Third wheel for boat trailer

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 15, 2005 at 12:13
ThreadID: 23888 Views:7784 Replies:4 FollowUps:0
Does anyone know where I could get plans or ideas (surely someone here must have already made one) for a drop down spare wheel holder for a boat trailer? I want to have the spare mounted on a hub that can swivel down at the front of the boat trailer to make launching and retrieving easier across a beach. (The last time I went camping I had the use the snatch strap to snatch the boat and trailer all the way up the beach after almost sinking the Cruiser....)
Drew

Reply By: ozidave - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2005 at 13:29

Wednesday, Jun 15, 2005 at 13:29
I saw one once at the 4wd show at Rosehill about 5 years ago (before I had a trailer). I haven't been able to find them since. Good luck. Dave
AnswerID: 115869

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2005 at 14:13

Wednesday, Jun 15, 2005 at 14:13
G'day Drew,

Mate I've never seen one up close but reckon that one could be manufactured from a swing away jockey wheel asembly. If you shortened the assembly to allow it to swing then in theory it should by able to sit above or below the draw bar. Probably wouldn't need to be able to wind up or down, just needs a stub welded to the leg.

I suppose if you did this close to the winch post then you should be able lock the wheel in place when travelling.

Just an idea.

AnswerID: 115875

Reply By: ROTORD - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2005 at 15:13

Wednesday, Jun 15, 2005 at 15:13
Hello Drew

Just had a walk around the Port Hedland Port Authority tinnie . Their rig is a bearing hub welded to a plate which is secured to the draw bar with two 'U' clamps . It has the virtues of being simple , cheap , light and strong . On their rig the centre of the bearing is central to the draw bar and this gives sufficient ground clearance under the wheel for normal driving conditions .
AnswerID: 115880

Reply By: DEANO WA - Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 14:47

Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 14:47
Drew ,i'm currently making one in the LIA (karratha).give me a call on 0407771599 and i can show u
AnswerID: 116024