Does Ambulance cover, cover Flying Drs /Flying Ambulance??

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 08:13
ThreadID: 22183 Views:2995 Replies:8 FollowUps:12
Getting ready for the simpson trip in June and wanted to make sure we have our bases covered. So does our Ambulance cover(we have private health cover with ambulance and seperate ambulance cover), cover the use of the flying dr service and the flying ambulance if these are required Or are we required to join up with these services

Crazie

Reply By: Bros - Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 08:32

Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 08:32
Crazie,
In Qld, if you are a subscriber you get free ambulance anywhere. The RFDS is only an extension of this. Don't know about private cover. Suggest you contact your private mob to make sure. IMHO. Have a safe and wonderful trip.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 107343

Follow Up By: govo - Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 16:03

Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 16:03
Bros, if you pay your electicity bill then you are fully covered for all types of ambulance transport...does'nt make any difference if your in private or public cover..we had to use it recently when my 3 yr old boy choked on a pen cap and thats what the ambo officer told me.
FollowupID: 364320

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 23:58

Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 23:58
Hi Bros

How are you Mate, We have both covers, covered by private heath and we pay for seperate Ambo cover too. Great site posted by Max below for each state and what is covered.

Crazie
FollowupID: 364371

Reply By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 08:34

Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 08:34
Ambulance cover has no provision for RFDS but RFDS is a free service funded by Commonwealth/State governments as well as public donations, and is one of the best things about this great country. Go to www.flyingdoctor.net and have a look. You will be amazed at the service and like me motivated to donate to it, even though the service would be provided for free if required.

There are also numerous missionary-type organisations working in remote areas which in instances have provided emergency medical transport via light planes.

I am wondering if there are any stories from forumites which have needed this service before.

D-Jack

AnswerID: 107344

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 08:42

Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 08:42
Indeed D-Jack,

here's big cheers for the RFDS,

they gave my mother another 7 yrs of life when she had a massive cerebral haemorrhage at Caves House, Yallingup, about 10 yrs ago.
FollowupID: 364272

Follow Up By: motherhen - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 00:45

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 00:45
Even here in the SW we have access to the RFDS, as a trip to Perth is considered too long to have ambulance crew on duty and ambulance away from town. I often hear the Flying Doctor going overhead. A wonderful service provided free. The Government should fully fund the service - i wouldn't object to my Medicare levy being used for RFDS - far more appropriate than for a gun buy-back or whatever the Govt chooses to use it for.
FollowupID: 364377

Reply By: locallaw - Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 09:36

Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 09:36
Gidday,The only problem is there are no landing strips in the Simpson that I know of(I will probably be corrected by more knowlegible people on this forum).
It is a good trip and you will have many up's and down's so enjoy it.
I have been accross and really had fun till it rained.
Seeya Locallaw
AnswerID: 107350

Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 10:23

Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 10:23
I recon there'd be a fair few of them- I've been surprised with the amount of airstrips that are about whilst travelling on country roads- If you have Discover Aus streets and tracks for your GPS, it will upload locations of runways to your GPS so you can see them.
I've had the GPS mistaken for a computer game a few times by people not familiar with it due to all the plane icons moving around on the screen.
FollowupID: 364277

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 12:56

Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 12:56
Theres an airstrip at Dalhousie. Also the airstrip at Mokari is still serviceable - Adam Plate at Oodnadatta used to ask 4wds to do a couple of laps of it to keep the vegetation flat.

FollowupID: 364294

Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 09:14

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 09:14
Mokari still needs people to do laps to keep it clear.

If you are out that way, please do a couple.
FollowupID: 364394

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 10:33

Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 10:33

I would suggest you first talk to your ambulance service in Victoria and clarify what reciprocal arrangements they have with other states and also the RFDS. That is the best way to go.

From a Queensland perspective ambulance subscriptions no longer exist as a levy system was introduced a couple of years ago and is collected with power bills and pensioners receive the service free of charge.

In Queensland we have the situation where in fact some RFDS aircraft are tasked and coordinated by the Queensland Ambulance Service. The Queensland Rescue and RACQ sponsored helicopter rescue services in Queensland are a free service to those that require them.

Hope this helps a bit.

AnswerID: 107354

Reply By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 10:54

Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 10:54
Crazie, there is no Flying Ambulance if you have trouble in the Simpson Desert - what usually happens is the Ambulance Troopie goes out from Birdsville and meets you or tries to do a meet. Then you have to be brought back to Birdsville so the
Flying Doctor can meet you here. Then you go to Charleville or Brisbane depending on your condition. It's long, rough and hard on everyone. Be good travellers please and keep well!!
AnswerID: 107356

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 18:49

Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 18:49
goodday ruth
how did you go with your corks
FollowupID: 364341

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 23:52

Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 23:52
Hi Ruth

Thanks for the Info, we will see you around begining onJuly, heading up there with Eric..

Crazie
FollowupID: 364368

Reply By: Member - Mike H (VIC) - Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 13:28

Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 13:28
The RFDS is a free service.
I guess I'm lucky. In over 40 years "Out There" I never needed to call them.
The operation is taken care of by government funding.
However that does not cover equipment costs that also includes the replacement of planes.
This is paid for from donations.
On our tours we always have a "Sin Bin" and collect along the way.
Then we donate the collected amount, usually when we get to Alice.
They like me when I walk in there with a nescafe tin under my arm :-)

Take care,
Mike.
[ View Image]
AnswerID: 107378

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 23:53

Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 23:53
Thanks Mike, We will make sure we contribute to this excellent Service

ta
Crazie
FollowupID: 364369

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 16:52

Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 16:52
Hi Crazie

Found this reference on the No Boundaries site

http://www.noboundaries.com.au/Ambo%20services.htm

Might help
Max
AnswerID: 107407

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 23:56

Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 23:56
Hi Max

Thanks heaps for the site mate, clearly sets out what is covered.

cheers mate

Crazie
FollowupID: 364370

Reply By: Member - Nick K (VIC) - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 16:15

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 16:15
Crazie,

Rang Ambulance Victoria today as I was concerned as well. Mate we are covered for any Abulance type things all over Australia. So when I accidently stick a fork in you to see if your done you should be ok.

Nick
AnswerID: 107555

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Apr 22, 2005 at 10:05

Friday, Apr 22, 2005 at 10:05
fantastic Nic

Thanks for calling then

Ads
FollowupID: 364668