Marine carpet or similar covering for Drawers

Submitted: Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 16:18
ThreadID: 22088 Views:13278 Replies:11 FollowUps:1
Hi there,

I am just about to start building my own set of drawers at the back of my 80 series and just wonder where people get their marine carpet (or similar covering) from?

I live near Blacktown NSW.

Also, the reason I am building the drawer system is to house my spare since I am converting to LPG and can't afford a $900 wheel carrier at the moment. Also, aside from the spare I should be able to fit the odd strap and spanner in the drawers. Anyone done something similar? I know most setups I've seen were drawers to hold recovery equipment etc. but I haven't seen anyone build a drawer for a spare.

Anyway if anyone has any ideas or done something similar I'd be glad to hear about it.

Joe

Reply By: Peter 2 - Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 16:32

Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 16:32
clark rubber, bias boating or whitworths all carry marine type carpet, clark rubber actually have quite a range of coverings at the Castle Hill store, not that far from blacktown.
AnswerID: 106908

Reply By: kev.h - Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 17:15

Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 17:15
Hi Joe
you may find the carpet they use to cover speaker boxes with easier to use it is softer and easier to mould to shape

should be available most good car parts stores maybe clark rubber

i have used it no problems yet 2 years plus

regards Kev.
AnswerID: 106916

Reply By: joedm - Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 17:18

Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 17:18
thanks for your replies...
will be heading off first thing tomorrow to check out 1st Clark rubber then 2nd Super Cheap or Autoone....

Once, I've finished I will post pics...
AnswerID: 106917

Reply By: Member - John - Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 17:25

Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 17:25
Bunnings, cheaper than Clarke's.

AnswerID: 106922

Reply By: charlies - Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 17:25

Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 17:25
G'day Joe
I got my carpet from Bunnings. Worked really well.

Charlie
AnswerID: 106923

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 17:33

Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 17:33
Agree with the Bunnings idea. I got some cheap ($17 per l/meter) to put in the floor of my camper. I reckon it would be ideal for drawers, thin and easy to work with.

AnswerID: 106924

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 17:57

Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 17:57
Bunnings!!!!!
Cheap and easy to play with!
AnswerID: 106927

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 19:41

Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 19:41
The thinner the better - easier to mould around things - just don't use too much contact adhesive. And I get mine from Bunnings too :-) I don't get the "car carpet" as its too thick and threads pull out - I think the better stuff is called "exterior carpet" or something similar.

phil
AnswerID: 106943

Reply By: Croozer - Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 21:37

Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 21:37
Joe,
As others have mentioned Bunnings is probably the easiest solution, but if you don't find what you want try these 2 suppliers who I know have a good range of carpets. I'm just not sure if they sell to public, if so they might have minimum purchase qty, but might be worth a try. They are both customers of mine. Phone first as not sure if they are open on w/ends.

Daley's Auto, Marine & Upholstery Supplies Pty Ltd
U3/ 195 Miller Rd Villawood 2163
(02) 9794 5700

UPHOLSTERING DISTRIBUTORS AUSTRALIA
1/ 5 Stoddart Rd Prospect 2148
(02) 9896 2233

Stu

AnswerID: 106967

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 22:11

Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 22:11
Got ours from Bunnings. They had quite a few types and colours to choose from. Get the unbacked carpet, much easier to work with and mold around corners etc. Paid about $37 per linear metre off a 2m wide roll. BTW, best glue we found was the Selley's Kwik Grip which comes in the brown can.

:o) Melissa
AnswerID: 106976

Follow Up By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 16, 2005 at 10:07

Saturday, Apr 16, 2005 at 10:07
I have just completed my drawers & I looked at marine carpet, Bunnings carpet & Clark Rubber "Charcoal coloured car carpet" Although this is very expensive ($43/m for the 2m wide stuff) it is easy to glue & mold around the corners. Also I reckoned it looked the best of all the stuff I checked out. After all. probably buying the carpet is one of the cheaper items, but it is the finally thing that you see & makes a crook job look good!

Sparky
FollowupID: 363977

Reply By: joedm - Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 11:37

Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 11:37
Thanks for all your replies.

However, I didn't end up going with the drawer option as when I put the spare in the boot of the 80 I realized that the drawer system would have to be pretty high as the tyre is very wide. I would end up not having a boot at all.

So for now I have the tyre standing upright next to the right rear window. I've just secured in place using straps and the standard tie down points.

I'll probably end up buying a rear tyre carrier now... as having the tyre inside the boot the way it is will really limit space for luggage etc.

Now I have another problem that I will probably start another thread.
AnswerID: 107218