Toyota 2.4 Lt 22R engine
Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 08, 2005 at 19:40
Member - iMusty (VIC)
Other than the distrubutor getting wet and that stopping the engine running, why can't I drive a 22R petrol engine in the water?
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2005 at 21:22
Wednesday, Jun 08, 2005 at 21:22
Because an engine is not much good for driving, They get hot when you sit on them and the lack of wheels makes them difficult to carry
Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2005 at 21:56
Wednesday, Jun 08, 2005 at 21:56
Oh you're grand...
LOLOLOL
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2005 at 22:08
Wednesday, Jun 08, 2005 at 22:08
more seriosly there is a host of electrical things that would be effected coil ,dizzy spark plugs and other stuff I have forgotten about coz i have driven a diesal to long. It is not just putting the motor underwater that is the problem. I have seen a petrol cruiser stopped in 700mm of water coz the fan threw water all over the motor. Are you contemplating putting on a snorkal and tackling bass straight?
Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 01:23
Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 01:23
I was gonna put a pre cleaner on it and I have been crawling around under it for days just thinking.
Hmmn I wonder,,,... you know what's it's like...
I don't know much about engines and I am just looking at options.
I got an email from a bloke with a 6.2 lt Deisel turbo in his Coaster the other day and ... blah blah blah....
I thought the 22R 2.4 was out of a 1996 Hilux so wouldn't they do some river crossings? How come they can and I cannot?
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 06:26
Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 06:26
some motors/vehicles cope with that type of thing better than others, it depends on things like position of the dizzy and general makeup of the vehicle such as is it prone to water splashing up and onto the dizzy when going through water. Fan as I mentioned is another if water is up high enough. i have got wet wires a few times in 2wd vehicles and like i said i saw a petrol landcruiser stopped in water that a bleep y little landrover freelander sneezed at
Reply By: fisho64 - Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 01:44
Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 01:44
off topic I know, but what happened to your other thread, did that get pulled to? You must have done something bad!! I was watching it with interest?
Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 01:53
Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 01:53
It was pulled , yes.
EO felt that it was not in line with the general spirit of the site and I agree.
There are no ill feelings.
In fact I respect them more for managing their business even late into the night.
I'm a long way off renewal of my
membership and I have not experienced ANYTHING on this site to complain about.
Open your wallet, it's be good to be able to mm (member message) you.
There are really a heap of benefits.
File swap,
My home, member money and heaps more...
Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 01:55
Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 01:55
fish64
I meant to say
I'm a long way off renewal of my
membership and I have not experienced ANYTHING on this site to complain about. I will always be a mamber as long as the site is run the same as it has been. I like it very much.
Reply By: Member - RockyOne - Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 08:55
Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 08:55
Re the Toy 22-R motor..My offroad/camping mate ran a 22-R in his Diahatsu F-55 (
mine has a 18-R now..Was diesel for 15yrs). He also had a Celica 5 speed box..Wat a joy to drive out bush and on road..Did plenty of water crossings with a tarp on front..Sadly,he traded it on a gasoline 'cruiser..That helped the Servo a lot.Woke up and got a diesel then.A least we were safe in the bush with simple tech..Read"No Black Box" Have fun.Rgs RockyOne
Reply By: vitara - Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 08:58
Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 08:58
Hi this is in regards to the hilux motor getting wet. If you want to dunk it buy a diesel, those 2.4 petrol motors do not like to get wet. I also worked for toyota and they were know for getting snatched out of many a
water hole. Distributor was the main reason they are too low. These motors were straight out of a car and stuck into a 4wd. No thought to these being used as a 4wd. They will even suck water into the oil dipstick as they do not have an o ring to seal them up. Great 4wd just keep away from water. Take care have fun
Follow Up By: TASPAJ - Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 16:18
Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 16:18
Find the biggest and deepest
water hole you can find and drive right into it. Just to see what happens then can you let us all know.