X-Trail on sand dunes

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 12, 2005 at 09:51
ThreadID: 23794 Views:16695 Replies:6 FollowUps:9
This Thread has been Archived
Has anyone any experience driving an X Trail in sand dune country?
I live in the lower Blue Mountains. I'm trying to find people who are familiar with the Nissan X Trail's off road capabilities particularly in sand dunes.
Is a transmission oil cooler advisable, how well does it cope with dunes, what tyres and tyre pressure have they tried. I've been invited to go to the Simpson Desert and I only have my X Trail. It may be a challenge but I need to make whatever changes will help. Talking to someone who has pushed theirs a bit would be good. I used to drive my old Landrover Series 2 in all terrain, so I am a reasonably competent driver. My mate has a Patrol Diesel Turbo, so I'll have help if I get into trouble. I wouldn't mind trying it out on dunes but I don't know where the nearest accessible big sand dunes are. Any thoughts?

Thanks
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: kev.h - Sunday, Jun 12, 2005 at 10:33

Sunday, Jun 12, 2005 at 10:33
Try this site as there a few Xtrail owners posting on this site
Pathfinders' Club of Australia Inc.
www.pcoa.org.au
also on our club trip to the simpson we had a Kia Sportage and he did not have many problems, had a couple of goes at some of the dunes due to clearance.
On Frazer Island we did see several Xtrails -soft sand proved difficult with standard type tyres ,again i think it was clearance,
Tips fit the biggest set of at tyres you can and have your front suspension adjusted as high as possible this will give you the max clearence then go for it as you say you've got big brother nissan to help if needed
enjoy Kev
AnswerID: 115421

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Sunday, Jun 12, 2005 at 13:52

Sunday, Jun 12, 2005 at 13:52