Howqua/Mitchell's This Weekend

Submitted: Wednesday, May 25, 2005 at 22:03
ThreadID: 23314 Views:2303 Replies:8 FollowUps:28

Just wanted to firm up this weekend re: who is coming and who isn't.

Also just had a look at the weather and unfortunately it doesn't look too flash - bit of everything really.

Check out: http://www.bom.gov.au/cgi-bin/wrap_fwo.pl?IDV17006.txt

Thoughts??

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, May 25, 2005 at 22:12

Wednesday, May 25, 2005 at 22:12
Moggs I am still a bit up in the air as I now have a work commitment on the Sat morning, I had the thought in mind that I would come up in the arvo and meet up somewhere, but I still don't know if that will occur as yet.
Should know by Friday.

AnswerID: 112915

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 07:24

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 07:24
0900 at the servo on the Buller side of Mansfield Moggs. IMT though and elsewhere tomorrow night. cya there.
AnswerID: 112939

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 08:14

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 08:14
Hi Moggs

We still heading to Mansfield on Friday and keen to go. Unless everyone pulls out, we are still go..
AnswerID: 112948

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 10:37

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 10:37
Tossin the coin here, will wait till friday to decide.. Bites the big one bein stuck in the car all weekend, pi$$in with rain, no fire, puttin tents up in rain etc - and there WILL be snow in the mountains.
AnswerID: 112963

Follow Up By: floyd - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 12:00

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 12:00
Truckster will have to bring his thermal underpants. The self igniting ones that come with their own fireproof nut protectors. It is brass monkeys up here. Snowed for 6 hours yesterday and had a frost in the valley at 0 degrees.
FollowupID: 369149

Follow Up By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 19:00

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 19:00
Are you taking your son? I am tossing up if I should
take my 5 year old..
FollowupID: 369380

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 19:08

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 19:08
Stan, yea if I go, I will be.. at moment doing the hot/cold/hot/cold hockin up chunks of scum thing. woke up with it...
FollowupID: 369381

Follow Up By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 20:01

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 20:01
Trukster, yep I'll be taking mine. Please let me know if you change
your mind, so I can leave him at home :-)
FollowupID: 369391

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 20:51

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 20:51
Yea stan, Im out dude.. thought i would have started feelin better by now, but feelin worse...
FollowupID: 369401

Reply By: Moggs - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 12:08

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 12:08
Yeah, I agree with Truckster that it is not much fun being stuck in the vehicle all weekend when it is raining – nor setting up in the wet without a fire in the cold.

More of a concern though is that:

Firstly, I reckon the climb out of Mitchell’s up to the Shale mine might be impassable if it has been copping all of the rain. It is pretty steep, and red clay base. Last time I was there it hadn’t rained for over a week and the clay was still wet;

Secondly, the section dips in and out of the Alpine National Park through some seasonal gates (just past the shale mine). I wouldn’t be surprised if there is snow that these will be closed.

Thirdly, for the Sunday, if there is snow on Mt. Stirling then it will be either impassable or the seasonal gates will be closed. We were up there in February when it snowed and the gates were closed (well, at least one end was locked – it looked like the other didn’t have a padlock – but it was pushed ½ closed – that is why we drove through)

I’d hate nothing more than to call it off as people have planned their weekends (and in Crazie’s case – accommodation for the Friday) – also I have been looking forward to meeting some more of the EO crew for a long time now. I would however hate it more if we had constant rain and had to continually back track – not an enjoyable weekend at all.

Truckster is waiting to Friday to make a call – what do the others reckon? And in the event it is canned does anyone have John’s mobile number as it seems he will be offline??
AnswerID: 112985

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 12:22

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 12:22
My main reason for waiting is I have my son coming 5 yr old, so hes happier to get out every while and play.

You could 'modify' the trek to suit. I say DONT cancel it!! Do something else.

Maybe just do the 'hut of highcountry' trip. Its easy, some good stuff to see still...

I'm still keen to get up to Pizza Hut at Craigs Hut and see some snow! Havent had a snow drive in 14 mths.. gettin cold turkey...

The climb out of mitchells is always a bitch in the slime, if you had AT's you would have little chance and with the drop off on one side, it would be an issue..

If people still wanna go for a run, it could still be done.

Lookin at weather charts on bom theres gonna be bulk snow round me thinks :) :D :D :D

anyway friday is tomorrow, so lets wait till lunchtime tomorrow, if you wanna pull out, then do, but yea, IM still keen.
FollowupID: 369153

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 12:23

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 12:23
Hey Moggs

We are happy either way mate. I am still going to head up there and see how it is. The weather is always different across the range and different again up the mountains, its usually better. I have checked out the buller and stirling cams and saw no snow. I can understand everyones concerns and am not keen on the wet set up and packing, but can always head back saturday arvo or at least back to mansfield. I have JohnR's number and can let him know everyones thoughts.

crazie
FollowupID: 369154

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 12:39

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 12:39
What time u off up there tomorrow? Im still keen, now that I've heard SNOW.. :D

We could crash out INSIDE (we stayed in Craigs last yr) a hut if we find an Empty one - that would be my preference.. WARMTH and DRY.

Then the fire doubles as heater as well as something to sit round talkin chit on the days drive., Everyone bring 2 bags of firewood from the servo on the way up and we will have a blaze.

I also gotta get me tires reseated, crap in the beads on the simexs.. :( I'll wear them if I come up.
FollowupID: 369156

Follow Up By: Moggs - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 13:42

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 13:42
...didn't think of changing the route. If others share my concern over the planned route then maybe Truckster's "Huts of the High Country" route would be good if he reckons it will be easier.

Truckster, how many Km's is it? and where did you stay overnight last time you did it? Also if this is the way we go are you happy to lead us through?? I remember you talking of leading that trip with your club and it sounded good.

Also, if we went this way is the BP at Mansfield still the best place to meet up at 9.00am on the Saturday?

FollowupID: 369167

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 13:51

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 13:51
Starting from Sheepyard, you head on to frys, then backtrack to tunnel bend, basically do a loop of the huts. I 100% followed the Huts of the Highcountry map.no real need for any 4wding.. If Clear Hills Track is open I'd like to have a go! Havent tried it since my first 4wdin trip yrs back!

In all honesty you could do it all in 1 LONG day. But with a few cars, takin photos, stoppin at each hut for a look etc, yea day and 1/2 is gooderer.

We stayed at Craigs that night :)~ but Kings would be better.

BP mansfield is good or at Sheepyard.
UHF 24 sounds good?
FollowupID: 369169

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 14:45

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 14:45
If keen, lets give the original route a run or at least make the decison on Saturday morn when we have the best idea of the weather. I like the sleeping in the huts idea and will grab my 2 bags of wood. I dont mind the huts run, but was keen on a few run, but if it is no go, its no go.

I dont really care where we go, but we are still going hahahaha
I am taking a BBQ if that helps anyone.

Bruce, we heading up after work, I am meeting kir and Ferntree gully and dumping her car.
FollowupID: 369178

Follow Up By: Moggs - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 15:19

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 15:19
Yep, agree with that crazie. Let's decide on Saturday morning which way to go. I'll also grab a coupl of bags of firewood.
FollowupID: 369181

Follow Up By: ChrisB - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 15:42

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 15:42
Are you guys buying fire wood because it's scarse or are you worried that it will be too wet.Are you guys buying firewood because it's scarce or are you worried that it will be too wet? This is something I hadn’t thought about for our trip to The Bluff on Sat.

I assume the BP you’re meet at sells alpine diesel? Is that the only one or do all the servo’s there sell it?

Thanks.
FollowupID: 369185

Follow Up By: Moggs - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 15:50

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 15:50
I'll be bringing firewood so it isn't wet...and also because I couldn't be bothered collecting and chopping it late in the day. There is plenty of firewood around - just need to go about 1km up/down the track from any of the campgrounds and there is plenty of dead wood lying around.

BTW, is anyone bringing a chainsaw??
FollowupID: 369188

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 15:57

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 15:57
I will pick up firewood in melb and take it with us.

I can throw the chainsaw in Moggs, no dramas
FollowupID: 369191

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 16:41

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 16:41
Moggs, chainsaw is in the truck, mobile number is in with the rigpic but Crazie and Truckster both have it anyway, will nearly be at Mansfield on Friday night. Heather packing dry kindling too. You wankers better be going if you are bringing me all this way............
FollowupID: 369194

Follow Up By: Moggs - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 16:49

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 16:49
LOL we will be there :)
FollowupID: 369197

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 20:01

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 20:01
We will be there John, hahahahaha wouldnt miss it...

thanks for packing the chainsaw, i have just taken mine out haha

see you on saturday

Ads
FollowupID: 369227

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 23:48

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 23:48
if its like tonight, bring more wood... I mean TRAILER LOADS...
might give the 12v electric blanket a run too :D
FollowupID: 369267

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 13:51

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 13:51
50/50 at this stage, woke up blocked up as crap, hockin bucket loads ofbleepthis morning...
FollowupID: 369315

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 14:18

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 14:18
get ya hand of it bruce, see you at the BP
FollowupID: 369322

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 15:03

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 15:03
yea maybe.
FollowupID: 369331

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 20:52

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 20:52
Yea Moggs and anyone else who gets this, I'm out.
thought I owuld have felt better by now, but feel likebleep.
FollowupID: 369402

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 16:24

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 16:24
hmmmm SNOWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!
now im interested?
really need to do my injectors though will confirm tommorow.

i have a bit of wood here too.
and some Wild Turkey!
lol
its always raining up there according to $wd monthly?
AnswerID: 113028

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 23:49

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 23:49
just come along, sod the injectors.. some Nulon Injector cleaner will do.
FollowupID: 369268

Follow Up By: floyd - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 12:42

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 12:42
Hey Truckster, we have had a bit of drizzle here overnight. You had better get those 69 inch mud digger/track rooters out. you wouldn't make it to Sheepyard Flat on the Howqua Track without them. You may even get a fat this weekend if there is some snow. See ya at the BP on Saturday.
FollowupID: 369308

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 02:41

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 02:41
Where are you gunna be if I do come up on Sat Arvo / night ?

AnswerID: 113128

Follow Up By: Moggs - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 12:18

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 12:18
If the weather looks ok we will be at Fry's Hut. If it looks dodgy at 9.00am on the Saturday morning we might go with Truckster's suggestion of doing the Huts of the High Country drive - and therefore will probably be at Kings Hut (I think that is the plan).

Sorry...I know it's not much help. Are we able to ring you on Saturday morning from Mansfield once we have worked it all out??
FollowupID: 369305

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 21:32

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 21:32
Moggs I just sent you a MM.

FollowupID: 369416

Reply By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 19:28

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 19:28
I'll be going with my 5 y.o. Any idea on how long it takes to get to Mansfield
from Melbourne SE suburbs? Any tips on fastest route?

Thanks.

AnswerID: 113230

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 20:54

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 20:54
dorset rd, up to yea, to mansfield.
bout 2 1/2 - 3 hrs from Dandenong totally depending on conditions...

try this
http://www.nowwhereroute.com/travelmate/mapmaker/directionspage.aspx?type=dandenong_VIC_mansfield_VIC&TMDistOnly=0
FollowupID: 369406