Just when U think its perfect !

Submitted: Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 12:19
ThreadID: 22346 Views:2255 Replies:9 FollowUps:14
I decided last minute to take myself up to Sunny Corner for the day (Sunday) and meet up with some friends who are camping for the long weekend. Arrived around 12noon and did some exploring around the tracks. Time came for me to head off home, said goodbye to everyone and headed off.

Got on the hwy at 5pm heading into Lithgow all was fine no traffic and great as the sun was behind me. Passed Lithgow heading up those awsome hills overtaking heaps of cars thinking my GQ is doing really well. All of a sudden behind me I see this GQ right up my ass. So i moved over to the left lane as you would. Wondering what the hell she had under her bonnet. Anyway, half way up she overtook me like i didnt have the turbo fitted and she just kept going, getting smaller and smaller as she pulled away. But the most annoying part was the fact that it was an RX Turbo Diesel 2.8...YES 2.8 !!! Unless she had a Diesel V8 under her bonnet I'm buggered if i could understand how she could be pulling away so easliy.

To add to this, after the hill, things got very annoying indeed.... TRAFFIC ! yes you would think it was Monday afternoon and everyone was heading home. It was at a standstill from just outside Lithgow all the way to Wentworth Falls. From the time i got on Hwy leaving Sunny Corner to the time i passed Wentworth Falls it took from 5:20pm (lithgow) to Wentworth Falls 7:55pm.... 2 hours 20 minutes ..approx ..thats how long it takes from Sunny Corner to my door.

Someone in the Roads Planning really needs to be shot. What a mess that road is up in the mountains. I know for sure i wont be heading up that way for a long time again....unless of course FORD wins Bathurst...lol

Ok hers a golden oportunity for all you knockers to havea dig.....hit me boys !!

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 12:53

Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 12:53
" ...unless of course FORD wins Bathurst...lol "

No distortion there Angelo, you're coming in load and clear. Over.

Wolfie
AnswerID: 108082

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 13:39

Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 13:39
yeh onlya Wolfie :-)
FollowupID: 364911

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 13:41

Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 13:41
U know what i meant right..?

"ONYA " its ANZAC DAY..im still a bit emotional here. SO proud of those diggers ! Wish i had half their courage.
FollowupID: 364912

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 13:04

Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 13:04
Sounds like the same GQ that over took me on the hills coming out of Adelaide. I was working the Triton(3L V6 just me no passengers, load or trailer), hunting for all the power I could muster and got passed by a red GQ with a camper in tow. Plenty of soot flying out the exhaust but there was no stopping it. I just took a guess someone had figured out how to get a C15 into a Patrol.
AnswerID: 108083

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 13:43

Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 13:43
Hey Blue,
dont tell me ther are more of them out there? This one was that dark Green that came out in the later GQ's..I think from memory 1996 on.
Crikey, 1 is enough !
FollowupID: 364913

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 13:13

Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 13:13
Geez Angelo,

Glad I didn't buy your rig. Fancy getting dragged off by a little 2.8 ................lol

Of course maybe you forgot to put yours back into high range.
AnswerID: 108084

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 13:39

Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 13:39
G'day David,
Just glad it happened to me and not to you if you did buy it mate, I'd never hear the end of it if you did champ..... :-)

Well as some others sujjested...there was increeadable amounts of black soot pumping out the back of that GQ. Made me drop the side mirror and check mine out to...all clear there :-)

I'm buggered if i know what she had in it though...Im sure as hell it wasnt a 2.8. I cant believe how this thingw as pulling away, Not only from me, but from XR8's and a couple of dunnidoors in tow too. Truly amazing thing to see, kinda like an eclips really....not often enough for a GQ.

Hope your well mate.
Ange
FollowupID: 364910

Reply By: D-Jack - Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 14:28

Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 14:28
The GQs to which you refer probably had hiclones fitted.
AnswerID: 108091

Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 15:45

Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 15:45
There is at least 1 2.8 in Kal ith a 6.5L transplant the poor little donk only has a marginally better rep at longevity than the 3.0l
AnswerID: 108092

Follow Up By: WDR - Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 20:31

Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 20:31
It is always a good idea to come back via Bells Line Of Road on long wekends and Sunny Sunday Afternoons - Mind you I did it a couple of weeks ago and got sent back after they closed the road because of an accident.
Nothing worse than being tired, knowing you have to unpack, looking forward to whatever you do after a long drive and then having the whole thing &^%#$%%% by the GW Highway through the mountains - The worse bit is you cannot get out of it
FollowupID: 364941

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 21:10

Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 21:10
Seems Bells Line of road closures is a common thing too as the signs indicated it was closed east of somewhere i just cant remember exactly where.

Hey Davoe......you know something i dont about the chev V8 diesel turbo mate? I thought they were as good as the 4.2 Diesel Nissan motor.
Fill me in.
Ange
FollowupID: 364950

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 21:15

Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 21:15
dont know squat about them except they are powerfull beasts. If your 2.8 goes bang you have 3 options rebuild it but chances are for the money you will want more power, put in a 4.2 but now you are talking gearbox as well so while you have the chequebook out why not go all the way?
FollowupID: 364952

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 21:40

Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 21:40
Well.....before i got this GQ, I was considering a brand new 4.2 ina crate from nissan for my old girl so i rang around, best price i got was 11 grand. from memory i think the 6.5l is around 16 grand supply and fit.
Hell of a lot of money to pay out for a damn motor i recon. It would want to be a total beast for 16 grand.

I must say though mate, after the update on the denco turbo i did a few months ago i am more than happy with its increadable highway performance. Its nice to know it can stay in 5th gear up hills without having to drop down as you go.

Although I am very interested to drive a GQ that runs 12 lbs boost to compare the difference on mine. Maybe in time, if i find someone who is willing to set it up properly without the expense, I just might try it.... not that i need it for what i do.
FollowupID: 364954

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 22:24

Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 22:24
6.5s supply and fit was $13k last time I asked.. that was 2 yr ago
FollowupID: 364966

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 23:10

Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 23:10
As you know though T the 2.8 needs a gearbox upgrade as well
FollowupID: 364977

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 21:40

Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 21:40
Take your foot of the brake!!!!!

AnswerID: 108136

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 21:44

Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 21:44
Mick,
Whats the advantages of the by pass filtering system in Barbara's beast.

Also do the Gu's run dual filters like the GQ's ?

Did it take up alot of room when fitted?
Cheers Ange
FollowupID: 364955

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 26, 2005 at 11:41

Tuesday, Apr 26, 2005 at 11:41
By pass filter removes the solids in the oil down to about 1 micron, spin ons only do about 10 micron, so oil stays cleaner and in turn the spin ons stay cleaner and you can double the ks between oil and filter change.. make the system work for you also. Barbs car has 320000ks and runs like new, the oil in diesels still looks dirty but in a petrol engine the oil stays like honey. My brother has a hilux petrol with 400,000ks still uses no oil with this system. filter unit is only about $120 and the paper filter is about $5 if you want to load them into the canister (its a bit of a job) or by a new complete top for a bout $10. each 5000ks.. We use the car size, much smaller than recommended to save space so change every 3,000ks,, unit is about 4inches dia and about 6inches high, similar size to nissan fuel filter in total.. hope this helps,, Michael

FollowupID: 365028

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 22:20

Monday, Apr 25, 2005 at 22:20
Dont feel bad, theres NO way on earth it was a 2.8 engine..
AnswerID: 108146

Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Apr 26, 2005 at 07:34

Tuesday, Apr 26, 2005 at 07:34
Hey Angelo i did notice you DO go faster downhill !!!! lol.

AnswerID: 108180

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Apr 26, 2005 at 08:56

Tuesday, Apr 26, 2005 at 08:56
G'day Baz,
Yes i was told by a certain "passenger" while offroading on Sunday that i was driving a bit faster than she liked...so i took the hint and slowed it down to ease her pain. Actually was facinating having all 4 wheels actually on the ground at once for a change :-)

Did u get traffic heading home......i sure did. What a joke that hwy is. but i had a great time while i was there.
Thanks for the company.
FollowupID: 365011

Follow Up By: Penguin (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 26, 2005 at 13:39

Tuesday, Apr 26, 2005 at 13:39
Hey Ange & Baz

We were up at Dunns Swamp over the weekend and used the Bell Road to come home yesterday. 1 hour from Scenic Hill to Windsor! You really need to keep away from the Great Western Hwy on long (all) weekends.
FollowupID: 365037

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Apr 26, 2005 at 10:12

Tuesday, Apr 26, 2005 at 10:12
Your other option for heading home from the Lithgow area is to hang around till after tea. Grab a bite in one of the little cafe's in Lithgow or Blackheath, the fish and chips are legendary, and drive home in the dark. Your lights work, don't they?
AnswerID: 108213