nissan patrol---what one to buy?

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 19, 2005 at 21:36
ThreadID: 24006 Views:2881 Replies:11 FollowUps:16
well hello again, It seems buying a patrol is quite a complicated thing!
summing up i,ve learnt that
1 gq 42d good engine ,grunty down low, a bit slow on the overtaking, heavy on fuel
2 gq 28d good engine ,weak off the mark esp when towing, good performance on the highway, heavy on fuel
3 gq 45p good power but very expensive to run,sounds to be quite ecconomical on lpg but i'm not sure if i want the trouble with gas ie aftermarket addons,small tank range ,fillups etc( i've never had gas before and it just sounds a bit awkward)
4 gu 28d thirsty and a bit gutless
5 gu 42d sounds like a good unit but hard to find ,thirsty
6 gu 30d heaps of power throughout the rev range,good tow vehicle,very ecconomical to run but i've heard that a lot of the power is from electronics and there have been a few problems and are expensive to fix
7 the new 30d gu's are very nice ,nearly signed up on one

Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Jun 19, 2005 at 21:55

Sunday, Jun 19, 2005 at 21:55
Yes tough choice. You want something with with low down power that accellerates quickly, tows well, has a great gearbox, long fuel range, not too thirsty and has no common faults.
You'd be looking at the six speed 179KW petrol Prado with 180 litre tanks standard ;-))
Cheers Craig.............(Sorry, just trying to help)
AnswerID: 116450

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jun 19, 2005 at 22:16

Sunday, Jun 19, 2005 at 22:16
Hey come on Craig, lets get serious.

He wants all that plus a multivalve factory turbodiesel, rigid front end, 180litres fuel, part-time 4wd and something that you can weld or drill to without freaking out

............only one choice - 78/79series TD :-)))
FollowupID: 371959

Follow Up By: Crackles - Sunday, Jun 19, 2005 at 22:34

Sunday, Jun 19, 2005 at 22:34
You win :-))
FollowupID: 371965

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Jun 19, 2005 at 21:55

Sunday, Jun 19, 2005 at 21:55
Both GQ and GU 4.2 diesel will return 7km/l in a variety of drive conditions. On a good day and with a no wind on a flat road 10km/l is achievable.

Yes 4.2 diesels are hard to find.

There are heaps of 3litre turbo diesels on the market in the used car yards. Wonder why?
AnswerID: 116451

Follow Up By: craigg - Sunday, Jun 19, 2005 at 22:09

Sunday, Jun 19, 2005 at 22:09
haven't they fixed the 30d problems ? the new ones are good arn't they??????
FollowupID: 371955

Follow Up By: woddonnee - Sunday, Jun 19, 2005 at 23:16

Sunday, Jun 19, 2005 at 23:16
G'day Craig
My GU3 3L is just coming up to 40,000k's, haven't had any problems at all and to say I'm impressed with it is a gross understatement. I believe the first series didn't have adequate oiling to cope with our hot conditions (particularly if high speed towing in summer). I also understand that the motor is a Renault light commercial motor, built for the euro light truck market originally, used in 5 tonne trucks in Japan. Can anyone varify these statements, just heresay I've picked up.
My mechanic is a 4wd specialist and reckons they are great, listed off all these major items he has fixed on the Toyota's but never on Nissan's. Just saying this to get some balance, seems the patrols get overly abused here. He also talked about the build strength comparisons, dual wide wheel bearings etc etc. A mate is an RAA patrolman here in SA, he is in the RAA 4wd club, they mostly have Patrols ahe told me (though he has a Prado). I saw many many patrols on my recent trip to central oz, they seem pretty popular.
Anyway I'm happy and hopefully will stay that way :-)
Rod
FollowupID: 371968

Follow Up By: cloughie - Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 10:50

Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 10:50
If you are after a new 3ltr TD, Moxham Motors here in Karratha are selling them for 46K with Bullbar,towbar lights etc.In ad they say they are normally 54K.
FollowupID: 371996

Reply By: garrycol - Sunday, Jun 19, 2005 at 22:28

Sunday, Jun 19, 2005 at 22:28
And which one blows the engine up when they are just out of warranty?
AnswerID: 116460

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 22, 2005 at 20:57

Wednesday, Jun 22, 2005 at 20:57
2000 - 2001 3.0 td , can you still but a new one ?
FollowupID: 372460

Reply By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Sunday, Jun 19, 2005 at 22:29

Sunday, Jun 19, 2005 at 22:29
Craig,

Maaaaaaate, I've got just the car for you, click on my rig pic the old girl is up for sale, just bang on an after market turbo if you need a bit more punch...........:-)

Browny
AnswerID: 116461

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 07:43

Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 07:43
Thirsty thirsty!!!! what are you one about. My GU 2.8 has returned a very good 12.3 ltrs/100kms average over the past 173000kms. That seems pretty damn good to me for a 2.5-3 tonne truck (laden). Agree it's a bit gutless low down but it hasn't let me down yet and has managed to keep pace with all other vehicles in my club.
AnswerID: 116479

Follow Up By: adamj1300 - Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 11:21

Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 11:21
lol a bit Thirsty exactly a 3 tonne truck i get from 11.5 up 12 ish motor way & city
FollowupID: 372001

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 07:43

Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 07:43
Thirsty thirsty!!!! what are you on about. My GU 2.8 has returned a very good 12.3 ltrs/100kms average over the past 173000kms. That seems pretty damn good to me for a 2.5-3 tonne truck (laden). Agree it's a bit gutless low down but it hasn't let me down yet and has managed to keep pace with all other vehicles in my club.
AnswerID: 116480

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 07:55

Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 07:55
I love my 4.5P.....I get around 18l/100km so that's not to bad and plenty of power
AnswerID: 116482

Follow Up By: flappa - Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 09:32

Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 09:32
Yep , will do me too.

Normally a LOT cheaper then a diesel to buy. $5k - $6k buys a LOT of fuel.

Fuel Consumption is only one area to look at.

FollowupID: 371989

Follow Up By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 12:51

Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 12:51
Yeah Flappa - beginning to think likewise about the petrol thingy. Bloody diesel here in Queanbeyan/Canberra today is averaging 123.9cpl and will only go up given the price/barrel is nudging $60
FollowupID: 372013

Follow Up By: flappa - Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 14:42

Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 14:42
I have a few mates rethinking their Diesel purchases.

Probably , long term , diesel will still win , but these guys aren't long term owners. It'll will be gone within 5 years (leased vehicles etc)

Current climate means a Petrol 4wd is actually pretty good value.

Each their own though. No doubt for some people , the diesel is the better option.

Gotta admit , I would still like a diesel , but maybe not a Patrol diesel. Something completely different.
FollowupID: 372050

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 14:43

Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 14:43
G'day Troll 81,

What can I say, but I like my 4.8 auto! And I agree whole heartedly that there is more to buying a good 4wd than just fuel economy. Anyone that tows or does beach work will more than appreciate the extra power. The price of diesel, both buying the vehicle, maintenance and fuel price make the petrol option much more realistic these days.

FollowupID: 372052

Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 13:05

Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 13:05
True re costs - but a diesel has much better range, especially off-road.

Would be most interested to learn more re any problems with the 4.2. as I'm about to buy a Patrol. Anyone got a less than DX 30,00 km unit for sale?
Collyn Rivers
AnswerID: 116525

Follow Up By: flappa - Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 14:43

Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 14:43
I think there are a couple of guys with overheating concerns . . . Roachie ??
FollowupID: 372051

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 20:22

Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 20:22
No issues with stock engines at all.. easily if treated well will go 600,000 no probs.

... or as long as you keep them under 400 ton, and dont add 12000000000 accessories unlike roachies.
FollowupID: 372108

Follow Up By: trendy - Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 21:07

Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 21:07
Collyn,
Problems regards to turbo 4.2 is as stated above, overheating if you work it hard or tow a lot, also 5th gear is a problem on some models 2000-2002 I think. Mine's a 2000 that has overheated all it's life but with one eye on the aftermarket gauge I been able to get 219 km out of mine with no other probs but I don't use 5th gear. It still sounds as good as the day I bought it.
Hope this helps Trevor.
FollowupID: 372124

Reply By: Member - Paul P (Bris) - Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 19:05

Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 19:05
Craig

As you can see from my sig I am a 3.0Td owner. Mine is a manual ( wanted the extra torque). I could not go the additional cost of the 6 when the specs of the 2 motors are compared.

I would give serious consideration to an auto unless you require the extra towing capacity, in a 3.0Td. I like the manual off road and touring but it is a bit of a pain around the city.

My info is that the Dtronic chip is not as effective in the new GU IV due to engine computer remapping by Nissan. Mine works well from 1500rpm and tows my camper trailer fine.

My thoughts

AnswerID: 116584

Follow Up By: 4X4Treker - Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 19:59

Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 19:59
Hi Paul
I had some concerns regarding the Dtronic on my new GUIV so I contacted the manufacturers and to date so far they are getting the same return on power and response as they were getting on earlier models.
I have been impressed by the Dtronic that is fitted to my mates GUIII and if I can get the same as he is getting I will be happy.

Treker
FollowupID: 372105

Follow Up By: Member - Paul P (Bris) - Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 20:47

Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 20:47
G'day Trekker

I drove a GU III with a Dtronic and like you was impressed. Let me know how your GU IV goes with one. My source of my comment came from external fitters of Dtronics. Comment was lots happens over 2500rpm but not a lot under (unlike the GU III)

FollowupID: 372120

Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 11:16

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 11:16
Thank you for the responses. I have now ordered a new DX 4.2 litre.
Collyn Rivers
AnswerID: 116679

Reply By: craigg - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 20:51

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 20:51
well guys
i've gone and done it now (wiping sweat from brow)
signed up on a new 04 build ST 3.0,alloy bullbar,spotties,towbar,alloy roofrack,bonnet protector,rear air guide,tinted windows,mats,$3,000 free fuel,hard wheel cover,cd,dual airbags 7 seater etc etc. Everything i need (almost) to keep me happy for the next 15 years?
all the above was $58k less my trade in of $8.5k = $49,605 changeover
i worked out with a few of the prices they were offering on various vehicles that the real tradein value of my car was $6k so i assume i would have got the deal for around $55k-$55.5 with no trade in
i think this is a fairly reasonable deal and got really good finance at the dealer 7.05% fixed for term of loan, you gotta be happy with that,bank only offered 8.75% and i have all my business with them? mind you fees were couple hundred more
now al i have to do is wait for delivery
the end !!!!
craigg
thanks for all your help
ps i had two threads going so posted the final sum up there too
AnswerID: 116792