Long Range Fuel Tanks

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 22:29
ThreadID: 22209 Views:3051 Replies:12 FollowUps:18
I have a Nissan GU Patrol (2002) and am looking to replace the main fuel tank with a long range tank (~ 145 l or so). Does anyone have advice/experience on what are reliable brands of long range fuel tanks - e.g. that will stand driving over rough country, corrugations etc without springing leaks? Thanks.
ShorterShots

Reply By: Diamond (Vic) - Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 22:32

Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 22:32
sorry to tell you ray but apperently none are any good.
do a search and will will find they all have a bad name.
oh yes they all have a good name to.
confused yet lol.
me i went brown davis.
AnswerID: 107463

Follow Up By: Ray Shorter - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 06:42

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 06:42
Hi diamond(vic,
Thanks for your note. Yes certainly is confusing but I'm hoping to get a sense that one brand might be less unreliable than the others. The alternative is to load up with 2 or 3 extra jerry cans and then the question is how to best load/carry them on an already pretty fully laden vehicle.
Cheers, Ray
ShorterShots

FollowupID: 364384

Reply By: Member - John - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 00:09

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 00:09
After having 4 out of 5 new Brown Davis tanks split on the CSR, I could not reccomend them and also the after sales sevice was bloody terrible. A mob in Bayswater where much better at service and the one tank I did install , didn't split or leak, sorry can't remember the name.

AnswerID: 107473

Follow Up By: Ray Shorter - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 06:37

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 06:37
Thanks John. What sort of temporary repair kit have you found that works when your tanks split on a track like the CSR. Ray
ShorterShots

FollowupID: 364383

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 07:02

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 07:02
Ray

Soap works well for petrol. Not sure about diesel, but I expect it would work there also.

FollowupID: 364386

Reply By: Member - toohey - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 04:36

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 04:36
giday ray
longranger was my choice,plenty of hard k's no promblems.
regards toohey
AnswerID: 107482

Follow Up By: Ray Shorter - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 06:35

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 06:35
Thanks Toohey, good to hear that this one has worked for you.
Regards, Ray
ShorterShots

FollowupID: 364381

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 21:27

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 21:27
Ray,
I agree with Toohey mate. I put my Long Ranger in when the GU was new and it now has 155000 klicks, no worries. It's been over some pretty rough tracks/corrogations, including Cape York, Birdsville etc

Previous GQ had a Brown Davis and I had to have that welded up twice; split along the seams of the internal baffles.

Cya mate

FollowupID: 364477

Reply By: old-plodder - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 08:03

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 08:03
Have a 135l long ranger tank in the pajero, instead of the stock 92l.
Had to replace the stock tank in the first pajero after the first trip to the cape in 1990 after 7 small cracks. Swapped this tank over to the new (1996) pajero, so it is 15 years old. Has done a few trips and seen it's share of corrugations without any problems. Just took it out this year since I was getting some surface rust on the inside, and recoated it.
Pajero seems to have reasonable mounts that are in a 3 bolt support pattern to minimise twisting of the tank when the chassis flexes. Two supports at front, one at rear. Whats the patrol like? (Starting to gather info on patrols, looks like it may be the next car :-))
Also,
Always noticed that most tanks have thier problems when full and carrying maximum load. Once they get to 3/4 full, problems don't occur as often.
I purposely went to a 'smaller' long range tank of 135l, rather than the 150l tanks that were available, thinking I didn't want to put too much strain on the tank and stock mounts.
With the old standard tank, found minties worked best for repairs. Better than soap. Get one after it is soft, either off the dash or chewed a little, and bung it in. Really hard to get out when hard, and seems to last better than soap. Had a mintie last over 10,000k on a repair until I could get the tank brazed. Never had any problems with sugar in the fuel either :-).
AnswerID: 107494

Follow Up By: charlies - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 20:33

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 20:33
I used a mintie a couple of years ago when I found a fuel leak (pin hole in a weld) half way across the desert. It last about 5000k until we got home. Tried a couple of other things first, but Minties worked best. Won't travel without them now.

Cheers Charlie
FollowupID: 364467

Follow Up By: Ray Shorter - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 21:43

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 21:43
Thanks old plodder, charlies and others,

Minties, I'd never have thought of that solution. Think I'll put a packet of minties in with the recovery gear so the hungry mob don't get to all of them!! Ray
ShorterShots

FollowupID: 364483

Reply By: theratt - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 10:01

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 10:01
Ray not sure what state your in , but i have 147 lt replacement in my 2oo3 patrol
from K&N fabrications in canning vale perth
excellent tank and service , CSR and plenty of rough treatment without any issues
AnswerID: 107507

Follow Up By: Ray Shorter - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 21:51

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 21:51
Thanks Theratt, I'm in Brisbane, but will check with them just the same. The bloke from my local Opposite Lock store said they source their long range tanks from Perth ...? Ray
ShorterShots

FollowupID: 364486

Reply By: Disco200Tdi - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 10:14

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 10:14
Ray,

I have sill tanks in my disco from 4wd systems in SA. They have been in the car for 10 years and have taken a pounding. The bottom of them are a little bent from bellying the car on them, but they may have only lost a litre of two in capacity, and have never leaked. There prices are very competitive.

I also just helped fit a LRA (long range automotive) sill tank (secondhand) to a friend's disco which also looks good quality. It also seems to have taken a bit of a pounding and doesn't leak.

HTH

John D
AnswerID: 107510

Follow Up By: Ray Shorter - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 21:54

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 21:54
Thanks John. Ray
ShorterShots

FollowupID: 364487

Reply By: Capstan - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 11:38

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 11:38
I have a 4wd systems tank in my GQ. It got a slight fracture in a seam on the way to the gulf last year. Patched it with epoxy ribbon available at any hardware store. When we returned home it was a quick phonecall to 4wd systems & a new tank was freighted to me within three weeks. Can't complain about that! No problems so far with the new one although I haven't been on anything quite as rough since.
AnswerID: 107523

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 11:43

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 11:43
Sit down and think - you dont really gain that much for $1000 outlay.

You gain about 40-50ltrs which is 2 jerry cans@ $25ea ......
AnswerID: 107525

Follow Up By: Richard - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 16:50

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 16:50
ditto... i looked at replacing both tanks on my gu and for the outlay is wasnt worth it, carry 5 jerrys instead.
FollowupID: 364434

Follow Up By: Pezza - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 19:05

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 19:05
Yep, I was gonna say the same thing as Truckster, I was thinking of doing the sub tank replacement on the GU, then figured it's only 40lts I'll carry 2 jerry's on the roof for the few times I need to, and drive slower round corners.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 364457

Follow Up By: Ray Shorter - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 21:48

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 21:48
Good point and reality check, Truckster and others. Causes me to step back and reflect a bit more on what I'm best doing about this extra fuel thing for the few long trips (e.g. CSR, extended time in the Simpson etc) I'll really need it. Still concerned about carrying 3-5 jerrycans on the roof though. Ray
ShorterShots

FollowupID: 364484

Follow Up By: Richard - Thursday, Apr 21, 2005 at 16:51

Thursday, Apr 21, 2005 at 16:51
5 jerrys on the roof is no dramas at all. ive got the arb rack and have done 3 simpson crossings, anne beadell, gunbarrel, heather hwy, anyway about 40000 kays, with some pretty rough stuff, with 5 on the roof, and as for cornering it doesnt make a real lot of difference anyway once your used to the different way the 4by reacts.
FollowupID: 364591

Follow Up By: old-plodder - Thursday, Apr 21, 2005 at 19:31

Thursday, Apr 21, 2005 at 19:31
Only reason I put the long range tank in was that the original tank had too many splits, and the aftermarket tank was $100.00 cheaper than a new tank, and only a little more than a tank from the wreckers.

The number of times I use the range is only a few times a year, so not really worth replacing a good original tank :0
FollowupID: 364608

Reply By: Member - Andrew O - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 12:39

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 12:39
Trucky has a point.

I've often thought that if I was really going to enlarge the tanks, I'd put in a larger sub tank first - gets an extra 40L approx, and shares the load between the axles.

In the mean time, I'll use the jerries once every coupld of years that I need them.

AnswerID: 107532

Follow Up By: Ray Shorter - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 21:57

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 21:57
Thanks Andrew. Another point I hadn't considered was the sub replacement. Yep, jerries are certainly a lot cheaper for the relatively few times over a year the extra fuel is needed. Ray
ShorterShots

FollowupID: 364491

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 23:32

Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 23:32
Sub tank for GQ at wandin was $790 + pipework, + new filler + .. +.
he said budget on a grand.
FollowupID: 364984

Reply By: Jim Evans - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 14:33

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 14:33
I too went through the justification of spending close to $1K on aftermarket tanks, but finally convinced myself that the convenience of carrying the extra fuel outside the vehicle, at any time, was worth the extra money. I have had auxiliary/replacement tanks in the last 3 vehicles all from Long Range Automotive in Lilydale, Vic, and have no hesitation in recommending them for the quality of their product and for their friendly after-sales service.
AnswerID: 107542

Follow Up By: Ray Shorter - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 21:59

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 21:59
Thanks Jim. Lots of viewpoints on this obviously. Maybe in the end it comes down to peace of mind and personal preference - costs aside. Ray
ShorterShots

FollowupID: 364492

Reply By: Member - Mike H (VIC) - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 15:02

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 15:02
G'day ray.
many years ago I drove Pajeros ( 86 model and then 93 model, both petrol ). had Brown Davies long range tanks fitted to both.
Did the CSR, OTT, Kimberley, Simpson, Vic High country etc. and never had a problem.

However, once on a Simpson Crossing, before we even got to Dalhousie a Patrol that drove with us sprang a leak on it's long range tank as we drove along the Old Ghan line after we been to Chambers Pillar.
It also was a Brown Davies, so figure ........
If memory serves me :-) I think I had both tanks fitted at Brown Davies's.

Take care,

AnswerID: 107546

Follow Up By: Ray Shorter - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 22:02

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 22:02
Thanks Mike. Seems like even within a tank brand there are good and bad experiences - maybe influenced by vehicle type and how it was handled. Ray
ShorterShots

FollowupID: 364493

Reply By: Ray Shorter - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 22:07

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2005 at 22:07
Thanks everyone for taking the time and trouble to reply to my query - much appreciated, even if the decision is no less complicated than before. I'm amazed at the wealth of experience and advice that this forum allows us to tap into - tremendous. Happy 4WDing. Ray
ShorterShots

AnswerID: 107603