Rodeo V6 fuel consumption

Submitted: Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 00:57
ThreadID: 22676 Views:17440 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
Hi all. Search did not reveal a result so can anyone let me know V6 consumption on highway running & towing please??
Many thanks.

Reply By: Member - John Q (QLD) - Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 08:28

Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 08:28
Hi ianmc, I have a 2002 V6 Rodeo D/C & around town get just over 7km/l, on the highway nearly 8km/l, towing a CT on mainly highway (provided I don't flog it) around 7km/l. Last year on one trip I did just on 6000km through highway & outback (Flinders Ranges & Corner Country, some dry & some wet tracks) towing a CT & averaged 6.42km/l. Hope this is some help & obviously depends on how you drive.

just crusin & smelling the flowers

1. At Halls Creek (Is he really lost?)
2. East of Cameron Cnr

AnswerID: 109763

Reply By: Griddo - Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 10:04

Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 10:04
ianmac

i currently own a 1999 dual cab v6 with 54000. I have had it for two years and only have done about 9000km. I thought the v6 would be a good choice to pull my 19 foot ali boat around. Power wise yep has plenty to get the boat to where i need it but fuel wise they just chew the juice when loaded. With no weight and taking it easy john's figures are about right. But when you give it a bit of right foot you can literally see the fuel guage going down . I am running 31 10.5 r15 which i think are a little bit bigger than stndrad. That may also have an effect

Mine is currently for sale
AnswerID: 109784

Reply By: signman - Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 12:39

Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 12:39
2000 V6 3.2 manual 4WD...highway cruisin' about 13.5 l/100km
around town..high 14s or low 15s l/100km
AnswerID: 109807

Reply By: ianmc - Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 14:13

Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 14:13
Thanks all. About what I expected but cant get over why Jap utes use more fuel by far than the V6 Commodore yet we thiunk so well of their technology.
Griddo, the bigger tyres would alter speedo readings & use a bit more fuel/.
Maybe U could email me with details of your ute . I am in West Vic so only if not too far away!
AnswerID: 109834

Follow Up By: ColinD - Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 15:48

Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 15:48
I have a mate who put a holden V6 into a Hilux extra cab and gets very poor fuel economy. All to do with weight, gearing, and aerodynamics. Its like comparing chalk to.....................
FollowupID: 366405

Follow Up By: Richard & Leonie - Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 20:21

Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 20:21
The main difference is the Commodore has, what I believe, a motor based upon a German design. The Rodeo I believe, like the Frontera, is an Izusu motor. I fail to understand however how it is all of the car manufacturers, even after designing engines for yonks, cannot get all their engines to have about the same fuel economy. Beats me. Its almost like they sacked all the old guys who were designing engines and who had already made all the mistakes and knew not to repeat them and now they have employed all the clever young turks who have not made all the mistakes yet so they have to make them all over again at our expense.

Probably at 63 I am getting too cynical. By the way, what day is it?

FollowupID: 366463

Follow Up By: Moz - Friday, May 06, 2005 at 00:00

Friday, May 06, 2005 at 00:00
The problem is that technology changes in manufacturing
and design.
New materials are used in engines to reduce weight.
Regulations for noise and emmisions are constantly being
tightened.
And of course the almighty dollar has the final say in how
a particular engine performs.
For example there might be 2 different solutions to achieve
a certain specification for an engine.
Option A might be cheaper by 20% but will result in higher
fuel consumption.
Option B costs more but means better fuel economy.
It is likely the manufacturer will take Option A.

And include the other factors as mentioned above and
no two cars/engines are alike.

Cheers Moz
FollowupID: 366526

Follow Up By: Griddo - Friday, May 06, 2005 at 09:37

Friday, May 06, 2005 at 09:37
ianmc

I live in the soutwest of WA

Maybe a bit too far

But for your info 1999 D/C V6 petrol. 54000km white. Factory tray liner from new. Tonneu (can't spell to save myself). ARB bull bar. Spotlights. Clarion 6 stack cd changer with single cd in the dash with remote control. It is immaculate inside. Really only bought to tow my boat.
FollowupID: 366559

Follow Up By: chillagoe - Friday, May 06, 2005 at 23:46

Friday, May 06, 2005 at 23:46
Hi all new member
I fitted a 3.8 vp v6 with a th700 auto to my 90 rodeo 4x4 dual cab
I get about 8klm tp the ltre on a trip and about 7 around town it has a higher o/d than the manual I had to fit a toyota transfer box to complete the modification power you would not believe handles one and a half tonne no probs
way to go bro
FollowupID: 366692

Reply By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 20:04

Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 20:04
Hi Ian,

Not sure what model you are after, but I've got a 2004 RA V6 and get about 16L/100KM pretty much no matter what I do. The only thing I tow is a trailer and even when it's full of 300KG worth of dirt, still doesn't seem to bother the Rodeo.

Smocky.
AnswerID: 109903

Follow Up By: Mick - Friday, May 06, 2005 at 08:15

Friday, May 06, 2005 at 08:15
Smocky, it certainly should be able to tow that amount with no bother at all but the consumption is a worry. I get better than that towing a 17foot van with a TD Prado! I'm towing at least 4 times your trailer weight to say nothing of the added wind resistance so maybe have it checked out.
FollowupID: 366544

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Friday, May 06, 2005 at 09:21

Friday, May 06, 2005 at 09:21
Hi Mick,

Yeh, I realise that's not a lot of weight, I was just offering that I don't really tow much and 16l/100 is about average for me regardless. That seems to be pretty much the norm for the 3.5L petrol Rodeo. Thirsty little buggers.

I love my Rodeo, but if anyone is looking to buy one, fuel economy definately goes in the CONS column.

Smocky.
FollowupID: 366555