Crystal Glaze - Toyota Product?

Submitted: Monday, May 23, 2005 at 19:08
ThreadID: 23245 Views:7647 Replies:11 FollowUps:1

In the process of finalising details to pickup a new Tojo, and the guys at Toyota have tried to flog me this Crystal Glaze product, costs quite a few hundred bucks to put on, but is supposed to increase longevity of paint, protect against basic scratches, bird poop, etc. Want to know if anyone else has used it and has comments?

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, May 23, 2005 at 19:23

Monday, May 23, 2005 at 19:23
Put it on my wife's vehicle a while ago. Not impressed.
AnswerID: 112471

Reply By: Member - Paul P (Bris) - Monday, May 23, 2005 at 19:28

Monday, May 23, 2005 at 19:28
G'day

I allowed the dealer to rust proof and add max legal window tint to my new vehicle. I left the paint/upholstery treatments out. The paint treatment usually requires you to use a specific detergent which is quite expensive.

Price the same/similar treatment outside the dealer and see if there is a LARGE price difference for the same/similar thing?

My suggestion would be a good clean and a quality wax on a regular basis. Spend the paint treatment money on a dual battery system!!!!!

My thoughts.

AnswerID: 112473

Follow Up By: RobEG - Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 20:24

Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 20:24
My 2005 100TD came with dual battery standard but I went the rust and tint like yrself
FollowupID: 368841

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, May 23, 2005 at 19:32

Monday, May 23, 2005 at 19:32
Don't they just give you thebleeps??? If all these after sales gizmo's were worth half what they ask for them they would throw them in with vehicle.
AnswerID: 112474

Reply By: Ralsto - Monday, May 23, 2005 at 20:17

Monday, May 23, 2005 at 20:17
Thanks for the feedback folks, the cash will remain in my "after market goodies" account!
AnswerID: 112480

Reply By: fishskin - Monday, May 23, 2005 at 21:03

Monday, May 23, 2005 at 21:03
As a new car detailer, honestly, dont bother!, paint protection is just an expensive coat of wax, can look greasy, scratchy etc and is rarely applied as thoroughly as it could be. bird poo can stain\eat into paint easily, but simply hose off as soon as possible\practical and it shouldn't be a problem. Be careful of interior protection too, can be detrimental to your health, esp. senstive breathers...(the people that apply it wear masks! hmm....)
AnswerID: 112498

Reply By: warthog - Monday, May 23, 2005 at 21:07

Monday, May 23, 2005 at 21:07
A friend recently had a similar product applied to his new patrol and the above comment about the special detergent is correct. Also he has been bush a few times with his new pride and joy and has brushed against bushes/scrub etc. This has left marks on the vehicle that you would expect would polish out. Unfortunately you can't polish the coating either as it is removed by this, so he is left driving around with what look like scratches down both sides of his vehicle. Where the coating might be good is on the roof if you plan to fit a roof rack which would then make it hard to polish the roof, would still need the special detergent so maybe not too.
AnswerID: 112499

Reply By: Aandy(WA) - Monday, May 23, 2005 at 23:01

Monday, May 23, 2005 at 23:01
I feel that the amount of R&D that Toyota put into their vehicles ensures adequate paint protection. After a year or so buy a top quality polish and apply it yourself. The guys trying to flog you the product are not from Toyota - they are dealers who sell Toyota vehicles. They make extra money on each sale by selling "add ons". Contact Toyota Motor Company for advice - not a car dealer.
AnswerID: 112518

Reply By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Monday, May 23, 2005 at 23:35

Monday, May 23, 2005 at 23:35
Yep, got that stuff on my car when I bought it - waste of money
specially if you go 4wd. You can buy this stuff yourself on internet for under $80...
AnswerID: 112524

Reply By: mick - Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 11:08

Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 11:08
Ralsto,

I was in the same boat. I opted for spray on Rust Protection and spoke to a mate who is spray painter who said paint protection was a waste of time. Go and by a bottle of "MAGUIRES GOLD" best stuff around put that on every 4-6 months.

Mick
AnswerID: 112573

Reply By: Nudenut - Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 11:21

Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 11:21
dont waste your money....latest 2 pack paints dont need it i reckon!
AnswerID: 112575

Reply By: joc45 - Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 20:24

Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 20:24
Was it a dolly-bird who tried to sell you the stuff? The dealers don't make much on a new car alone, but they make up for it with the accessories and add-ons like paint protection - they usually take you aside after the main sale and hand you over to some attractive little number to flog the extras.
And the add-ons increase the stamp duty on the vehicle.
Better off to get the extras (if you really must have them) after you have bought the vehicle - not only cheaper, but no stamp duty.
Gerry
AnswerID: 112653