Buying Aluminium Blocks - Melbourne
Submitted: Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 10:27
Moggs
I am trying to find / have made 2 x 40mm cubes of solid aluminium with a hole drilled through the middle that will take a 3/8 inch bolt.
Does anyone know of a place in
Melbourne where I would be able to buy / have these made? - even solid steel would do.
I thought it would be easy as it would be just 2 sections cut from some 40mm square bar and then drilled - however I am having difficulty in finding a place who will make them. Don't really want to have to buy 6 meters of the stuff which seems to be the only length I can find.
Any advice greatly appreciated.
BTW, it is going to be used as spacers on an aluminium hawse on a recessed Sahara Bar mount.
Reply By: turbopete - Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 11:05
Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 11:05
have u tried your local engineering
shop they would usually have the size u need in their recycle bin
Reply By: ThePunter - Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 11:06
Reply By: Moggs - Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 11:19
Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 11:19
Yep, have tried a few engineering shops around Dandenong...also onesteel. Will try capral now - however I reckon they will probably only want to sell a full 6 meter length.
Thanks.
Follow Up By: fozzy - Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 12:33
Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 12:33
moggs
dont know if still there but cnr warrigal and waverly-ungar metals -could wring them and ask
fozzy
Follow Up By: fozzy - Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 12:35
Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 12:35
moggs
try this
Ungar Metal Co Pty Ltd
680 Warrigal Rd Chadstone VIC 3148
ph: (03) 9568 0272 Steel Merchants
fozzy
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 12:39
Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 12:39
Caparal will cut it to length for you. they did for me anyway.
they wont drill the hole.
Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 11:25
Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 11:25
Try smart alluminium or similar and drill the holes your self but clamp the blocks when drilling on the will spin.
Follow Up By: Moggs - Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 11:26
Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 11:26
smart aluminium??????
Follow Up By: Grinner - Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 11:29
Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 11:29
There used to be a Smart Aluminium (Company Name) opposite Essendon Airport. They would cut and sell you small lenghts of stock.
Do a white pages search on Smart Aluminium, there's a few around
Grinner
Follow Up By: Moggs - Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 11:29
Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 11:29
ok, found it - owned by Crane - thought you were talking about an actual product. I will try and locate an outlet and give them a call. Thanks
Reply By: Moggs - Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 12:36
Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 12:36
Ahhh...gotta luv this
forum :)
Smart Aluminium are cutting the sections for me as we speak - they won't drill them but I have a drill press at home so shouldn't be too much of a hassel.
Thanks for the help.
Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 13:18
Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 13:18
G'day Moggs,
"handy hint" when drilling aluminium (especially w/- HSS twist drill bits)...
Use a cutting fluid or some kind of lubrication (kero or WD40 or similar will work if you don't have any "proper" cutting fluid), otherwise the aluminium will tend to "gall" and the resulting hole(s) will be very rough...
Actually, I've found that woodworking
tools will work quite satisfactorily on aluminium, so a good spade bit may be a better choice (???)...
Regards, Ed. C.
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: Moggs - Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 13:24
Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 13:24
Thanks for that - you just saved me having to make another post as I was wondering if there was any trick to drilling aluminium :)
I was planing to use a twist bit, but have plenty of spade bits at home.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 17:25
Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 17:25
I also just used Smart Aluminium in Brissie. 14 40x60mm body lift blocks. $44 and I drill the holes myself.
4x4 shops wanted $22/block but with the holes drilled already............................no thanks!
Reply By: hoyks - Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 19:17
Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 19:17
Sharp twist drill and a moderate speed (300 rpm or there abouts) and a cutting fluid and you shouldn't have any problems, drill a pilot hile around 1/8" first too.
If the Aluminium is tempered it will drill a lot better than if it is a soft material and if it is tempered (half or full hard, T4, T6, T62 etc. depending on the alloy) the spade bit will be stuffed very quickly
Reply By: awill4x4 - Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 20:01
Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 20:01
Moggs just use your standard twist drill bit, It will be fine and use a pretty fast cutting speed and some CRC or similar as a lubricant. I fabricate components from aluminium/stainless steel/Chrome Moly Steel all day long so what you intend to do will be fine.
A pity you didn't post it with some time between when you needed it as we probably have some of that section at work and I live in Berwick and work in Carrum Downs so I could have organised getting it too you.
If you need any materials or welding in the future just ask, I may be able to help you.
Regards Andrew.
Reply By: Moggs - Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 20:26
Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 20:26
Thanks for the drilling advice guys - I'll have a crack at it Friday night.
Andrew, yep, I should have posted this up a couple of weeks ago - oh
well, valuable lesson learnt. Thanks for the offer re: materials / welding in the future. I'll definitely give you a yell next time I need something.
Reply By: Member - Frank - Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 22:17
Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 22:17
slow and patience that the trick if you do it to fast it will heat (use lubricant as sugested) and bind, wear safety glasses and gloves the swarf will be long and flicking about everything
pre punch lightly and touch the drill down before starting to ensure alighnment
and swear a lot if it grabs the drill and breaks it wont help but you will feel better
frank
Reply By: Moggs - Friday, Apr 29, 2005 at 20:47
Friday, Apr 29, 2005 at 20:47
Just a follow up re: the drilling of the aluminium..
...I can't believe how easy it drilled. I used a drill press with a new 10mm steel twist bit and it went through the 40mm of aluminium like butter - didn't even get a chance to back it off and put any cutting fluid on. Nice clean hole too.
I would liken it to drilling through 40mm of pine - about the same pressure needed and time taken.