toyota HJ60 2H motor Xchange to 1HZ motor

Submitted: Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 22:49
ThreadID: 22702 Views:11526 Replies:2 FollowUps:1
I recently researched possabilities for a Xchange of motor in my HJ60 landcruiser being a 2H from this site. I have had some excellent feedback regarding turboing the old girl or refitting with a 12HT motor which are obviously in short supply and over priced. I have a friend who has refitted from a v8 350 (brought like that) back to a 1HZ Diesel motor in his early 80's tray toyota. He says that the 1HZ pulls the same if not better than the 12HT?? and it is naturally aspirated (suits me). He informs me that the 1HZ will bolt up to the HJ60 Bell Housing but he is unsure about the engine mounts due to him transfering from a v8 petrol he had to alter them anyway.
Can anyone out there throw any light on the subject due to the 1HZ motors being much, much cheaper, more redely available, possibly as easy to fit and just as powerfull as the 12HT.

Thankyou All,
Blackie

Reply By: scott666 - Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 23:46

Thursday, May 05, 2005 at 23:46
Gday Blackie I have a 60 series cruiser and have just fitted a 1996 1hz with dts turbo the motor bolted up to the 60 series deisel gearbox but we had a bush made up out of bronze to fit into the crankshaft as when the motor bolted up the spiget shaft was about 14mm short of going into the spiget bearing the engine mounts on the chassis are now off an 80 series and the mounts themselves are a mixture of 60 and 80 series you also have to use the 60 series clutch plate throw in bearing and pressure plates are the same all wireing needed to be lenghtend,exhaust is on the oppisite side and starter motor, also power steering pipes, radiator mods are nessesary cluch folk is on the other side you need 1hz bellhousing and the cluch slave cylinder needs to be 1hz and longer hydrolic lines made, any other questions just send me an email fat666@exemail.com.au I hope this helps cheers Scott
AnswerID: 109948

Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Friday, May 06, 2005 at 15:14

Friday, May 06, 2005 at 15:14
our current work ute has a max speed of 120kph maybe 130 (in 4th) the average 1hz ute has a max speed of 130kph so I doubt your mates claim on them having more go than a 12ht - but i have never driven one. my 80 1hz goes quite well but has different gearing than your 60
AnswerID: 110036

Follow Up By: floyd - Friday, May 06, 2005 at 15:51

Friday, May 06, 2005 at 15:51
I have owned a 12HT at the same time as my brothers and many mates have owned 1HZ's. There is no comparison with the power. My 12HT with 400,000kms on the clock blows the doors off the 1HZ's. There is no comparison. fuel economy is also better. Several Toyota mechanics that I know reckon that the 12HT is by far the best Factory Turbo that Toyota has ever built. My brother now owns my 12HT and it has 480,000 on the original engine and still burns no oil. 12HT has better torque than my ute with 300 KW holden motor. Will pull a fully loaded tandem trailer overtaking at 120. I have taken the car up to 160 and it had reserve. The 1HZ will never do that or pull as well. You pay extra for the 12HT but that is because it is a whole lot better in every way. No comparison.
FollowupID: 366621