Flag Poles

Submitted: Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 17:23
ThreadID: 22691 Views:2912 Replies:10 FollowUps:12
Hi all. I'm one of those so called freeloaders come visitor type creature thats been sussing (spelchec) out this forum for awhile and finding it one of the best by along way. Anyways I've decided its time to come out of the closet (so to speak).
I was reading a post the other night on flag poles and as I'm doing the Simpson Desert with a small group in early July, and there's one item I'm stumped with' so i reckon why not "ask those who have been there and done it".
My question is what's the best thingabob to use as a flag pole, and whats the reccomended hieght. I've tried a few different thingabobs over the years at Robe with little satisfaction. Assistance here would be greatly appreciated as it should make the trip for both my family and that of of others that much safer. May be the DSE need to put up signs at iether end of tracks with dunes that restrict vision of on comming traffic that " If you drive here without FLAGS your a BL!#@y idot ".
I"ll take that back if there is info in the Desert Park Pass Kit as i have yet to get one. Thanks in advance for those who reply.

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 17:29

Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 17:29
the majority seem to use "wog poles " squid jigging poles extendable pole about $40 at a fishing shop i was going to look at bamboo surf rod blank but they are not extenable
AnswerID: 109860

Follow Up By: Steve West - Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 20:22

Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 20:22
well now i no i have to get out more, never would have thought of those sugestions, first things first a visit to the tackle shop to get a wog or jigging pole and while i'm there, how much were those poles again $100 or so did i read. "dont tell the chain and anchor".
Thanks steve from steve
FollowupID: 366465

Follow Up By: rickwagupatrol - Friday, May 06, 2005 at 00:51

Friday, May 06, 2005 at 00:51
hiya steve,,,,i use an old fishing rod,,,9 feet long,,but the two piece variety. and the missus made a flag out of a few old safety vests,,,big and bright, fluro green and orange-can be seen for miles.

rick.
FollowupID: 366535

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 17:36

Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 17:36
Steve,
Go to your nearest push bike shop and buy the little flag pole that they sell for pushbikes,it is about 2 meters high and bolt it to your roof rack or attach it to your 2way aerial.
Cost about $10.
I have used mine on four desert trips and it's still going strong.
Just make sure that you take it off when you get back on the blacktop.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 109862

Follow Up By: Steve West - Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 20:27

Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 20:27
thanks for that idea Dodger but i dont have to go to the bike shop, i do the maintanence at a primary school and i'm sure i've seen those poles somewhere around the school grounds
FollowupID: 366466

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, May 06, 2005 at 13:40

Friday, May 06, 2005 at 13:40
I'm using an old 27mhz fiberglass whip that screws onto a big spring base mounted on the top of the roof rack. I used two hose clamps and some old fluro work shirt material to make the flag. Works well and fits down the side of the vehicle on the floor.

Dodger :-) Yeah I've forgotten a couple of times, you wonder why your foot is so far down on the pedal to get to 100km/hr! ! Then the light globe dings above your head and you take the flag off!
FollowupID: 366612

Reply By: Wombat - Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 17:56

Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 17:56
Steve, I copied this from somewhere for when i decide I need one. It may be helpful.

For your squid pole try Compleat (yes it's spelt that way) Angler. Don't know if they exist in QLD but maybe call the Dandenong Store in Vic and find out who distributes, call the distibutor and find out who they supply in QLD.

The one from Compleat Angler is $30 for a 6m and $40 for a 7m. Beware of cheapies, under the load of swinging in the breeze they crack at the telescopic joins. Not worth saving $10 or $15.
AnswerID: 109869

Follow Up By: Steve West - Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 20:40

Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 20:40
I will give compleat angler a ring tomorrow and see what i can find out the closest to me is melb cbd thanks for that.
FollowupID: 366470

Reply By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 18:22

Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 18:22
Look at your vehicle and think of it on a 45 angle and think about another vehicle on the opposite angle on the other side of a sand dune. The idea of the flag is that the oncoming vehicle can see something waving and fluttering (large, red-orange) on the top of a sand dune. Needs to be attached to the roof rack and as high as you can get it. Not to be attached to UHF or HF antennae.
AnswerID: 109874

Follow Up By: Steve West - Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 20:51

Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 20:51
I new i should have taken more notice of the cruiser on those dunes at Portland the last time we were there. and i carn't even use the winch on the trees i had out the front as i had them all cut down. bugga, but i know what you mean thanks for the tip ruth.
Regards steve west, not to be confused with just steve.
FollowupID: 366476

Follow Up By: Mark R - Friday, May 06, 2005 at 19:06

Friday, May 06, 2005 at 19:06
Hi Ruth,
Don't want to seem like a smart ar$e but I figure if you use the same length pole and consider its visibility in various locations, moving it from the bull bar to the front of the roof rack will move it back further than it will move it up (eg on my LC100 it would lift it about 90cm but move it back about 180cm). Therefore, using your example of 45º, the approaching vehicles would have to be closer together to see each other than if it was on the bull bar. I think it would be a better idea to have the pole on the bull bar but angled forward maybe 20º-30º. Whaddaya reckon??
Regards Mark
FollowupID: 366650

Reply By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 18:29

Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 18:29
HI Steve wog pole for me check the rig pic,
there are 2 types, fibre glass cheapest but maybe not as strong as the carbon fibre,
when packed about 1 metre long the last thin end is to thin to use.
Mine doubles as a 'street light" at about 3.6M for the camp when attached to the rear door.

AnswerID: 109877

Follow Up By: Steve West - Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 21:14

Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 21:14
I'll give the tackle shop a definate ring as i can see these poles hoisting the old versa lite a little bit closer to the stars thanks bernie.
FollowupID: 366485

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 22:52

Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 22:52
Hi Steve, I have a piece of pvc pipe fixed to the inside panel of the rear door that the pole sits in, about 3.6m above ground seems to give the best light spread, light is pirana & a steel bracket.

FollowupID: 366511

Reply By: conman - Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 18:55

Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 18:55
well Steve,
Next time you play golf.......
AnswerID: 109883

Follow Up By: Steve West - Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 21:56

Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 21:56
are conman, i've got the clubs and lots of balls, golf balls that is, and a mate who has been try to get me to take up golf for a while, well i've got another reason to atempt the game now even if i carn't hold a club properly, atleast i'll get some exercise running from the greens keeper if he see's me. Second thoughts not a good idea to be caught with green keepers pole ( stickee thingabob ) in hand.
FollowupID: 366496

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, May 06, 2005 at 07:34

Friday, May 06, 2005 at 07:34
G'day Steve,

Don't know where you are but I read Qld mentioned, I'm in Brisbane and whent down the same enquiry path as you about 6 months ago. They haven't heard of these wog poles or jig sticks up here but ended up getting one ordered through the local tackle store. The thing is 7 metres tall and I reckon I'll be visible for miles. Packs up in a neat package for storage.

Need any more info let me know.

AnswerID: 109961

Follow Up By: MrBitchi - Friday, May 06, 2005 at 10:47

Friday, May 06, 2005 at 10:47
Care to name the tackle store? Am after one myself.

Thanks, John.
FollowupID: 366570

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Friday, May 06, 2005 at 08:26

Friday, May 06, 2005 at 08:26
Don't worry about fishing rods etc. buy a proper sand flag.

Half the home made ideas end up useless because they are too flexible ie they migh be 10 foot high when stationary but as soon as you are moving they bend back making them useless. I have seen some with to big or too heavy a flag and they have been bent over touching the roof while stationary when windy.

I am all for saving a bit of money but too many people out there spend thousands on there vehicles and then go and cut corners by savving $40 on a sand flag.

You can get a really good flag with mounting bracket that comes in three sections, doesen't break and the flag is non rip for $100. Try outbackideas@three.com.au

The fishing rods tend to be easily broken when going under trees etc.

As far as height goes the higher the better and usually 12ft from ground. Mount to front of vehicle or there is a chance it wont be seen on a dune.
AnswerID: 109972

Reply By: Member - Gary W (VIC) - Friday, May 06, 2005 at 13:25

Friday, May 06, 2005 at 13:25
I have a squid/wog pole 5m - 5 section unit. Attached to Front bar with cable ties and duct tape. Worked a treat. Got my pole from the local fishing shop for $35ish.

Had a neighbour sow up a flag using the parachute type material.

We got up to about 60kph on the clay pans and the poles did bend a bit but never looked like breaking.

!MPG:8!

Gaz
AnswerID: 110024

Reply By: Gossy - Friday, May 06, 2005 at 16:01

Friday, May 06, 2005 at 16:01
I haven't read whole forum (it's too long!). I used a fishing pole and it lasted 10 mins on Googs Track. The loops on the rod got caught on branches. Just go straight to a 4wd shop and buy the proper thing and get it done right the first time. Mine "pops" on and off using a air hose connection which is a perfect fit for the base of the flag. Never have to screw/unscrew the flag again.
The only problem with the proper flags is that they don't split in half so they can be a bit long to store in the car (or roofrack) when not in use.
AnswerID: 110043

Follow Up By: Pluto - Friday, May 06, 2005 at 17:42

Friday, May 06, 2005 at 17:42
You can get split flag poles. I have a 3m, 2 piece pole from ARB that is mounted with a quick release coupling on the bullbar.

!MPG:3!

I also agree with you Gossy, Goog's Track is hard on a flag (and also essential), but a purpose built flag will handle a fair amount of abuse.
FollowupID: 366640