Night Driving Etiquettte!

Submitted: Monday, May 16, 2005 at 17:54
ThreadID: 23033 Views:2349 Replies:13 FollowUps:33
G'Day all,(soap Box again)

Headed up to Yarrawonga for the weekend via Yea, Benalla etc, we left after work on friday so mainly travelled in the dark and couldn't believe how many cars first of all that sit on about 90- 95k, fair enough thats there call, but as you approach them to overtake bugger all have there high beams on so you can see what the road is like ahead, firstly why would you travell country roads at night without your high beams on? and secondly for those that don't know (surely no one from this site) it is far safer to keep your high beams on when about to be overtaken only dipping them when the car pulls along side of you so as the overtaking car can have a much better view of the road ahead and can immediately put there's on as they go past!...........Hop off Box now :-)

Browny

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, May 16, 2005 at 18:10

Monday, May 16, 2005 at 18:10
An interesting point. I've always gone to low beam to show the vehicle behind that it was safe to pass ??
AnswerID: 111480

Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 00:14

Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 00:14
FL,
Nah not the answer mate, light it up the best you can, it's obviouse when a car is comming the other direction, but what the road is doing 100 mts ahead is a different story.

Browny
FollowupID: 367907

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, May 16, 2005 at 18:19

Monday, May 16, 2005 at 18:19
Yeah it stuns me too, not only the people who don't turn on the High beam, but the Knob spankers that just leave them on comming the other way, or worse the arrogant so and so's who think that it's ok to have the Highbeams on if they sit 200m behind you on the highway. GGRRRRRR!
AnswerID: 111482

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Monday, May 16, 2005 at 18:40

Monday, May 16, 2005 at 18:40
In that case it's perfectly OK to take your foot completley off the pedal and wait for him to pass you and then give him a "cop that" in return.

I have been known to let my car slow down to 70 or less in a 110 zone if some d!ck is doing the hight beam thing behind me.

Oh By The Way, I believe that Road Rage has been approved should these twat-heads not get the message.
FollowupID: 367837

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, May 16, 2005 at 18:20

Monday, May 16, 2005 at 18:20
Gday Browny!

Long time no speak. Reason being is not everyone is experienced night time drivers. Alot are first timers and/or every nown' againers. Unfortunately, they don't teach this at driving school!

P.S - I'm thinking bout' selling the truck late this year. I'll keep ya posted.
AnswerID: 111483

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, May 16, 2005 at 18:25

Monday, May 16, 2005 at 18:25
Hey Chris

Where ya been mate?? You have been very quiet. How are things in the homeland

Ads
FollowupID: 367829

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, May 16, 2005 at 18:31

Monday, May 16, 2005 at 18:31
Sorry to hijack your post Browny!

Mate, going well, bought into a franchise up here in sunny QLD looking after Redcliffe to....well as far North as I want to go. Just got my ADSL setup today, so where did I go first??

Your truck is looking much different since I last saw it! Going well I see!

How's things with you?

Chris.
FollowupID: 367834

Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 00:10

Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 00:10
G'Day Chris,

Your right I'm sure there was no malice by any of the drivers just ignorance, and I'm sure travelling at the speeds they do they never have the need to pass anyone so therefore don't realise there error.

Browny
P.S. I've sent you a PM, before I read your reply here!
FollowupID: 367906

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 12:33

Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 12:33
Howdy mate,

Roger that. Have replied.

chris.
FollowupID: 367960

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, May 16, 2005 at 18:22

Monday, May 16, 2005 at 18:22
Hi Brownie

I know what you mean mate, We went to mansfield on friday night and we were passing some cars and as we went to pass they dropped back to low beam, i know they were just being considerate to us, but we lost all vision. I waited till i was on their rear crn of their car and lite the road up, and their car hahaha, not on purpose but i needed to see.

If in doubt brownie, flick that switch mate, its your safety too

Crazie
AnswerID: 111484

Follow Up By: Exploder - Monday, May 16, 2005 at 18:49

Monday, May 16, 2005 at 18:49
Gday all

Never really come across too many people not using the high beam at night, If they are coming at you with the high beams on I just give them a couple second’s to tern them off and if they don’t I hit them with the full arsenal High beam, Spot light’s and fog light’s.

It dose not bother me too much if they are a fair distance away and keep them on but when they keep them on when they get close that is not cool.

One time going up to Kalgoorlie between Southern Cross and Kalgoorlie at about 9.30 night, a new land cruiser shot past me doing 140kp/h (I sat behind him for about 40km before deciding he was insane and slowing to a more appropriate speed for this area at night) This bloke or lady had no B/bar and did not use the high beams once in the time I was following them/ had it in my vision.

The mind boggles.
FollowupID: 367839

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Monday, May 16, 2005 at 20:01

Monday, May 16, 2005 at 20:01
> hit them with the full arsenal High beam, Spot light’s and fog light’s

Yeah and maybe wipe out a whole family or someones mum, or dad, brother, sister, or your own mate....is that what you want

How about just a quick fick of the high beams for a split second.

FollowupID: 367856

Follow Up By: Exploder - Monday, May 16, 2005 at 20:50

Monday, May 16, 2005 at 20:50
Yes that is what I was referring to a flash of the light’s But as the fog light’s are wired into the high beam and the spotlight’s switch would be primed (when in the country) the hole load will come on.
AS I said I do give them time to correct their error and what about me and the people in my car as they are blinding the fuc* out of me I can’t see were I am going ether

You have to send the message loud and clear the first time.
FollowupID: 367868

Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 00:19

Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 00:19
G'Day Crazie,

Most annoying, we were actually in the wifes V8 Calais so plenty of poke to get round'em, the most annoying thing was she was driving and hasn't got the best night vision anyway so lost her nerve a bit, so I had to put the cans away and do the driving!!!!

Browny
FollowupID: 367909

Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 14:43

Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 14:43
Exploder: simple. It was a mine vehicle. They have night vision built in to the windscreen so they're safe to do this!

Browny- now I see the root of the bitterness. It isnt a gripe on night driving etiquette, is it? Its a whinge about being denied your roadies. I feel for you mate. lol
FollowupID: 367994

Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Wednesday, May 18, 2005 at 14:16

Wednesday, May 18, 2005 at 14:16
BS,

HeHe, well lets say it didn't help!

Browny
FollowupID: 368149

Reply By: Gajm (VIC) - Monday, May 16, 2005 at 19:52

Monday, May 16, 2005 at 19:52
I agree with what you said Browny, and do the high beam till the car is up along side. but whats the best thing to do when using high beams on a free way, with land in between, I usualy keep on highbeam if there are trees and cars travelling in the opposite direction, but what about when there is the gaps where there are no trees?...what is a respectfull chunk of ground between sides of the road where you can leave them on?

I was travelling on the freeway one night at about 2am, and was the only car on the road. I had the highbeams on, and I think, the driving lights, and a copper parked in the bushes in the centre of the freeway didn't appreciate it, and he let me know by turning his high beams on as I came towards him. Which I thought was bloody stupid, with him being hidden off the road, and me not breaking any laws. I thought about turning around and having a few words with him, but knew who'd come out on top of that argument. What do others think?...don't mind comments either way.
AnswerID: 111498

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, May 16, 2005 at 20:30

Monday, May 16, 2005 at 20:30
Its a difficult question but very important. On the one hand you don't want to be temporarily blinded, or blind the other vehicle, but on the other hand, your chances of hitting a roo increase dramatically when you are on low beam and another car is approaching with their lights dipped - you just can't see them at all, especially around here where they abound (sorry about the pun).

Driving lights complicate the issue because you can induce more than just temporary blindness. I reckon they should go off in moderately built up areas even if there is a chance another vehicle is approaching over the hill or around the bend. In my experience, people with the 'full arsenal' are too slow to dip.

I agree that the vehicle in front should only dip when the overtaking vehicle has drawn level (its nice to draw level and demonstrate the 'full arsenal' to someone whose headlights look like a couple of kero lanterns)
FollowupID: 367862

Follow Up By: Exploder - Monday, May 16, 2005 at 20:56

Monday, May 16, 2005 at 20:56
Just remember it is illegal in WA anyway to have spotlight’s switched on in the metro area maybe this is way the cop flashed you.
FollowupID: 367870

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Monday, May 16, 2005 at 23:29

Monday, May 16, 2005 at 23:29
it was a freeway running behind farms etc, I just thought it was a dangerous response, id rather have seen the little coloured lights flick on, than blind me and scare the bejeevers out of me
FollowupID: 367899

Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 00:22

Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 00:22
Yeah not sure ther Gajm,

The freeway is a funny one, because you get used to the highbeams and spotties then enter a freeway doing the same speeds.

Browny
FollowupID: 367910

Reply By: WDR - Monday, May 16, 2005 at 20:42

Monday, May 16, 2005 at 20:42
I grew up and learnd to drive on the eyre peninsula in SA when the road between Adelaide and Perth was mainly dirt (I can tell some good stories about pre 4x4 drives on slippery clay) - we needed to "commute" to Adelaide at least three times a year (at least once a year with the truck loaded up with bales of wool) . In those days I was taught to show the guy overtaking what was in front and take off high beam as his high lights came on when passing me - i bet most of the driving instructors don't even know about it, much less teach it.
I have often wondered about the freeway situation - a good example is the Sydney to Newcastle F3 when there is not much traffic around - One needs high beam in many places and I think the powers to be try to plant bushes so they can be used but of course we motorists keep on knocking them down.
It is an interesting point.
AnswerID: 111509

Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 00:25

Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 00:25
WDR,

Seems the obviouse thing to do, but it's not for many

Browny
FollowupID: 367911

Reply By: Member - Gary W (VIC) - Monday, May 16, 2005 at 20:59

Monday, May 16, 2005 at 20:59
I was taught to always leave the lights on high until the passing vehicle is along side. This was so the driver behind could see ahead. This was in a country secondary road environment.

Gaz
AnswerID: 111513

Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 00:27

Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 00:27
Spot on Gazza.......

Browny
FollowupID: 367912

Follow Up By: Wazza - (Vic) - Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 22:08

Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 22:08
Hey Gary,

Who taught you this ?? I bet it was your father. My dad taught me the same thing. And I am sure you and I will pass it down to our sons and daughters and grandchildren. So much we see of lost driving etiquet I think is attributed to people gaining all their driving experience in the city or not having someone to pass down the little things..... little things that are common sense when you think of them.

One of my dad's pet hates was people doing 80km/h up a hill and then 120km/h down the hill. Now it is one of my pet hates as well when you have to overtake someone and then 5 minutes later they overtake you ... like a game of leapfrog with all that unnecessary overtaking just because they cannot sit on a fixed speed. This happens on the freeways on flat land as well.

Anyway, enough ranting from me.

Wazza.
FollowupID: 368064

Follow Up By: Member - Gary W (VIC) - Wednesday, May 18, 2005 at 11:03

Wednesday, May 18, 2005 at 11:03
Hey wazza,

It was actually a youth leader. I think these things are more commonly taught in the bush - when was the last time you used Hbeam in the city?

I too get annoyed at varying speeds getting stuck behind someone on a hill but unable get around them when the opportunity presents without putting the pedal to the floor.

Gaz
FollowupID: 368130

Reply By: Batboy - Monday, May 16, 2005 at 21:11

Monday, May 16, 2005 at 21:11
If you get wallys like that mate and you really have to pass, flick your high beams up as you pull out. At least you will have a better whats up ahead before you commit and bugger the guy in front, its not going to blind him, just annoy him a little and he may even learn a little lesson.
If you have big spotties throw them on too. He will probably slow down so you can get past quicker
AnswerID: 111518

Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 00:29

Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 00:29
Bb,

After about the 5th time they started coming on a bit earlier.

Browny
FollowupID: 367913

Reply By: Toy_Hilux - Monday, May 16, 2005 at 21:48

Monday, May 16, 2005 at 21:48

Here is something else to throw into the pot. I know that every state has their own set of road rule on which they govern by, but also there is a governing agenda that overshadows these, and that is the National Driving Laws. I didn't even know half of the answers to most of their so called standard questions when this event was telecast. Most of us after years of driving, follows simple common sense rules with polite driving etiquette. But according to these rules, everyone of us are breaking road rules everyday.

The best and most ridiculas rule is the one in which states

Q. That on night time driving, what is the limit on which you should dim your lights?

A. (a) 100mts
(b) 200mts
(c) 300mts
(d) None.

See if anyone nows the so called National Test answer, this covers all of Aus, not just individual states. Look it up if need be, you might be surprised!!!!!! Dont know, I'll answer after a few guesses.
AnswerID: 111534

Follow Up By: WDR - Monday, May 16, 2005 at 22:01

Monday, May 16, 2005 at 22:01
None?
FollowupID: 367879

Follow Up By: Toy_Hilux - Monday, May 16, 2005 at 22:18

Monday, May 16, 2005 at 22:18
I also meant to add that this is for any vehicle in front of you, wheather coming or going.

Already, we have a winner. Stupid isnt it. What if accident happens, whos at fault? Not me, I was blinded - I say, They say, fine him with undue care and attention. Who's Right?????????????
FollowupID: 367884

Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, May 16, 2005 at 22:41

Monday, May 16, 2005 at 22:41
I'm sure in Vic 25 years ago I was taught 100m but I usually dip when the car in front is at the same distance as my car lights up the reflectors on the side of the road.
Cheers Craig
FollowupID: 367887

Follow Up By: Toy_Hilux - Monday, May 16, 2005 at 22:52

Monday, May 16, 2005 at 22:52
Craig,

Here in Qld, I was taught 300mts when got lic. I've learnt over the years though, I dim my lights when they dim theirs, up to a certain point. Cant see when they are too far away (can see reflectors over a klm away). Then you get others who wont dim.
FollowupID: 367891

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 01:51

Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 01:51
I am pretty sure it is 200m
FollowupID: 367921

Follow Up By: ev700 - Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 09:31

Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 09:31
200m, but you'd have to accept that lights and closing speeds have improved and therefore a considerate driver would dim outside of that limit.
FollowupID: 367937

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 10:05

Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 10:05
In Victoria it is 300m OR when the other dips his lights, even if he is a 1km away.

Also what about the wankers that drive everywhere with their "foglights" on?
FollowupID: 367939

Reply By: Member - Anni M (SA) - Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 08:31

Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 08:31
Good heavens!!! You're not asking other drivers to be considerate, are you? Why would they do that? They don't let people in when they are trying to change lanes, they speed up as you are trying to pass, why would they do anything helpful with the lgihts?
Happy travels
Anni
AnswerID: 111576

Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 14:04

Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 14:04
I'm hear'n ya Anni,

Just that I don't think it's a considerd thing just ignorance.

Browny
FollowupID: 367986

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 10:18

Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 10:18
Waht I want to know is: When I run Adelaide express, I would say that 90+% of drivers are courteous with their high beam practices. However when I run Sydney express, as soon as I cross into NSW it appears that they all think that 20ft of medium strip is enough to cancel out their spotties??? I give'm a bit of hello Mr Rallye4000 and they continue to leave their lights up high and spotties on???? NSW is the worst I've seen between Vic,SA, QLD NT and NSW. It has gotten to the point now where some of the guy's doing permanent Sydney runs carry those 1,000,000cp hand held spotlights so they can point them straight in the drivers window of the offending vehicle(I don't condone this but I only drive on my days off, I'm not out there everynight)
AnswerID: 111588

Follow Up By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 11:29

Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 11:29
Glad to see they have the incredible skill of driving down a freeway, not looking where they are going, with one hand on the wheel, while the other is out the window spotlighting oncoming traffic!!

Sure hope its not anyone of my family or friends they kill with their negligence?

The answer to others stupidity or inconsideration is not stupidity or negligence on their behalf!!!!
FollowupID: 367949

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 13:37

Tuesday, May 17, 2005 at 13:37
I totally agree Matt, the matter has been raised in conversation and as I'm just "The Casual" my opinion means SFA...
FollowupID: 367979

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, May 18, 2005 at 11:05

Wednesday, May 18, 2005 at 11:05
Lets start a BAN SPOTLIGHT campaign.
AnswerID: 111769

Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Wednesday, May 18, 2005 at 14:20

Wednesday, May 18, 2005 at 14:20
Thanks T,

Enlightning as usual.

Browny
FollowupID: 368150

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Sunday, May 22, 2005 at 04:03

Sunday, May 22, 2005 at 04:03
seems most of you dont do much night driving - it isnt hard. sit behind the guy in front until his lights show up an appropriate straight then overtake. Any vehicle coming the other way is visable from miles bak (unless is lights are off) you dont need to blind any one or act like a wanker it is pretty easy
AnswerID: 112264

Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Sunday, May 22, 2005 at 16:17

Sunday, May 22, 2005 at 16:17
Davoe,

In relation to overtaking no ones suggesting to act like a wanker, but it is much safer and easier if the car in front has there high beams on untill you pull alongside don't you agree.

Obviously as you suggest "just sit behind the car in front untill his lights show up an apprpriate straight" my point exactly! Not sure where your from but in my neck of the state there arn't to many endless straights where you can easily pull out and pass without the threat of a corner or bend approaching wich is not entirely visible when relying on low beam.

Browny
FollowupID: 368594