Laptop mountings

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 08, 2005 at 07:51
ThreadID: 23675 Views:2425 Replies:9 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
I am currently looking at either getting a laptop or PDA to run oziexplorer while on the move. The PDA would be easier to mount, but the laptop may be easier to use. I would be interested in finding out what others find the most convenient, and if they do use a laptop where and how did you mount it while travelling. I often travel by myself in the vehicle, so sitting it on the navigators knees is not a real option.

Thanks
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2005 at 09:00

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2005 at 09:00
sonny.

One option (not cheap) http://www.mobiledesk.com/
I have been using one of these for three years now. Works for me.

Reagrds
Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

AnswerID: 114858

Reply By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2005 at 09:13

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2005 at 09:13
Sonny.

Have a look at David Martins lap top mount.

David owns the site you are on. ExplorOz

Send him an email if someone doesnt end up posting the answer here for you.

AnswerID: 114862

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2005 at 09:35

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2005 at 09:35
Sonny,

I use a laptop with a remote screen. I recently bought a 14 " screen in Japan for less than $200. Even smaller screens are available, but they become more expensive. The Lilliput 7 and 8 inch screens are popular. They even have a touch screen version (avail on eBay). The laptop can be stowed anywhere in the car. I use a Logitec wireless IR mouse which sits on the centre console.
The remote screen is easy to mount - you don't need an expensive or cumbersome arm.
It helps to get a screen that runs on 12V, to avoid the need for an inverter.
AnswerID: 114864