inaccuracy of the patrol fuel gauge

Submitted: Saturday, May 28, 2005 at 19:58
ThreadID: 23388 Views:1968 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
good day all
anybody else have a problem with the accuracy of lack of with the fuel gauge in their trucks
i have a 95l main tank and filled up at 1/2 a tank last week (normally closer to empty)and it took 65l i always reckoned it was out a bit but thts a 2/3 _1/3 problem

ps is it worth trying to get fixed under warranty

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, May 28, 2005 at 20:03

Saturday, May 28, 2005 at 20:03
anythings worth getting fixed under warranty, absolutely anything. Mine is reading ok but go get them to sort it out.

AnswerID: 113380

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Saturday, May 28, 2005 at 21:04

Saturday, May 28, 2005 at 21:04
goodday bonz
how are going
yeah nearly due for a service (the car not me) i will dicuss it with the dealer then
how was the sojourn to the hill .i might try and get there myself next year instaed of getting it all 2nd hand

FollowupID: 369512

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, May 29, 2005 at 08:56

Sunday, May 29, 2005 at 08:56
going ok steve, the Hill was good, a nice distraction from other stuff and a hoot of a time, its definitely better experiencing it rather than second hand, and there so much more that happens of the trip and STAYS on the trip hahahahah

GWBonz

FollowupID: 369536

Follow Up By: madcow - Monday, May 30, 2005 at 10:18

Monday, May 30, 2005 at 10:18
Gotta agree withn you. I"ma about to receive my 4th console lid under warranty and if this onebleepes itself with the paint I am going to cry :)).
It will be time to really make a noise about it and obtain a leather on in it's place. I see they have a cloth covered lid now on the GR.
FollowupID: 369616

Reply By: dedalus - Saturday, May 28, 2005 at 22:22

Saturday, May 28, 2005 at 22:22
I have the same problem with my 80 series. If I start with the tank full (100%) the firs haf is mutch more quick then the rest .... and when I thinh the tank is empty .... I have to drive a lot more miles !!

Luca
AnswerID: 113406

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, May 28, 2005 at 22:25

Saturday, May 28, 2005 at 22:25
Mines pretty good, but Im used to it now.... when its on/barely below the E line, find a servo.

Ken Oath on the warranty, but they will give you some story about "within limits">.. tell them CHANGE IT TO THE OTHER END OF "LIMITS"..
AnswerID: 113407

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Sunday, May 29, 2005 at 11:26

Sunday, May 29, 2005 at 11:26
Steve,

I have noticed a similar problem with mine. I get 150km out of 1/4 of a tank for each 1/4 apart from the bottom one. I am lucky to get 100km out of that. My GQ was similar but not as bad. I have just learned to live with it.

AnswerID: 113447

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 17:19

Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 17:19
How's it going Duncs,

I have found this also.

After much pondering ( beer drinking alone ) I reckon if you look closely at the fuel gauge the last 1/4 is slightly smaller than the first.

I also rekon you have 15 lt left when the light comes on.

15lt + smaller scale = larger first quarter.

Glenn.
FollowupID: 369832

Reply By: rolande- Sunday, May 29, 2005 at 12:38

Sunday, May 29, 2005 at 12:38
G'Day Steve,

Try fitting another earth wire to the chassis, (chassis - not body). The original Patrol earth goes battery - battery tray - engine. When you fit a few extras which draw power the earth is not sufficient.

Has been a discussion on this on another forum.

Rolande
AnswerID: 113453

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Sunday, May 29, 2005 at 15:43

Sunday, May 29, 2005 at 15:43
Mine works ok.
But try the xtra earth trick from tank to chasis then body easily done at the rear end of the MAIN tank, I had to do this to mine to facilitate the pump over pump when I replaced the sub tank with an 80ltr long range tank.
In other words extra earths on both tanks.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 113459

Reply By: datto311 - Monday, May 30, 2005 at 11:33

Monday, May 30, 2005 at 11:33
Wish you luck with Nissan. On our's which is an 03.2004 build, when the low fuel amber light comes on, there is still 30 litres in the main tank. Have tried twice but Nissan don't see this an issue, even though with our 2001 model it behaved differently. The only checks they do on the guage is to check it with voltmeter. if it shows full with 12 V and empty when shorted to ground it is within their specs. The additional earth as another suggested would be good. I must try that
AnswerID: 113542