.
FollowupID: 364173

Reply By: ianmc - Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 11:51

Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 11:51
Few of the Jap 4cyl petrol utes seem to give a reasonable fuel consu,ption when U compare them with the Aussie 6cyl utes. Commodores easily achieve over 30mpg,yes I know they are not 4wds but we are talking highway speeds .
Even my Triton 2.5td at 10km/l or better at lower speed aint that flash really when compared with the euro diesels with common rail inj.
AnswerID: 106870

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 12:01

Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 12:01
Mine's 6 cylinder Ian. I'd never be caught driving a 4 cylinder, peaople would think I'm gay!
FollowupID: 364174

Reply By: Diamond (Vic) - Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 12:40

Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 12:40
gday wombat.
92 jackaroo 3.2 v6 auto.
18-20 around town.
15 hwy no camper..
27-30 hwy with camper.
with the price of fuel now it will be a long time between trips now.
AnswerID: 106877

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 11:57

Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 11:57
Geez Jim it sounds like yours needs a tune up. I'd be changing my mechanic if I was you!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 364172

Reply By: phil - Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 15:18

Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 15:18
Bravo 2.5 Turbo Diesel
loaded to about 2500kg
4000km round trip including 10 days in Vic high country. Much of remainder 110km/h highway
11.2litre/100km

Phil I
AnswerID: 106902

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 12:02

Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 12:02
Thanks Phil. 10 days in the Vic high country sounds good right now.
FollowupID: 364175

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Apr 16, 2005 at 07:38

Saturday, Apr 16, 2005 at 07:38
Hi Wombie, did you forget to carry the 3?

Mine little bus fully loaded, 13.5l/100km

AnswerID: 106984

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 12:04

Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 12:04
G'day Geoff, great to see you back. 1040km from 120 litres was from where I got my figure. Then again I never was a very good stoodent.
FollowupID: 364176

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 14:36

Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 14:36
Good to be back, now let me see, divide 120 by 10.4, CARRY THE 3, and take into account Wombies outrageous one eyed Triton ownership record, comes out at 15l/100km, sounds about right to me hahahahaha

FollowupID: 364192

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 14:44

Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 14:44
I knew I shoulda carried the 3!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 364195

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Saturday, Apr 16, 2005 at 12:28

Saturday, Apr 16, 2005 at 12:28
the rodeo3.2 v6 dual cab work ute i had used 13-15 average on easy running, lots more if i was in a crappy mood and taking it out on the ute.

11.5 sounds real good for the v6.
AnswerID: 107017

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 12:09

Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 12:09
Thanks for the comparison Brad. I'm old now so I tend not to get in a crappy mood when driving, so maybe that is why the figure seems half reasonable. Although I do get in a bit of a crappy mood when you see the bowser clock over $140 to fill 'er up.
FollowupID: 364177