Suitable tyre pressures?

Submitted: Friday, May 13, 2005 at 21:02
ThreadID: 22972 Views:2893 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
G'Day All
just thought I'd pick tour brains on what tyre pressures you think would be suitable on the troopy[carrying all the usual gear on 285/75/16 BFG muddies] and the camper trailer[265/75 BFG a/t's] while travelling the likes of GRR and Gulf Track. Any opinions/ideas would be appreciated.

Troopytrek!!!!

Reply By: Paul - OzRoamer Camper Trailer - Friday, May 13, 2005 at 22:03

Friday, May 13, 2005 at 22:03
Troopytrek

I had an issue with my muddies and met with a Michellin rep (they own BFG) today who was really helpful and apart from fixing the prob stated that I should be at least 36psi.
I then spoke to a mate of mine who is the guru of tyres in Sydney (Spinning Wheels & Tyres) who said that 40psi would be his advice.

This is for normal work not sand, snow or sh*t.

Mine are the 255/85R16
AnswerID: 111236

Follow Up By: Member - Troopytrek - Friday, May 13, 2005 at 22:12

Friday, May 13, 2005 at 22:12
Paul,
When you say normal work do you mean that as bitumen or such tracks as GRR & Gulf Track?

Troopytrek!!
P.S. What sort of trouble with yours [If you don't mind me asking!]
FollowupID: 367620

Follow Up By: Paul - OzRoamer Camper Trailer - Friday, May 13, 2005 at 22:29

Friday, May 13, 2005 at 22:29
He statement was that they are classified as a LT and you need more pressure than the usual 30 or 35.
I understand that 40 at all times except when you are in sand or have the sharp gibber type rock thing happening??
FollowupID: 367621

Follow Up By: Skinnydog - Sunday, May 15, 2005 at 00:53

Sunday, May 15, 2005 at 00:53
I have 285/75R16's BFG muddies on a 100series and run 46f & 48r on the blacktop & drop to 34f 36r for tracks and sharp rocks & i start at 20 for sand. After a bit over 50000km i only had my first two flats a couple of weeks ago in some stake country going around an overgrown section of a little used track ,they were'nt even flats really just slow leaks that got a little faster on the trip back to Hedland & both repairable. Reckon i've got about another 40 to 50000 left in them at their rate of wear, i carry two spare on the back.
FollowupID: 367685

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, May 14, 2005 at 08:10

Saturday, May 14, 2005 at 08:10
Troopytrek
Don't know about BFG's but we run Pro Comp 33" muddies and have them at 40 psi for bitumen always. On sand I always drop them to 18 psi Can't comment on GRR etc 'cos I am yet to go there :-(

I am of the opinion that with gibbers, dirt roads etc, perhaps down to 30psi (?) The theory being that you are still running good pressures but the tyre tread/wall isn't hard enough for sharp stones to "pop"??? I may stand corrected with this and am keen to see if anyone agrees with me!

To quote the Truckster;
YMMV
AnswerID: 111255

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Saturday, May 14, 2005 at 08:17

Saturday, May 14, 2005 at 08:17
Troopytrek,

Just going from experience, the 90 / 40 rule

Travel no faster than 90kph and run no more than 40psi on dirt roads.

I have always run 38psi ,front and back, on all roads. The only time to reduce tyre pressure is on sand and then it is between 20psi and 15psi.

I know tyre salespersons and others will say other wise but this is what I have found from traveling out back roads.

As for the camper I have no experience at all but would think that what is in the vehicle tyres would be in the camper tyres.

AnswerID: 111256

Reply By: Crackles - Saturday, May 14, 2005 at 11:43

Saturday, May 14, 2005 at 11:43
Gaday ??? With all the additional weight over the rear with the twin tyre carrier & 180 litres of fuel etc........ I'd look at 42 psi in the rear & 38 in the front for the dirt. Obviously troopy's are heavier than most other 4bys so should have higher preasure than the 35 psi alot recomend. I also found when fully loaded as you let them down the troopys high centre of gravity made the car unstable at speed. On the tar I'd put them up to 42 front & 45 rear.
Cheers Craig...........
AnswerID: 111264

Reply By: TroopyTracker - Saturday, May 14, 2005 at 19:20

Saturday, May 14, 2005 at 19:20
Troopytrek,
I run same tyres as your self(one set of AT's and a set of MT's) although mine are 15 inch diameter. On the side wall it states maximum load and states this at 35psi. My previous BFG's said the same (35's) and I've always thought that means that their maximum pressure should be 35psi and ran my 35s at 35psi for 80k km's (and then sold them with at least another 10k km's in them. Having said that while I've never driven the roads you're talking about I agree with others and would run high 20's in front and low 30's in rear. Theory being tyres will flex rather than puncture or fracture.

I'd keep an eye on pressures when runnung them this low to make sure they aren't at risk of over heating-BANG.

BTW, your vehicle is almost a twin of mine, right down to the very rare in this vehicle efi petrol motor!
Matt
AnswerID: 111283

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Sunday, May 15, 2005 at 17:50

Sunday, May 15, 2005 at 17:50
I have done all these roads and always lower the psi when going on gravel roads. Normally run 32 and 35 on blacktop then lower to 25psi when on gravel.
Usually I tow an off road van and have the pressures at around 35 rear and 30 on front , plus 35 on the van when traversing gravel or rocky roads. I also lower the speed and do not go over 80k's on these roads. When I rejoin the blacktop with the van on go back up to 45 on the van and 40 0n rear of truck plus 35 on front.
My van is a single axle job and weighs in at max load 1800kg. The truck when fully loaded at 3400kg.
The truck has an upgraded suspension to cater for these loads.

I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 111351

Follow Up By: Graham & Ann - Wednesday, May 18, 2005 at 22:47

Wednesday, May 18, 2005 at 22:47
Dodger is pretty well right on the money for mine, our vehicle and van (have covered thousands of km on dirt) currently fitted with BFG LT (Bridgestone P rated before that and still no provblems) 245/70x16 normally run while towing van 30f 34r 50van (single axle 2 ton) once on the dirt we reduce down to 20f 26r 38van and keep speeds down to max 80kph. Every one on our current trip up the Oodnadatta Track, Dalhousie Springs, MT Dare Finke, and the Tanami into Halls Creek that has had a tyre problem have all been rear tyres on vehicle and running mid to high 30's. Rule for dirt roads is lower tyre pressures and slow down, just ask those in the bush that should know, like mechanics at Birdsville and Pink Roadhouse, I'm sure you'll find that they will advise run the lowest pressures for the load being carried.
FollowupID: 368220

Reply By: Member - Troopytrek - Monday, May 16, 2005 at 21:40

Monday, May 16, 2005 at 21:40
G'Day All'
Just would like to thank you all for your responses in this matter.

Troopytrek!!!
AnswerID: 111528