Oztent - good or bad?
Submitted: Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 20:38
Timmo
Greetings from Botswana! I hope you gents/ladies can assist. The Oztent is now being distributed in South Africa and I would welcome all comments, good or bad about it. Is it hardy, efficient, effective etc.......
All
feedback greatly appreciated.
Timmo
Reply By: Member - Andrew (Bris) - Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 20:47
Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 20:47
Had one for the last couple of years. The older version made by Blackwolf.
Stands up to any weather you want to throw at it.
Super quick to put up, and pack up, if you only need the minimum. Start putting the fly, an awning, or side panels on, and it takes a bit longer.
Only drawback is it's size when packed up.
Don't know if the latest models are as good as the old ones. Same design, but both the canvas and frame appear a bit lighter.
Reply By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 20:49
Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 20:49
Timmo,
You won't hear a bad word about them from anyone that has one (except there size when folded away)
Try doing a search on the
forum the've been discussed heaps before.
My experiance so far with
mine (only about 6-7 trips total about 12-15 nights)
is that they are a ripper tent as easy to erect as they say, and plenty of Handy design features.
Browny
Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 21:02
Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 21:02
Good if you do any sand camping too, as you don't even need to nail the basic tent to the ground (quick basic cover until it stops raining). You only neet to peg it down if you put up the awnings
Reply By: oxwinch - Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 21:16
Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 21:16
Have had an OZ tent for 4 years now and is brilliant when you can have it upright in a couple of minutes and setup ready with beds, fly and 1 side wall in 15 minutes, ours is called the
Ranger which was the largest size at the time. I agree with the others in that when packed up you have a 2.1m bag to deal with, when using this tent I always put the roof rack on the 4x4 to carry it. We sleep 4 persons with room for our bags as
well.
Gaz
Reply By: Skinnydog - Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 22:29
Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 22:29
I went through three different tents over a number of years and I wish I'd found the
Oztent first. Yes they're bulky when packed in the bag, but if you have a roofrack or trailer you have no worries. They are good for extended stops and quick and easy for overnighters. Have had ours for a couple of years with plenty of use in the northwest
of WA and had no breaks, tears or problems.
Skinnydog
Reply By: ripperGU - Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 23:09
Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 23:09
had one of the original 2mx2m models and did the canning and gunbarrel for 8 weeks with a lot of one night stops. In a word brilliant. The new model is much improved with more through ventilation for the tropics. In 90 seconds it's ready for action from getting it out of the bag!
Reply By: Member - Jiarna (SA) - Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 23:18
Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 23:18
Hi Timmo
We have the RV3 Oztent, and it is the best piece of camping equipment we have ever bought. Putting up the tent has gone from over an hour with the old tent to about 10 minutes with the Oztent, and if you just want the basic tent without fly or awning it takes about 30 seconds. It was expensive, and a bit bulky when packed up, but we think it's
well worth it!
I'm not affiliated with Oztent in any way.
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 23:41
Tuesday, May 24, 2005 at 23:41
Timmo, I have one I actually attach to my truck to form a think that looks like a Bedouin tent the way it tapers off to the side!MPG:7! I can get the tent up, get the gear out and sit down with a coldie in about 10 minutes. Everything unloaded. I don't worry about tent poles as it clips on over centre pins and no do I often put in many tent pegs it is so stable. Wind excepting though. A fly and the ends I zip in do take additional time.
My son had it erected one afternoon and it tore off some parts in some VERY VERY strong windy conditions and was sent back to base for some repair. It is about 2 years old now and I am not sure how many times it has been erected really. Its triffic!
Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, May 25, 2005 at 08:10
Wednesday, May 25, 2005 at 08:10
Have had one for about 6 years or so "Fantastic" and estimate it has been up about 180- 200 times, only ever repaired once when caught in freek wind storm when we werent there, bent one of the alumin frames, ordered new one from oztent and back to new again. New ones are better as far as i can see as they have ripstop canvas.
Go for it .
Reply By: Member - Jack - Wednesday, May 25, 2005 at 10:29
Wednesday, May 25, 2005 at 10:29
I have just bought my second Oztent (RV4) after drifing away from them in favour of the ill-fated Tanami Tourer a while back.
The new model with the peaked panel is the best thing I have ever had. I also bought the deluxe side panels, the front panel, and a fly.
In its basic form it goes up in 30 seconds (no pegs needed), but the full 5 star treatment (for longer stays) takes about 10 minutes. But once it is up it is sheer luxury.
I have not had any problems with anything breaking on my earlier one, but I have heard from some that have busted things who speak volumes about how good the after sales service is on them (if needed).
I bought an ARB tradesman roof rack and an Ozpod, and packing and unpacking is effortless, even for an old f*rt like me, with a dodgey back.
I think that if you can handle the length of them when packed up (about 2.4m long) they are terrific. I don't think you will be disappointed.
Jack
Follow Up By: doug w - Wednesday, May 25, 2005 at 13:41
Wednesday, May 25, 2005 at 13:41
g'day jack - i have ARB standard roof rack - what is an Ozpod? any polite suggestions about how to carry my oztent? someone suggested a kayak canoe cradle.
doug w
Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Wednesday, May 25, 2005 at 17:00
Wednesday, May 25, 2005 at 17:00
Hi Doug:
Ozpod is the fibreglass container that you can buy to store and transport your Otent in. Looks a bit like the Space Shuttle on your roof. YOu can see them at the Ozpod link - click here . It is good for me because I have put my back out a few times climbing all over the car, but the Ozpod has a roller that allows me to just slide it in. Much easier.
I am unsure what length your ARB Rack is, but I earlier had a shorter TJM rack and it fitted diagonally across the rack, and I just stored stuff around it. My tradesman's rack has no front and back and either the Oztent and/or the Ozpod just fit nicely along its length. I u-bolt the Ozpod onto it. A canoe cradle would also work I guess.
Jack
Reply By: japmel - Wednesday, May 25, 2005 at 10:45
Wednesday, May 25, 2005 at 10:45
Timmo
We attatch the awning of our Oztent to the back of our rear entry offroad caravan.
It works great and it's quick.
Well worth buying one.
japmel
Reply By: doug w - Wednesday, May 25, 2005 at 18:25
Wednesday, May 25, 2005 at 18:25
Thanks for the info Jack
Yeah, I agree the Oztent is a beauty - tough, so easy to put up, plenty of options if you want it more comfortable - we've had really good service out of ours - only negative is the size when folded. The Ozpod looks like a great idea.
Keep travelling
doug w
Reply By: Bitsumishin - Mike (WA) - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 23:33
Friday, May 27, 2005 at 23:33
Yep, what everyone else said. I've got 2 and depending on where we stay we can have them side by side with a wide area under awning or facing each other for a more secluded area. Kids in one, grown ups in tother. Size packed is a bit of a pain but soon forgotten given the set up & put down times plus standing room in tents. I can't afford an Ozpod but they sound good.